The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 124 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 4:26 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:00 pm
Posts: 6
Hi guys,

This is my first try at Joomla, and I'm having an issue at the end of install process.

I have PHP/mySQL websites running just fine both online and on localhost powered by apache and configured by myself. Just to say that I'm not the absolute noob, although I'm self-taught, and sometimes misleaded. Thx for bringing me back on the trail when it's the case ;)
I'm merely setting up a test site on localhost to check out Joomla awesome features !! :o

Here are my sys specs :
Kubuntu FF
Server config : Apache/2.2.3 (Ubuntu) PHP/5.2.1
mySQL Client 5.0.38 (UTF-8)
Joomla package : 1.5.1-Stable-fr.zip from http://www.joomla.fr

No error at all on step 2
step 4 : The mySQL tables are created (I checked with phpMyAdmin)
Step 5 : I skip the FTP layer thing because it's unnecessary on localhost (as I read on last version of Installation Manual found on this forum)
Step 6 : if I click on the "install sample" button, I get the XML error, so I skip this part

Install seems to end up nicely, as I get the congratulation message. ;D
I delete the installation directory in my joomla site

I cheerfully click on the Admin button to start playing !! (I also tried with Home button)

That's where I get lots (I mean LOTS) of Strict standards warning / errors : ???
here's the first one :
Quote:
Strict Standards: Non-static method JLoader::import() should not be called statically in /var/www/webdev/testjoomla/libraries/joomla/import.php on line 34

and this goes on for pretty much EVERY function call (well - I must admit I didn't compare with the source :P )

From my php.ini
Code:
error_reporting  =  E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE | E_STRICT

Doesn't that mean my server shouldn't be reporting Strict standards related problems ?
And it's checked on step 2, isn't it ? So I figure this is not causing my problem.

On http://localhost/(mypath)/testjoomla, the template is loaded but I get the same errors.

I also get a session_start : headers already sent error, but this is because of the previous error messages.

I've re-installed a couple times already... same cause, same effect

I've read posts about file and directories permissions ; my whole joomla site dir, subdirs and files are owned by my usual user and usergroup with 755 perms. Should I change according to fableman (apache's group with 770 perms) ?
location : /var/www/(myownlittlepath)/testjoomla

Despite a perusal search, I haven't found any clue about my issue... Can someone tell me what I did wrong ?

Could it be related to the XML error, and if so, could it be a matter of (default) character encoding (UTF-8 vs iso-8859-n) ? like mySQL and PHP not understanding each other ?
I have a statement in /etc/apache2/conf.d/charset - however, it doesn't show with phpinfo() ???
Code:
AddDefaultCharset UTF-8

And the Joomla mySQL tables are UTF-8 also

Thanks for your answers and advice.


Last edited by alchimie on Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:00 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 234
Quote:
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE | E_STRICT

No. It means: report everything except e_notice, also report e_strict (introduced in 5 therefore not in e_all)

In case you are common with binary operators, it's like:
5 AND (NOT 1) OR 8 -> 4 OR 8 -> 12
You assume (I guess): 5 AND NOT (1 OR 8 ) -> 4

BUT! error_reporting is also set from Joomla through error_reporting(value_from_configfile). If your config overrides this, you might want to change that behavior.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:09 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:00 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks igrimpe

That means the
Quote:
| E_STRICT

part is superfluous

The line
Quote:
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE

would report e_script, wouldn't it ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:18 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:00 pm
Posts: 6
Well I guess not !!

Because I changed php.ini accordingly
Quote:
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE


:laugh: No more Strict standards errors, but a beautiful login screen instead

Thx a lot, igrimpe.

By the way, :P I am not that common with binary operators, so I'm going to work on that !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 5:20 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 234
E_SCRIPT ???

E_ALL = E_ERROR | E_WARNING | E_PARSE | E_NOTICE | E_CORE_ERROR | E_CORE_WARNING | E_COMPILE_ERROR | E_COMPILE_WARNING | E_USER_ERROR | E_USER_WARNING | E_USER_NOTICE | E_RECOVERABLE_ERROR

Since E_STRICT is not in E_ALL, one has to OR it in.
If you don't want E_NOTICE you have to ANDNOT it out.

Simply set $error_reporting in configuration.php to 6135 if you want all errors except E_NOTICE and E_STRICT


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:48 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:00 pm
Posts: 6
Sorry for the dyslexy :P on E_SCRIPT : I meant E_STRICT of course

Now I got it all : I remember wondering about this error_reporting thing when I first setup Apache, but it was some time ago.
In fact, I added the " | E_STRICT" on purpose, to make sure I'm writing clean code.

So if I want to keep this setting in my php.ini, I must set $error_reporting in configuration.php

Currently, it is set to -1, which I guess leaves the server settings unchanged.

What value should I enter not to have E_STRICT reported ?
like with
Code:
E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE


And also, are the messages
Quote:
Static method xxx should not be called statically

normal ?

Thanx anyway, now I got to the Admin interface, it's beautiful and I have plenty of stuff to discover


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:02 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:53 pm
Posts: 19
I'm getting these errors too - has anyone figured out how to fix them or what is causing them? I can't simply hide the errors.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:27 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 234
Quote:
I can't simply hide the errors.

