The Joomla! Forum ™






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:24 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
Hello everyone,
My name is Witchakorn Kamolpornwijit (First-Last) and my nickname is Chalet.
My task is write plugin for footnotes. This is my second GHOP tasks. :)

From : http://code.google.com/p/google-highly-open-participation-joomla/issues/detail?id=129
Quote:
Create a Joomla! v 1.5 Plugin for Footnotes with CSS and Javascript
Describe the task.

Implement Brand Spanking New's Footnotes with CSS and Javascript

Resources:

    * Brand Spanking New website -
http://www.brandspankingnew.net/archive ... cript.html
    * To install Joomla! on an XAMPP localhost:

  # XAMPP - http://www.apachefriends.org
  # Download Joomla! - http://help.joomla.org/content/view/1942/302/
  # Install Joomla! on a localhost -
http://help.joomla.org/content/view/1947/306/

    * Coding resources:

  # The core code! :-)
  # Plugins - http://forum.joomla.org/index.php?topic=233628
  # Model View Controller -
http://dev.joomla.org/component/option, ... orld_mvc1/
  # Modules and Components - http://www.jlleblanc.com/blogcategory/0/
  # Internationalization -
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... msg1102267

    * IRC #joomlaGHOP on freenode

Skills needed

    * Knowledge of PHP
    * Knowledge of Joomla! v 1.5 Extension Development
    * Creativity and problem solving skills.

Difficulty

Basic
Work Product

    * Installable Joomla! v 1.5 extension(s) with internationalization
support.

Licensing

All code must be created using the GNU General Public License version 2.
http://www.gnu.org/licenses/old-license ... .html#SEC4

Documentation written for this task must be made available under the
Joomla! Electronic Documentation License.
Extra Credit (Optional)

1. Register your project at Joomlacode
2. When you are ready to release, submit your extension to the Joomla!
Extensions Directory.

Implement the sidenotes version, too.
Time Limit

2 weeks.


Last edited by AmyStephen on Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 7:47 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 963
Location: Washington, DC / NoVA
Welcome to the contest! Let us know if you need any pointers on the code.

_________________
Joseph L. LeBlanc: http://www.jlleblanc.com
Frontend components start here: /components/com_[name]/[name].php
Backend components start here: /administrator/components/com_[name]/admin.[name].php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:06 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
Could you review my 0.1alpha version here?
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/footnotes/frs/

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:41 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 963
Location: Washington, DC / NoVA
Good start. Your method for replacing the {footnote} tokens looks ok. The installation package is missing the CSS and JS files in the XML manifest, so it's throwing up JS errors when the article loads.

_________________
Joseph L. LeBlanc: http://www.jlleblanc.com
Frontend components start here: /components/com_[name]/[name].php
Backend components start here: /administrator/components/com_[name]/admin.[name].php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 7:55 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
jlleblanc wrote:
Good start. Your method for replacing the {footnote} tokens looks ok. The installation package is missing the CSS and JS files in the XML manifest, so it's throwing up JS errors when the article loads.

I am sorry.I forgot about that! :o I have edit that in my 0.1 beta at the same JoomlaCode project.

Thank you for your review. :D
Please Check My 0.1beta

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year


Last edited by chalet16 on Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:03 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 963
Location: Washington, DC / NoVA
Ahh, I'm seeing it now; looking nice ;D

At the moment, I have two footnotes in a sample article, but they both point to the anchor #footnotes_2.

_________________
Joseph L. LeBlanc: http://www.jlleblanc.com
Frontend components start here: /components/com_[name]/[name].php
Backend components start here: /administrator/components/com_[name]/admin.[name].php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:21 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
jlleblanc wrote:
Ahh, I'm seeing it now; looking nice ;D

At the moment, I have two footnotes in a sample article, but they both point to the anchor #footnotes_2.

It is correct because it should anchor to footer
in the same place and it is '#footnotes_2' beacuse
I use article id.

Am I wrong?  ???


Last edited by chalet16 on Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:58 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
I have make code more easy readable with space and description in 0.1stable

Thank you for every review :D.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 8:48 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 963
Location: Washington, DC / NoVA
chalet16 wrote:
It is correct because it should anchor to footer
in the same place and it is '#footnotes_2' beacuse
I use article id.

Am I wrong?  ???



Oh, I see now. That's what I get for not looking at the original demo. :-[  Disregard my last comment.  :)

_________________
Joseph L. LeBlanc: http://www.jlleblanc.com
Frontend components start here: /components/com_[name]/[name].php
Backend components start here: /administrator/components/com_[name]/admin.[name].php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 2:41 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
Final Review. :D


Last edited by chalet16 on Tue Jan 01, 2008 4:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:59 am 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
Witchakorn -

You do remarkable work! Looks really great.

One problem - my numbers are not superscripts.

Minor issue:
On the plugin, it says:
Use build-in CSS

Should be:
Use built-in CSS

This is great!
Amy :)

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:52 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
AmyStephen wrote:
Witchakorn -

You do remarkable work! Looks really great.

One problem - my numbers are not superscripts.

Minor issue:
On the plugin, it says:
Use build-in CSS

Should be:
Use built-in CSS

This is great!
Amy :)

Thank you for review. Now I have fix both of that in my 0.11


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 3:59 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 963
Location: Washington, DC / NoVA
On my end, both IE and FF and get the superscripts. The code is looking good. :)

The only suggestion I have would be to place the JS and CSS files in a subfolder so they don't clutter up /plugins/content. You can create a 'footnotes' folder and place them in there. Just add the folder into your package and make this modification to your XML manifest:

Code:
   <files>
      <filename plugin="footnotes">footnotes.php</filename>
      <filename>footnotes/footnotes-side.css</filename>
      <filename>footnotes/footnotes-side.js</filename>
      <filename>footnotes/footnotes-std.css</filename>
      <filename>footnotes/footnotes-std.js</filename>
   </files>


You'll need to make a few quick path changes to the HTML you generate as well.

