The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:17 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:56 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

I have installed successfully my first Joomla site using Joomla 1.5.1 on Apache 2.0.64 and PHP 5.2.5 and MySQL 5.0.51 and WIndows XP Pro. The installation went fine; the only tricky part was to get these versions of PHP and MySQL working together smoothly, the only solution is to copy the libmysql.dll into the %windows%\system32 folder (I know this is not a very clean way of doing things but all other options did not work - i gave up after searching and trying for a few hours). I am now learning to use the Joomla environment :)

Can you explain how to setup a second Joomla site on the same webserver?
The reason for this question is that I would like to setup both a development and a test environment on the same system and preferable the same web server and database server. PS I understand that each site requires its own set of MySQL tables (either with another prefix, or stored under another db user or in another database).
-> More specifically, my question is if this can be accomplished using the Joomla Admin application of the first site that I have already created (http://localhost/joomla/administrator/index.php) on that webserver, -or- do I have to execute a second installation procedure and therefore create a new folder on the webserver that contains all the Joomla files and start all over again?

A second question is if you have a set of naming conventions in place on how to name the root folder of a Joomla installation on the web server.

These might seem basic questions but I could not find a clear answer in the manual/FAQ.

Thanks for your help.

_________________
Kind regards,
P.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:00 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:29 pm
Posts: 13
Nice. I am wondering the same thing.

I am using XAMPP, and I thought i could make a new /dir and database. And when I try to run the installation through the web browser I get a BIG security warning telling me to remove the installation directory.

I am gonna try to make another htdocs (not the same name of course) and see if I can do it that way. :pop


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:38 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:29 pm
Posts: 13
Ok, my tests were successful.

What I did to make it work is as follows, and remember I am using XAMPP, which eliminates installing PHP and MySQL. But most use Joomla on a 3rd party host, not their own server, which mine is my own server.

1) I created a new dir in my htdocs (or wwwroot in others cases)
2) Copied all the Joomla in to the new folder.
3) I deleted the cfg file (I reneamed mine in this case too configuratiojn.cfg123, so it becomes unuseable)
4) I renamed my installation dir to installation ( I didn't delete mine.)


So far the above has worked fine. If I have any issues I will be sure to post.

GL
Lesh


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:19 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 11:26 pm
Posts: 1406
Works the same in XP Pro. You can consider installing WAMP also.

To create another Joomla install, just create a another
directory and install the second Joomla install there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:29 pm
Posts: 13
I will look into WAMP.

I went with XAMMP, due to 48 hours struggling with Windows server 2003 standard. I was unable to install PHP 5.2.5 or MySQL 5.1...Everywhere I went had totally opposite suggestions....For example...Copy this many .dlls to your windows dir, copy this to your c:/windows/system32..copy ur php.ini file here...Which none of them worked for me, but I know it can be done, but I am a n00b to this, So I said enough with the 48 hours of nonsense and went with XAMPP, And I kid you not, with in 15 minutes, I had everything installed, including joomla and my site was ready to build.

Thanks for the info.

Lesh


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:16 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 11:26 pm
Posts: 1406
With WAMP, just turn OFF your IIS crappy proprietary server and use
the WAMP combo of Apache, MySQL and PHP. You'll be able to
make changes with that very similar to the work you've already done
and learned with XAMP.

I found using the default settings on the install the easiest way
to go with the initial setup.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:43 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:56 am
Posts: 2
Thanks for the info Leshincorp :)


Leshincorp wrote:
Ok, my tests were successful.

What I did to make it work is as follows, and remember I am using XAMPP, which eliminates installing PHP and MySQL. But most use Joomla on a 3rd party host, not their own server, which mine is my own server.

1) I created a new dir in my htdocs (or wwwroot in others cases)
2) Copied all the Joomla in to the new folder.
3) I deleted the cfg file (I reneamed mine in this case too configuratiojn.cfg123, so it becomes unuseable)
4) I renamed my installation dir to installation ( I didn't delete mine.)

So far the above has worked fine. If I have any issues I will be sure to post.

GL
Lesh

_________________
Kind regards,
P.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group