Failed to create directory

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
dennism
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Failed to create directory

Postby dennism » Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:59 pm

I've a Joomla installation on my website hosted by one.com.

When I try to install a compoent I get this error:
Failed to create directory "/path/to/joomla/components/com_jce/"

In "install new component" I see:
media/                                        Writeable
administrator/components/            Writeable
components/                              Writeable
images/stories/                            Writeable

Why can the Joomla-installer not create this directory?
Dennis Madsen

DeMaWeb - Freelance software- og webudvikling
http://www.demaweb.dk

User avatar
jpaolini
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: USA

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby jpaolini » Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:20 pm

If you're actually trying to create the directory "/path/to/joomla/components/com_jce/" that's not going to work. :P

Sounds like you need to spend some time and edit your configuration.php file and point the variables there in the correct folders on your server. ;)

Specifically:

$mosConfig_absolute_path
$mosConfig_live_site
$mosConfig_cachepath
Joe

User avatar
dennism
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby dennism » Tue Nov 20, 2007 8:24 pm

Do you think there are a problem in my configuration.php?

Yet I have this values:
$mosConfig_absolute_path = '/customers/demaweb.dk/demaweb.dk/httpd.www/ideal-logistic';
$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://ideal-logistic.demaweb.dk';
$mosConfig_cachepath = '/customers/demaweb.dk/demaweb.dk/httpd.www/ideal-logistic/cache';

Are there any problem here?
Dennis Madsen

DeMaWeb - Freelance software- og webudvikling
http://www.demaweb.dk

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 16293
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby leolam » Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:22 am

safe mode on?
/temp writable?

check in admin > system > php and in permissions
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : https://gws-desk.com --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com --
-- Joomla Professional Web Development & Design :www.gws-studio.com
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --

User avatar
dennism
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby dennism » Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:24 am

leolam wrote:safe mode on?
/temp writable?

check in admin > system > php and in permissions


Safe mode on and "Session Directory /tmp/" are unwriteable. :(
Do you think I can change this on one.coms server?
Last edited by dennism on Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dennis Madsen

DeMaWeb - Freelance software- og webudvikling
http://www.demaweb.dk

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 16293
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby leolam » Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:28 am

that one again? yes sir Joomla does not work with safe mode... which is an overprotective host who does not know how to create a safe server environment. see this post: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,6856.0.html

and no thats a server setting and only if you have a dedicated server you can switch this off becaseu than you can arange settings. Your host wont for sure!

cheers
Leo
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : https://gws-desk.com --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com --
-- Joomla Professional Web Development & Design :www.gws-studio.com
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --

Jovaro
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:05 pm

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby Jovaro » Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:08 pm

In the administration panel, you can change PHP to PHP4 instead of PHP5.

I had the same problem. Switched php versions, reinstalled and everything is fine again. (I hope  ;) )

mortendall
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:34 am

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby mortendall » Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:26 am

Jovaro wrote:In the administration panel, you can change PHP to PHP4 instead of PHP5.

I had the same problem. Switched php versions, reinstalled and everything is fine again. (I hope  ;) )

Which administration panel?
I have the same problem, but my host does not allow manually changing php versions...

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 16293
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby leolam » Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:00 am

mortendall wrote:I have the same problem, but my host does not allow manually changing php versions...

If your hosting provider offers dual PHP platform support it means they support both PHP4 and PHP5 alongside each other on the same server. This is extremely useful because it means you can run a PHP4 script in one directory and a PHP5 script in another directory of the same account. You can select on the fly the PHP build you wish to use. There is no need to host sites on different servers etc.

Some hosts have opted to make a full migration to PHP5 but ithis is an irresponsible thing to do as it results in many popular scripts breaking that are not PHP5 compatible.

There are two very simple ways you can take advantage of PHP5 support under your account if dual platform is supported -

    * 1) Simply name the script you wish to execute using PHP5 .php5 instead of .php. That's all you need to do.

    * 2) Alternatively, if you would like scripts named .php to execute using PHP5 instead of PHP4 then simply drop the following contents into a .htaccess file within the directory containing the PHP5 script -

Code: Select all

   AddHandler application/x-httpd-php5 .php


By default all scripts named .php or .php4 will execute using PHP4 unless you are using the above .htaccess directive and scripts named .php5 will execute using PHP5.

The .htaccess file needs to be located in your public_html/www folder

also see this link: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,100045.0.html

cheers
Leo
Last edited by leolam on Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : https://gws-desk.com --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com --
-- Joomla Professional Web Development & Design :www.gws-studio.com
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --

mortendall
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:34 am

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby mortendall » Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:11 pm

leolam wrote:
mortendall wrote:I have the same problem, but my host does not allow manually changing php versions...