_________________
Joseph L. LeBlanc: http://www.jlleblanc.com
Frontend components start here: /components/com_[name]/[name].php
Backend components start here: /administrator/components/com_[name]/admin.[name].php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 4:44 pm 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
Joe -

On the folder issue, is there a way to specify the folder name, only, and not each file?

Are you using the default template and getting the superscripts? I wonder why I don't?

I love this extension - really cool stuff!

Amy :)

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:34 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 963
Location: Washington, DC / NoVA
AmyStephen wrote:
Joe -

On the folder issue, is there a way to specify the folder name, only, and not each file?


No, you need to specify each individual file to be copied.

AmyStephen wrote:
Are you using the default template and getting the superscripts? I wonder why I don't?


Yes and yes. On both FF on Mac and IE on PC.

_________________
Joseph L. LeBlanc: http://www.jlleblanc.com
Frontend components start here: /components/com_[name]/[name].php
Backend components start here: /administrator/components/com_[name]/admin.[name].php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:30 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
jlleblanc wrote:
AmyStephen wrote:
Joe -

On the folder issue, is there a way to specify the folder name, only, and not each file?


No, you need to specify each individual file to be copied.

But I found that can be use in xml too. Please review my plugin again in 0.12 version.

AmyStephen wrote:
Joe -

On the folder issue, is there a way to specify the folder name, only, and not each file?

Are you using the default template and getting the superscripts? I wonder why I don't?

I love this extension - really cool stuff!

Amy :)

I have add in my new 0.11 version

Thank you for every review  :D
Chalet


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:42 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
How about my lastest 1.12 version?  :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:26 am 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
Yea!!!! That is CLASSY!  8)

The subscript works beautifully, now. I really like this extension.

OK, that was easier than I thought!  :P Just say !
Code:
   <files>
      <filename plugin="footnotes">footnotes.php</filename>
      <folder>footnotes</folder>
   </files>


Really nice code - elegant - like this, instead of an IF statement:
Code:
$document->addScript( JURI::base() .'plugins/content/footnotes-' . $pluginParams->def('place','std') . '.js');


13, right?  ??? Impressive.

Joe already said things looked good. Looks good to me, too.  I accept this task as complete. Maybe you could go grab the Facebook task and see if you might find SOMETHING challenging.  ;)

Doing good things, Witchakorn. Upload the extension to Google and we'll close the task.
Amy :)

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 2:59 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 40
AmyStephen wrote:
Yea!!!! That is CLASSY!  8)

The subscript works beautifully, now. I really like this extension.

OK, that was easier than I thought!  :P Just say !
Code:
   <files>
      <filename plugin="footnotes">footnotes.php</filename>
      <folder>footnotes</folder>
   </files>


Really nice code - elegant - like this, instead of an IF statement:
Code:
$document->addScript( JURI::base() .'plugins/content/footnotes-' . $pluginParams->def('place','std') . '.js');


13, right?  ??? Impressive.

Joe already said things looked good. Looks good to me, too.  I accept this task as complete. Maybe you could go grab the Facebook task and see if you might find SOMETHING challenging.  ;)

Doing good things, Witchakorn. Upload the extension to Google and we'll close the task.
Amy :)

I claimed Facebook task now but today I'm very busy. I think I will do it 2-3 days later.

Thank you and everyone that  review and discuss my plugin.
:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:11 pm 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
You are too cool!

Ok. I suppose you can take a few days off.  ;)

Sincerely, thanks for taking the Facebook app on - talk about some potential there! Can't wait to hear your progress and test your work. This is going to be fun!

Talk to you later,
Amy :)

PS - Did you add your plugin to the Joomla! Extension Directory? Hope so!

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:44 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:39 pm
Posts: 1
I'm hoping to backport this v.1.5 plugin to Joomla! v.1.0, since I desperately need this feature and can't upgrade to 1.5 until more add on modules/components become 1.5-native (~6 months). Any advice or help would be appreciated. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:13 am 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
This is a Google contest. If you want to ask this question in the Joomla! 101 Forums, that could work. But, this is not an appropriate place. These pre-university students are not Joomla! v 1.0.x developers, anyway.

Thanks for understanding!
Amy :)

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:05 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:36 pm
Posts: 51
I am looking for a working plugin for footnote creation within j 1.5 and have used the plugin available at http://www.brandspankingnew.net/archive/2006/01/footnotes-with-css-and-javascript.html which I think may be the one discussed in this thread.

My usage of the plugin can be seen at http://www.strangelove.com/strangewritings.

The plugin does not appear to handle the table fo contents (returns to a blank page) and when the "article index" is clicked upon, the resulting page shows the footnotes WITHIN the page, not at the bottom.

Is an updated version of this plugin available?

Is there a working FOOTNOTE creation plugin available for Joomla!

thank you,

Dr. Strangelove


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:52 am 
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 7056
Location: Nebraska
Nice looking site! Very appealing for students.

Never really thought about table of contents with this plugin. The most current release appears to be from January and is available on JoomlaCode.

I'm not certain what it would take to make it work for table of contents, but it could be a bit tricky. It really wasn't intended to be used that way. It's just not a feature. Whether the developer will choose to add additional features is truly up to him. Of course, it's GPL, so anyone can hack the code for their own needs, too. If you do so, you might consider sharing the improvements with the developer.

Please use the tracker for this extension for any additional questions you might have. The tracker has a place to add feature requests, too. This is a forum for the GHOP contest and not a place for support questions.

Hope that helps,
Amy :)

_________________
http://Twitter.com/AmyStephen
http://www.alltogetherasawhole.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group