The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:32 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 5:47 pm
Posts: 10
I am using Joomla 1.5RC3.
I can install Modules and Templates but when I try to install a component I get the following message;

XML Parsing Error at 25:309. Error 23: EntityRef: expecting ';'

Can anyone please help me on this?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:43 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 6:43 pm
Posts: 225
Location: the Netherlands
Hi Klinic

To me it seems there is something wrong with the syntax of your XML-file. If there is something wrong with that, the XML-parser can't do anything with it, do you have a tool to check the syntax? Loading the xml in the Firefox browser might help.

Cheers, Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:40 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
Could you post the XML of the component?  The likely issue is that you have an unescaped "&" in the xml.  Convert ALL "&"'s into "&" to be xml valid...

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 1:13 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 5:47 pm
Posts: 10
Hi, thatnk you for your input as it may be useful to some components. I have noticed that some components load and some dont.
For example community builder and fireboard work perfectly but the metatag component from Ijoomla does not.

It's just do do with the compatability of certain components.

If I could be shown how to edit the components to work that would be great and also a great help to the Joomla community.

Thank you for your time!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 1:47 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
Open the zip file, and open the XML file.  Then simply replace any & with & (as long as it doesn't have & already).  Rezip it all up and you're done...

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 1:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 5:47 pm
Posts: 10
That has worked great for me. Thank you very much!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:03 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:56 pm
Posts: 66
I feel stupid but... I have the same error messages. I would like follow the advice but I can't tell the difference between the symbols. Replace what? with what?.... Can someone clarify for me? Thanks. - DK

Quote:
Open the zip file, and open the XML file. Then simply replace any & with & (as long as it doesn't have & already). Rezip it all up and you're done...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:18 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
arg... dang html entity decode....

replace & with '& a m p ;' (without the spaces)

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:35 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:56 pm
Posts: 66
Thank you very much. I was able to fix this error.

I replaced the bold with &amp; in the HTML file.

http://www.lasertransportllc.com/index. ... om_content&view=article&id=12

So in the browser it looks like the original file, but in the HTML file is looks like this:

http://www.lasertransportllc.com/index. ... om_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=12

(Just for other people in the future).

Again, thank you very much and especially because you were fast!
- DK


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 8:49 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:09 pm
Posts: 4
please help me
Fatal error: Class 'InputFilter' not found in /components/com_weblinksplus/weblinksplus.class.php on line 70


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:05 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:56 pm
Posts: 66
I am not sure what you are doing. You will need to provide more information including your Joomla version, components and what you did to get that error.
-DK


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:51 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:28 pm
Posts: 8
Have no idea if my issue could be the same kind of thing but...

I am trying to build a new site for someone and I have it as a subdomain to my site.

ERROR at the top of every page.

http://kids.tcsweb.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 6:31 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:56 pm
Posts: 66
Hi. I looked at your site.

The first thing I would do is disable all your extensions and see if you are still getting the error. This could be a template error if it continues.

Once you get the error to show back up when you enable the extensions, you will know which one is causing the error.

If you can pinpoint the extension then the creator of it will be able to help you.

However, if you can't reporting with the specs of your site, such as joomla version, extensions in use, legacy mode on off, php version etc... Will help to get someone to diagnose the problem.

Did you modify the templateDetails file?

I hope this helps to get you an answer and solution.

-DK


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:51 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:28 pm
Posts: 8
Okay... On your suggestion, I started turning modules on / off and then went to the menus.

If I turn OFF Main Menu, the ERROR goes away?!?!?
Also when I go to the menu list, Main Menu has an * next to it. What does that mean?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:55 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:28 pm
Posts: 8
Never mind.... I fould a Main Menu entry that seems to have been the culprit!!!

Thanks for putting me on the right path!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 8:03 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:56 pm
Posts: 66
Great that you got it resolved.
-DK


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:25 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:25 am
Posts: 86
it would be helpful to everyone if you told us what the culprit was


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:08 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 9:26 pm
Posts: 16
Hi
I was working on my Joomla1.5.9 site and after some time I get this error every time I want to create anew Module in the Module manager:
XML Parsing Error at 7:113. Error 23: EntityRef: expecting ';'

I don't know what triggers this to appear, and I don't know which XML file to edit... anyone has an idea? ???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 12:07 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 19
I found this thread by searching for the error code which appeared on every page of my site. The posters above pointed me in the right direction, thanks.

For others who find this error in future, I had a URL menu item "/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=9"

The error was caused by the first slash.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:18 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:55 am
Posts: 14
I am having a related problem - but with a twist. i am seeing this error message (XML Parsing Error at 1:186. Error 23: EntityRef: expecting ';') due to ampersands in a URL string. However, here's the twist: the URL is actually a part of some javascript code that i am trying to attach as link script to joomla menu (i need to do some validation when the menu is invoked). So the culprit line of code looks like this:

window.self.location='index.php?option=com_mycomp&param2=val2&param3=val3';

The problem is that, even when i escape the ampersand with "&amp;" or "&#38;" (i tried both), and save the menu item in the site admin's menu manager, the escape sequence disappears, and joomla replaces it with the actual ampersand - and i can't get rid of the error in the front end website.

How can i get joomla's menu manager to save the full escape sequence? Is there any other solution/workaround?