Why not?
E_STRICT is not an "error" but only a "NOTICE" (Like "Hey dude, would be nice if you would start writing nicer code")
see here:
Quote:
E_STRICT (integer): Run-time notices. Enable to have PHP suggest changes to your code which will ensure the best interoperability and forward compatibility of your code.

So? Turn it off or rewrite the Joomla core and all extensions ...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 3:09 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:17 pm
Posts: 57
Hi
I think your thread is relevant to my problem , but i am not so technically tuned to the PHP.INI file,
Basically, several components in joomla are give me errors that being with
Strict Standards: Non static methods...

And i believe this thread addresses the problems

Can you tell me, if i have to just go to the php.ini file (i've never really played with that file) and make some lines come alive, by deleting the semi colon?

Thanks so much for any help

_________________
http://www.einfal.com/ Einfal Web Design, We think for you..
http://www.cheaper.com Everything you wanted, just cheaper!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:10 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:17 pm
Posts: 57
oh,
I was looking for php.ini in my joomla folder, not the one in the php core,
Also, I think every line you want to make active you just delete the semi-colon
Finally, you must restart your webserver.

That clears it up

_________________
http://www.einfal.com/ Einfal Web Design, We think for you..
http://www.cheaper.com Everything you wanted, just cheaper!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:50 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:41 am
Posts: 2
Hi,
i have just installed and have zillions of error messages (mainly about strict standards).
i tried changing $error_reporting in the configuration file - but it didnt work. i still have many errors.

Turning off error reporting (in php.ini) on our server is NOT an option for us...

What can we do?
Please - if we cant fix this soon we wont be able to use this software :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:12 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 234
To what value did you change the error reporting?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:23 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 8:41 am
Posts: 2
i tried all ( i think ) possible values... 0,2,4,8,16,32,64... 6,10,12,18,20,24... 6143,6145...
And i read somewhere that E_STRICT is outside the scope of this setting.

In php.ini i think the value has to be set explicitly, ie: E_ALL | E_STRICT
Anyways, we cant turn it off on our inhouse testing server

i even tried adding ini_set() to the config file - but it was ignored.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:52 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 234
Quote:
Anyways, we cant turn it off on our inhouse testing server

?
Is E_STRICT set in php.ini of the server or not? If it is set, and the admin also has forbidden to override this setting, then you probably can not do anything. Except for asking the admin to change the setting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:44 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:00 pm
Posts: 180
Hi,

This fixed my errors as well!

Fantastic, - I have been looking / wondering about this for a long time.

It took me a long item to figure this out as it occurred only with the Joomla eXplorer (now nijaXplorer).

What I had to do is switch display_errors off...

My respective 2 lines in my php.ini now look like this:

Code:
error_reporting   =   E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE      ; Show all errors except for notices
display_errors   =   Off   ; Print out errors (as a part of the output)


Thanks,

Nik C


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 12:58 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 4:06 pm
Posts: 14
nik_c wrote:
Hi,
Code:
error_reporting   =   E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE      ; Show all errors except for notices
display_errors   =   Off   ; Print out errors (as a part of the output)



I am having this same issue using xdebug with a joomla! application. [drive] me crazy.

I've already set error_reporting & display_errors as indicated above. Restarted Apache. No change. I still get the warnings on the static calls in xdebug.

configuration.php has error_reporting = "-1".

Is there some other setting I need to hit?

Thanks!

Walt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 2:12 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 4:06 pm
Posts: 14
hoochblues wrote:
nik_c wrote:
Hi,
Code:
error_reporting   =   E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE      ; Show all errors except for notices
display_errors   =   Off   ; Print out errors (as a part of the output)



I am having this same issue using xdebug with a joomla! application. [drive] me crazy.

I've already set error_reporting & display_errors as indicated above. Restarted Apache. No change. I still get the warnings on the static calls in xdebug.

configuration.php has error_reporting = "-1".

Is there some other setting I need to hit?

Thanks!

Walt


Resolved!!!

I use phpDesigner as my editor. And debug using that. It has it's own internal settings for capturing php error events. Strict was set.

Works like a charm now!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:08 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:58 am
Posts: 2
I Think most of people makes the same mistake I made.
Actually, in php.ini (provided with EasyPhp3 (at last)) 'error_reporting' and 'display_errors' appear twice in the file ... So be care to edit the last one, because default value for this variables are :
Code:
error_reporting = E_ALL | E_STRICT
display_errors = On

despite what is written at the first begginig of this file.
So the Full answer to this problem is :
In Apache php.ini (For easyPhp in %EASYPHP_HOME%/conf_files/php.ini
1/ change
Code:
error_reporting = E_ALL | E_STRICT
by
Code:
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_STRICT

2/ change
Code:
display_errors = On
by
Code:
display_errors = Off

Warning : Be sure your error_reporting and display_errors variables are the last one to be read in the php.ini file, else yours could be overwritten by default values.
Furthermore, you can leave var $error_reporting = '-1'; unchanged in joomla configuration.php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:28 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:20 pm
Posts: 3
I am getting this error after moving Joomla from the testing server to my client's live server. I do not have access to the php.ini file. Is there another way around this???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:46 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:58 am
Posts: 2
I don't know, best would be to ask an Joomla developer if it is possible to override display_errors variable writing display_errors=Off in configuration.php

BTW did you try that ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 8:23 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:20 pm
Posts: 3
arobert wrote:
I don't know, best would be to ask an Joomla developer if it is possible to override display_errors variable writing display_errors=Off in configuration.php

BTW did you try that ?