If your hosting provider offers dual PHP platform support it means they support both PHP4 and PHP5 alongside each other on the same server. This is extremely useful because it means you can run a PHP4 script in one directory and a PHP5 script in another directory of the same account. You can select on the fly the PHP build you wish to use. There is no need to host sites on different servers etc.

Some hosts have opted to make a full migration to PHP5 but ithis is an irresponsible thing to do as it results in many popular scripts breaking that are not PHP5 compatible.

There are two very simple ways you can take advantage of PHP5 support under your account if dual platform is supported -

    * 1) Simply name the script you wish to execute using PHP5 .php5 instead of .php. That's all you need to do.

    * 2) Alternatively, if you would like scripts named .php to execute using PHP5 instead of PHP4 then simply drop the following contents into a .htaccess file within the directory containing the PHP5 script -

Code: Select all

   AddHandler application/x-httpd-php5 .php


By default all scripts named .php or .php4 will execute using PHP4 unless you are using the above .htaccess directive and scripts named .php5 will execute using PHP5.

The .htaccess file needs to be located in your public_html/www folder

also see this link: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,100045.0.html

cheers
Leo

Thank you for the thorough reply. Unfortunately my host (unoeuro) does not support dual platform, so I've had to resort to simply moving the site to another server...

vladvan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:03 pm

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby vladvan » Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:18 pm

So after many days of reading forums and change permissions on a new installation of Joomla 1.5, I finally found a way to make Joomal install a new modules.

While trying to install this new module, I would get all shorts of errors that seemed like file permission problems. Cant create directory, cant move file, etc..... The errors all seemed to indicate file permission problems.

I tried increasing the memory, I changed all of the permission for all files and directories to 777, and added some sec off thangy to my htaccess (Ok I cant remember what it was) I changed owners ..... Change my configuration.php file etc ..... The list goes on.....

Finally a tech at my ISP (xmission give some credit were its due) moved my hosting from a PHP4 server to a PHP5 server. And then we changed the permissions on my /public_html/sitename/tmp dir to 700.

This finally fixed it all.

I dont know if this will work for some of you out there, but it was the ticket for me.

Good luck

lebreton
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby lebreton » Sun Nov 22, 2009 2:22 pm

Tks guys, had the same problem, this thread helped :)
My issue turned out to be just permission related....

timius
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:55 pm

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby timius » Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:59 pm

Hi, just opening up this thread again, because I have this problem.'

I have tried changing the rights, and I have verified that the server has PHP5

what else can I try?

error message is:
JFolder::create: Path not in open_basedir paths
Template Install: Failed to create directory: /var/www/html/websites/304/htdocs/IR/templates/a4joomla-simplex

User avatar
beededea
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Victorian England 1885

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby beededea » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:04 am

Which version of Joomla?
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar

timius
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:55 pm

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby timius » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:21 am

Joomla 1.6

I have had some time to do some trial and error testing to help with the problem.
but I am currently talking to the webhost about the problem. Their Senior SysOp is on it at this very moment.

so what happens is :
option 1
normal upload package : There was an error uploading this file to the server.

option 2
ftp upload install from dir:
JFolder::create: Path not in open_basedir paths
Template Install: Failed to create directory: /var/www/html/websites/304/htdocs/IR/templates/a4joomla-simplex

Error installing template

Option 3
from url:
JFolder::create: Path not in open_basedir paths
Unable to create destination

so on the host side they are investigating is there might be a port that Joomla uses that is not open in the firewall, however I don't believe that's the issue.

You have any ideas?

User avatar
beededea
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Victorian England 1885

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby beededea » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:41 am

Timius, If you have a problem in J1.6 then you need to open it in the appropriate area of this forum. This is the Joomla 1.0.15 area so you'll get someone like me trying to help who knows nothing about Joomla 1.6. Probably best to look for and post in the Joomla 1.6 area in future, good luck!
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar

timius
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:55 pm

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby timius » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:52 am

I did, and I posted here also because the error seems to be the same.

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=615&t=632798

please go there and help me if you know anything that might be useful.

User avatar
beededea
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2809
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Victorian England 1885

Re: Failed to create directory

Postby beededea » Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:10 am

You should not double post, it is against forum rules. I won't be able to help, as I said I only answer Joomla 1.0 or 1.5 questions. Post in the right section to get help.
Yereverluvinunclebert
Steampunk widgets. Platforms of choice: Joomla 1.0/1.5, Joostina 1.2, OSCommerce
Site aims: Optimisation, Security and Solidity
http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/steampunk-clock-calendar


Return to “General Questions - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests