The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:19 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:53 am
Posts: 1334
I have a misbehavin JCE and as there are some updates to my version I am going to completely reinstall but that advice is not specifically stated anywhere and I am also wary of leaving the database with flotsam in it! Am I right to do ths:

1. Uninstall any extras and plugins
2. Uninstall the mambot
3. Uninstall the admin (component) - needs to be last to run the uninstalls!
Now should be absent and data­base­ clean.
4. install admin comp
5. install mambot
6. install any other plugins, etc.

Sounds obvious. Am I right (anyone done it)?

Thanks

_________________
Thanks for your time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:33 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13979
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
just uninstall

1) mambot (s)
2) components
all plugins will be auto 'uninstalled'

cheers
Leo

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Last edited by leolam on Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:54 am 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:53 am
Posts: 1334
OK, I did that and removed all jce directories/files that were still there. Now the mambot will not install (fail)- not showing in mabots list of installed items. Admin is there and the config sais mambot is not installed. The mambot directories seem to be there. I now have a bust editing system (blank page for any editor). I noticed that under the mambot jce directory there was a tiny_mce dir. should this have been removed i.e. should there be any jce dirctories for a clean install?
Thanks.

_________________
Thanks for your time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:36 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13979
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
tiny_mce is a different editor despite JCE being build on the basics of tiny.

ok we are going through this one by one. you have access to cpanel and are familiar with phpmyadmin?

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 2:09 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:53 am
Posts: 1334
Thanks, Leolam I have solved the proble. It was related to my host which does not allow a client FTP to change permissions on joomla installed directories. However by using joomlaXplorer even though the permissions are labled root/root istead of root/allOfUs I was able to set the permissions to 775 from 755. Thus I was able to get the joomla! installer to work.

I do not have access to CPanel on my host and they seem reluctant to set up a system which creates dir/file permissions to root/AllOfUs but ony root/root. If I create the dirs from a client FTP I can get the permissions as I want them. I a going to have another go at them now I undertand the technicalities a bit more.

Thanks.

_________________
Thanks for your time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 6:44 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13979
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
what kind of host is that who does not gives access...how you make databases and all the iother standard features you find on most hosts? Is it a "free host" ?

_________________
-- Joomla Professional Support Services : http://gws-desk.com --
-- Good & Cheap Joomla Sites Ready To Roll : http://gws-deals.today --
-- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions : www.gws-host.com --
-- Member Joomla Bug Squad --


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:18 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 2:22 pm
Posts: 15
ok I'll bite - i do have access to myphp - so how do i completely wipe clean all traces of JCE so that I can re-install ?  I tried doing the steps - uninstalled the 2  plugins that came up as being 'installed' using jce mambotun installer.  uninstall jce mambot, re--install new updated version of jce mambot, re-install latest versions of plugins that I like.

I'm still getting bumped out to my admin logon when trying to do things such as insert image from within the jce ( i recently upgraded to 1.0.13 and I think this is when I started noticing this problem).

SO how do i completely clear my joomla of my JCE install so I can start fresh?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:26 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:02 am
Posts: 33
Location: Western Australia
kenkel22 wrote:
I'm still getting bumped out to my admin logon when trying to do things such as insert image from within the jce ( i recently upgraded to 1.0.13 and I think this is when I started noticing this problem).


I think that this is likely because you have not installed this joomla 1.0.13 patch - (http://forum.joomla.org/index.php?topic=200725.0 )

There is a session problem with 1.0.13 that will cause problems like the one you describe there. That is not caused by not being able to uninstall JCE, it is just the session problem. Follow instructions in that post and see if that helps!

_________________
My tech support is now available in over thirty shades of green!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:20 am 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:53 am
Posts: 1334
And make sure your "live site" entry in configuration.php includess "www." AND that the administrator URL in the address bar of your browser includes it i.e. http://www.. It always seems to boil down to those three things.

_________________
Thanks for your time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:59 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 2:22 pm
Posts: 15
well i will check on the website name angle - i just updated to 1.0.13 in December so shouldn't I be able to assume that I would have the patch you mentioned (since it was dated august)?

thanks for your quick response!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:40 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:14 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Just a little background... My initial installation was 1.0.13 no and upgrade with Virtumart already include in the files I uploaded.  Jce was added later and from the admin module didn't bring up the WYSIWYG portion of JCE and I could switch to it.  I could bring up the jce editor from the webside loggin in as admin. I decided to uninstall and reinstall. So I uninstalled the mambot then the component and tried to reinstall. That is when the problems started.  I can install the component but not the mambot

I applied the 1.0.13 patch 2 files in 2 directories (1 each).  I changed the configruation.php file to have www. in front of the live domainname. and I logged in using the http://www.mydomainname.com/administrator. I had previously uninstalled the jce component and module before doing these things. I also deleted the jce directory in the mambot editors and the two jce files as well (jce.php and jce.xml I think) Now when I try to install the mambot I get the following error.

SQL error: DB function failed with error number 2013
Lost connection to MySQL server during query SQL=SELECT id FROM jos_mambots WHERE element = 'JCE Editor Mambot'
SQL =
SELECT id
FROM jos_mambots
WHERE element = 'JCE Editor Mambot'

I get another message/error as well

MA DB function failed with error number 2006
MySQL server has gone away SQL=SELECT id, title, module, position, content, showtitle, params FROM jos_modules AS m WHERE m.published = 1 AND m.position = 'debug' AND m.client_id = 1 ORDER BY m.ordering
SQL =
SELECT id, title, module, position, content, showtitle, params
FROM jos_modules AS m
WHERE m.published = 1
AND m.position = 'debug'
AND m.client_id = 1
ORDER BY m.ordering

When I query the jos_mambots there is no entry for jce Editor Mambot that I can see. 

What is the MySQL site where you can explore what the errors mean?

I think we are uploading the files but not registering it.  Any thoughts.  Is there a MySQL command to completely uninstall the Old Jce editor that I don't know about?


AtDhVaAnNkCsE

Karlito


Last edited by wkbennion on Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:00 am 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:53 am
Posts: 1334
Not sure why that is happening. Have you tried the MYSQL site to see what that error is? My attempt now would be to clean the mambot out again, make sure the DB is empty of jce_mambot entry (there is only one) and attempt reinstall. If I remember I had problems running the mambot due to file permissions so I just copied it up and then patched the DB with the complete entry and away it went.

_________________
Thanks for your time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:56 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:14 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
cantthinkofanickname wrote:
Not sure why that is happening. Have you tried the MYSQL site to see what that error is? My attempt now would be to clean the mambot out again, make sure the DB is empty of jce_mambot entry (there is only one) and attempt reinstall. If I remember I had problems running the mambot due to file permissions so I just copied it up and then patched the DB with the complete entry and away it went.


Is there a simple way to clear out the DB?  I'm not that familiar with MySQL yet!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:12 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 2:15 pm
Posts: 1075
Location: Baroda - India
no there are no other more simpler way than this...

_________________
ONE WORLD OPEN WORLD - WAR TODAY GIVE PEACE A CHANCE
http://indiavoice.info - India News & Information Portal
http://indiadaily.indiavoice.info - India Daily Infotainment

(Powered by Joomla!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 8:59 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:32 am
Posts: 691
Location: United Kingdom
Try a manual installation of the Editor Mambot if you get MySQL timeouts - http://www.cellardoor.za.net/tutorials/ ... ation.html

_________________
just because you're not paranoid, doesn't mean everybody isn't out to get you.
http://www.maketradefair.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reinstall JCE
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:43 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:14 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
happy_noodle_boy wrote:
Try a manual installation of the Editor Mambot if you get MySQL timeouts - http://www.cellardoor.za.net/tutorials/ ... ation.html


The manual installation was perfect thank you very much


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group