How to add a new module position.

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
mdb76
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

How to add a new module position.

Post by mdb76 » Mon Aug 27, 2007 12:35 pm

How do you add an extra module position to the default Joomla template?

I would like to add a module position to sit directly above the mainbody and below the user1 & user2 positions. I would like the new module position to be flush with the mainbody and not sit on top of the right module position.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

fire2006
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: How to add a new module position.

Post by fire2006 » Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:16 am

i am trying to figure out the same thing... i tried to just add one called user11, but its not showing up in the list of available positions in my template... here's what i did:

but doesnt seam to work.. any ideas?
Paul Preibisch - Educational Technologist
Fire Centaur - English Village - Secondlife
http://slurl.com/secondlife/English%20V ... %20Village&

fire2006
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by fire2006 » Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:19 am

I think I figured it out:
I found the answer here: http://www.dart-creations.com/joomla/tu ... tions.html

Code: Select all

!-- BEGIN: adlinks -->
  <div id="adlinks" >

<div class="adlinks-class">
    <?php mosLoadModules ( 'adlinks', -1 ); ?>
   </div>

</div>
  <!-- END: adlinks --> 

We then need to create the Module Position in Site > Template Manager > Module Positions by creating a new adlinks entry

Create a new position in the Module Positions

Once this is done, we can now assign a module to this position in the Modules > Site Modules page.
Paul Preibisch - Educational Technologist
Fire Centaur - English Village - Secondlife