Any help appreciated!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:55 am
Posts: 14
i figured out a solution to this problem of joomla admin's menu manager not letting me save escape characters for ampersands in URL strings when part of javascript i am attaching to a menu.

i guess the "solution" is more of a hack ;D

i just went in to joomla's database in MySQL, and updated the table "jos_menu" and set the "link" for my menu item to the text (with the escape chars) that i was originally trying to save via the admin interface. it worked!

dunno if there is a better or canonical way of doing this. hopefully others will find this workaround helpful.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:46 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:29 am
Posts: 1
I could still use some help on this topic.

I'm experiencing the same symptoms as amelia.pt.

During backend administration (super admin), when I'm in Extensions->Module Manager, I receive the "Error 23: EntityRef: ...." error message whenever I select +New.

I've backed out (uninstalled) everything I thought I added prior to viewing the mesage.
I've gone to mySQL and added "&amp;" to all my jos_menu menu links.

I don't know where to start looking. "Error at 2:108. Error 23: EntityRef: expecting ';'" doesn't give me enough reference to understand if this is a menu/component/module/plugin problem. Where to start?

Any insight is most appreciated, most appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:21 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 8:18 am
Posts: 4
Just wanna help. I hope this gets fixed.

I experienced the similar problem with menu items

Here's how I bypass the problem temporarily.

When inputing link into menu item in admin-backend, instead of:

index.php?q=1&test=1

I do it as (note on the double amp; to fix when generating xml)

index.php?q=1&amp;amp;test=1

gl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:52 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:36 pm
Posts: 10
amelia.pt wrote:
Hi
I was working on my Joomla1.5.9 site and after some time I get this error every time I want to create anew Module in the Module manager:
XML Parsing Error at 7:113. Error 23: EntityRef: expecting ';'

I don't know what triggers this to appear, and I don't know which XML file to edit... anyone has an idea? ???


I have the same error, but my Joomla is now a 1.2.18, probably the error occured before I remove a module called Template Chooser, but I´m not quite sure about it.

So, I don´t know what I have to do to fix this problem.

Any help appreciated! ???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:36 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:36 pm
Posts: 8
toshio wrote:
amelia.pt wrote:
Hi
I was working on my Joomla1.5.9 site and after some time I get this error every time I want to create anew Module in the Module manager:
XML Parsing Error at 7:113. Error 23: EntityRef: expecting ';'

I don't know what triggers this to appear, and I don't know which XML file to edit... anyone has an idea? ???


I have the same error, but my Joomla is now a 1.2.18, probably the error occured before I remove a module called Template Chooser, but I´m not quite sure about it.

So, I don´t know what I have to do to fix this problem.

Any help appreciated! ???


Hi guys,
did you get any help? I'm having the same issue here!
Thanks.

Marlene


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:33 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:21 am
Posts: 9
Having trouble with any menu item set to 'External Link' if in the left or right position. No trouble at all if included in the horizontal tabs. I'm unable to have a left sidebar menu item link to any external url without getting this error on the page: XML Parsing Error at 1:853. Error 23: EntityRef: expecting ';' Also, the external url menu item doesn't even show up.

I've narrowed it down to the relationship between any position other than horizontal tabs and menu items. A Custom HTML module in left position can have external links without any problem. I have the same issue with 'Alias' menu item if set to external link.

Where can I locate the XML Parsing Error? I've tried replacing '&' in the external url with '&amp;amp;' and it seems to work, but I don't want to rely on this method for every url. Also, not sure how to edit any database tables if necessary.

I greatly appreciate your help!
Joomla! 1.5.20


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 5:48 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 5:43 am
Posts: 5
I don't know whether this is appropriate question in this thread or not, I am posting it cuz, it is about XML Error. When I was playing FM10 when my laptop crash dumped and now when I load up any saves I get this error.
"not well-formed (invalid token) at line 1 of highlights.xml"
Anyone, plz help!.

_________________
I am a health professional based in UK and also a member of many health forums, blogs & sites like http://www.ayresearch.com/gel-manicure/ and http://www.ayresearch.com/selective-opt ... aid-updos/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:58 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:34 am
Posts: 8
karakoram wrote:
i figured out a solution to this problem of joomla admin's menu manager not letting me save escape characters for ampersands in URL strings when part of javascript i am attaching to a menu.

i guess the "solution" is more of a hack ;D

i just went in to joomla's database in MySQL, and updated the table "jos_menu" and set the "link" for my menu item to the text (with the escape chars) that i was originally trying to save via the admin interface. it worked!

dunno if there is a better or canonical way of doing this. hopefully others will find this workaround helpful.


Karakoram - THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR FINDING THIS. I added some URL links and this was my issue. I couldn't find anything else that related to the error. Unfortunately I had just recently migrated sights and thought that was part of the issue. Sigh. Anyway, thanks for the post! - Cheers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:24 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 6:33 am
Posts: 61
hii.. i have installed joomla 1.6 RC1, and i tried to upgrade template from joomla 1.5 to 1.6, the template was success installed with custom parameter, when i edit my template there are no value in parameter and display :
Code:
XML Parsing Error at 19:11. Error 76: Mismatched tag
anyone can help ? pliss..
thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:15 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:55 am
Posts: 14
DullJohnny wrote:
Karakoram - THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR FINDING THIS. I added some URL links and this was my issue. I couldn't find anything else that related to the error. Unfortunately I had just recently migrated sights and thought that was part of the issue. Sigh. Anyway, thanks for the post! - Cheers.


Happy to be of help, DullJohnny! This is what our open source community is all about.

Best regards!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group