Yeah I tried that, it didn't work for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:27 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:25 am
Posts: 1
Put this right after "define( '_JEXEC', 1 );" on index.php:
Code:
error_reporting( E_ERROR | E_PARSE | E_CORE_ERROR | E_CORE_WARNING | E_COMPILE_ERROR | E_COMPILE_WARNING );


You may need to do that on your administrator folder too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:12 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 46
Ok, I am sorry. I have the same problem as the first poster. Now, how do I edit my php.ini and where do I edit it?

I use Ubuntu 9.04. Do I need to install something or can I do it in the terminal? If I can do it via terminal, please explain steps if you will?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:46 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 46
Ok, so I changed the error-reporting and display_errors but now I all I see is one link on the home pages, stating Home. Nothing else. There is just ZIP on the localhost/joomla page. No Admin buttons, not buttons mind you.

This is what I see.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:05 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:02 am
Posts: 1
you can add one htaccess file with the following line that ll hide the error notices

Code:
php_flag display_errors Off


:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:27 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
Inprogress wrote:
Ok, so I changed the error-reporting and display_errors but now I all I see is one link on the home pages, stating Home. Nothing else. There is just ZIP on the localhost/joomla page. No Admin buttons, not buttons mind you.

This is what I see.

The reason for this is that you did not install the sample_data at Step 6 of the installation. In essence you have a "virgin" Joomla! installation and you must create all the menus and content from scratch.

If you are new to Joomla! I would suggest that you either reinstall Joomla! making sure you follow the Installation Manual for Browser Installation or you could import the sample_data into your database using PHPMyAdmin (but this does require a bit of understanding), or you could follow one of the the Installation Guides at http://docs.joomla.org/beginners which will walk you through creating a site from scratch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:23 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:17 am
Posts: 38
I too have this error.

I've installed Easy PHP as a base and for ease of installation, and installed the newest version of Joomla. I've gone through the entire installation with no issues, untill the end. I'm now getting the infamous:

Quote:
Strict Standards: Non-static method JLoader::import() should not be called statically in C:\Program Files\EasyPHP-5.3.2i\www\libraries\loader.php on line 186


this is obviously a setting in the php.ini file. i'm using the latest version of PHP and have discovered that there's infact 2 php.ini files. One is called php.ini-development and the other is called php.ini-production

Now, they both have the same code from the look of it so I assume I'll have to change the code in BOTH ini files??

The error reporting code I've found in both files is as follows, can anyone please tell me what I should change it to to stop this issue that I'm getting.

Code:
; error_reporting
;   Default Value: E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE
;   Development Value: E_ALL | E_STRICT
;   Production Value: E_ALL & ~E_DEPRECATED


there is also a php.ini file in the easyphp conf_files directory.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 10:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:17 am
Posts: 38
Sorted :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 6:22 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:40 pm
Posts: 8
Quote:
Sorted :D

What did you do? I've tried all the codes posted in this forum without any success. I have the same php.ini code

; error_reporting
; Default Value: E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE
; Development Value: E_ALL | E_STRICT
; Production Value: E_ALL & ~E_DEPRECATED


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:15 pm
Posts: 2
Once I was trying to remove these following errors after installing Joomla-
Quote:
Strict Standards: Non-static method JLoader::import() should not be called statically in /opt/lampp/htdocs/joomla/libraries/joomla/import.php on line 29

Strict Standards: Non-static method JLoader::register() should not be called statically in /opt/lampp/htdocs/joomla/libraries/loader.php on line 71

Strict Standards: Non-static method JLoader::import() should not be called statically in /opt/lampp/htdocs/joomla/libraries/joomla/import.php on line 32

Strict Standards: Non-static method JLoader::register() should not be called statically in /opt/lampp/htdocs/joomla/libraries/loader.php on line 71

Strict Standards: Non-static method JLoader::load() should not be called statically in /opt/lampp/htdocs/joomla/libraries/loader.php on line 161

Strict Standards: Non-static method JLoader::register() should not be called statically in /opt/lampp/htdocs/joomla/libraries/loader.php on line 138

Strict Standards: Non-static method JRequest::clean() should not be called statically in /opt/lampp/htdocs/joomla/libraries/joomla/import.php on line 33


I was able to repair it by changing the following value in configuration.php file which is present in Joomla home folder.

Quote:
* EARLIER VALUE : var $error_reporting = ‘-1′;
* CHANGED VALUE: var $error_reporting = ’6135′;


May be this can help somebody facing related problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 124 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group