can't edit any articles New Installation

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jhadow
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 11:06 pm

can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby jhadow » Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:59 am

I'm having the exact same error, but don't understand what you mean about it being related to the "DISCUSSBOT."

This is happening on a fresh install. The only things I added were the mod_gcalendar stuff which are running successfully on another site that is less than 2 weeks old.

I've also tried using my FTP to reinstall the referenced folders from the fresh install to make sure I didn't have any corrupt files. Since this is a fresh install, I'm tempted to wide the root and reinstall; however, I'm worried that the problem will show up again.
Last edited by humvee on Thu Jun 12, 2008 5:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: changed title

theboblet2
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: can't edit any articles :( -SOLVED

Postby theboblet2 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:07 pm

Any word on how you solved it?

Thanks

jhadow
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 11:06 pm

Re: can't edit any articles :( -SOLVED

Postby jhadow » Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:30 pm

I never did solve this problem directly. I ended up having to delete everything and completely re-FTP and install Joomla again.

Considering that worked, I'm assuming there was either some root level FTP corruption or an install DB creation error.

theboblet2
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 3:41 pm

Re: can't edit any articles :( -SOLVED

Postby theboblet2 » Fri May 02, 2008 8:58 am

Thanks - I reinstalled and all's well now.

EFARMSTRONG
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:09 pm

Re: can't edit any articles :libraries/joomla/html/editor.php on

Postby EFARMSTRONG » Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:08 pm

There is all over this board post with this issue, Re installing joomla is not a option after you have 99% of the site almost ready to roll out of production.

Fatal error: Call to undefined method stdClass::onDisplay() in /libraries/joomla/html/editor.php on line 263

This issue must have a solution in some sort of form other that re-installing and doing 40 hours of work again!!!

So Anyone with a "real world" solution????/

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby humvee » Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:02 pm

[Mod Note split from original topic viewtopic.php?f=430&t=260878&start=0&st=0&sk=t&sd=a as error occurring in different situation. Moved from Migration ]

cjmicro
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:59 pm

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby cjmicro » Tue May 26, 2009 12:52 am

I disabled doclink, as was shown in another post, and no more problem. Whew,
Cheryl

mufias
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:02 am

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby mufias » Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:27 am

me too. disabling doclink solve it but why joomla heros?

Yusuf Anyanzwa
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 8:03 am

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby Yusuf Anyanzwa » Wed Jul 15, 2009 8:18 am

Go to root directory, libraries\joomla\html\editor.php

In line 261 replace

Code:
// Try to authenticate
$result[] = $plugin->onDisplay($editor);


with


Code:
// Try to authenticate
if (method_exists($plugin, 'onDisplay')) {
$result[] = $plugin->onDisplay($editor);
}

User avatar
kaety
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:02 am
Location: BrisVegas (Brisbane) Queensland Australia
Contact:

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby kaety » Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:52 am

I had exactly the same problem, on a migrated site (new server) it turned out I had the autosave plugin installed. Once I turned off the button for that everything was fine.

Thanks!!

Peniel1127
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:55 pm

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby Peniel1127 » Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:09 am

I also run to this problem, as I copy the database from local to the remote db.

As remove the linkr component but the copy db still has the information.

When reinstall the linkr module the problem disappear.

It seems that require files not exists. Perhaps is uninstall some needed file.

User avatar
syhussaini
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:20 pm
Location: Hyderabad-India
Contact:

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby syhussaini » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:17 pm

Hello All,

After a small ride inside Joomla (Any version) I've observed that this error is most probable when you have any system plugins still enabled that are no longer in the installation directory of your Joomla.
This may happen when you clean install and or upgrade (low chance while upgrade) Joomla.

So if you encounter this trouble, first check the plugins that are not in use and disable them and give it a try one more time before getting your hands into the code mode.

I hope this helps a bit.
Thanks & Warm Regards
Syed
http://MyBloggingHelp.com/

cath27
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:17 am

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby cath27 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:50 pm

That was the problem. Once I installed the pluggins on the server everything worked fine again!

User avatar
syhussaini
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:20 pm
Location: Hyderabad-India
Contact:

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby syhussaini » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:15 pm

Thats good to hear. :D
Thanks & Warm Regards
Syed
http://MyBloggingHelp.com/

Unreal04
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 12:00 am

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby Unreal04 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:47 am

Here is how to fix that problem
log in to Admin page and go to
Extensions>Plug in Manager
Find the
Editor Button - JAComment ON
and disable it.
problem solved.

superman007
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 7:51 pm

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby superman007 » Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:25 pm

Unreal04 wrote:Here is how to fix that problem
log in to Admin page and go to
Extensions>Plug in Manager
Find the
Editor Button - JAComment ON
and disable it.
problem solved.



Mate you have saved my website! lol looked so hard for an answer to my problem. Thanks.

manzanofab
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby manzanofab » Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:51 am

Hi has anyone have a different solution I already try the follwoing with no results:
if (method_exists($plugin, 'onDisplay')) {
$result[] = $plugin->onDisplay($editor);
}
(this one works, but if i am oging to insert html or a link the pop up windows open empty
i already try disabling all the pluggins but still doesnt work

Please some help!!!

wassaj
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:18 pm

Re: can't edit any articles New Installation

Postby wassaj » Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:16 pm

Found the problem. Just for posterity:

Change line 268 of /libraries/joomla/html/editor.php from:

Code: Select all

$resultTest = $plugin->onDisplay($editor);


To:

Code: Select all

// $resultTest = $plugin->onDisplay($editor);

if (method_exists($plugin, 'onDisplay')) {
     $result[] = $plugin->onDisplay($editor);
     if ($resultTest) $result[] =  $resultTest;
}
else{
     $resultTest = false;
     echo '<h4>Bad Plugin: '.$plugin->name.'</h4>';
}


This will get rid of the error, and also show you what plugin is not properly installed so you can reinstall it (in my case it was "Modules Anywhere").

.


Return to “Administration 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests