Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
wastetimewisely
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:51 pm

Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby wastetimewisely » Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:09 pm

Firstly, apologies if this is covered elsewhere, I'm struggling to find an answer suitable for a relative beginner.

The website I am working on is http://www.ringwoodjudoclub.co.uk

It's at an early stage and I have a grasp of most of it apart from replacing the default Joomla header banner (because open source matters) and the text to the right of it. I would like to reaplce it with a small logo to go in the left corner and a header of 'Ringwood Judo Club'

How can this be changed? I'm using the standard milkway way template currently. Is the solution going to be the same with the Beez template?

Any other advice would also be muchly appreciated.

Thanks

Doug

User avatar
jonascw
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:09 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby jonascw » Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:07 pm

Hi,

A very easy way is to make your own image 298 px width and 75 px height and name it mw_joomla_logo.png and upload it to templates/rhuk_milkyway/images/

The other way is to dive into the template files and do some changes in the css file.

Hope this helps.

wastetimewisely
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby wastetimewisely » Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:41 pm

Hi,

Thanks for that, it worked. My next problem is determining the background colour of the top header, it appears to be a fading grey. Is there a way of changing this so it is one shade of grey? Or is there a way of using a similar fade in a graphics package?

As you can see from the website the work in progress banner has a white background and looks rather untidy!
http://www.ringwoodjudoclub.co.uk

Thanks

Doug

exinco
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 4:56 pm

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby exinco » Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:25 pm

how about replace with flash banner with big size

viewtopic.php?f=480&t=286738

thanks.

chriswi
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 10:11 am

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby chriswi » Thu May 01, 2008 10:50 am

Ho do I make the header area larger? I have a larger logo.

StephanBotha
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:27 am

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby StephanBotha » Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:02 am

chriswi wrote:Ho do I make the header area larger? I have a larger logo.


I also have a larger logo and it just displays behind the header with its top sticking out. Any help?

User avatar
fionaby
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: South Africa - Cape town

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby fionaby » Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:56 pm

Does it have to be png or will jpg work?

StephanBotha
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:27 am

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby StephanBotha » Sat Jun 21, 2008 2:10 pm

JPG will also work but then you have to make sure the filename in the template.css file is correct.

Check this post of mine:
viewtopic.php?f=480&t=298124&p=1329715#p1329678

Eljandro
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby Eljandro » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:23 pm

Hei!

I'm working on it for my page too, I just put a jpeg. It works.

Just make sure to prepare the size in pixels that suits you, I recommend to make it better 96 pixels per inch to not to have problems, so it will always fit. then in the template.css file write the name of your file on the place of the joomla file as they say, but also change the width/height acording to the size of your file



div#logo {
position: absolute;
left: 0;
top: 0;
float: left;
width: 529px;
height: 90px;

background: url(../images/eljandro_headlogo.jpg) 0 0 no-repeat;
margin-left: 30px;
margin-top: 25px;

Anyway, for other matters, my page is not yet ready, let's see. Good luck with yours!
Regards

Alejandro Lorenzo
Art Photo

User avatar
Word Warrior
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:29 am
Location: Bromsgrove, Worcs, UK

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby Word Warrior » Fri Jul 18, 2008 3:46 pm

I've sorted out how to change the size and image but I want the image to be centered relative to the rest of the header and site.
The relevant code at the moment is:-
div#logo {
position: absolute;
left: 0;
top: 0;
float: centre;
width: 990px;
height: 80px;
background: url(../images/banner1872b.png) 0 0 no-repeat;
margin-left: 120px;
margin-top: 25px;
}

What do I need to add/change to get it centered? :-\
Webmaster, Bromsgrove Rugby Football Club.
http://bromsgroverfc.co.uk
http://gallery.bromsgroverfc.co.uk

believe
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 11:18 pm

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby believe » Sat Jul 26, 2008 12:09 am

If I have created my logo and put it in this file, will it show in my web address when I go live? Can I make it show up while I am building the site? this is the folder it is in C:\wamp\www\Joomla-1.5.2 stable\templates\aurora\images\blue

believe

kukujang
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby kukujang » Sun Jul 27, 2008 12:34 am

fionaby wrote:Does it have to be png or will jpg work?


I think PNG is work.

kuroanders
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:27 am

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby kuroanders » Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:30 am

How do you upload it to templates/rhuk_milkyway/images/ or link it to your own images folder? I've tried my own folder and it still doesn't work.

Keith Valentine
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:32 pm

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby Keith Valentine » Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:48 pm

Hi,

I also have this problem. I can remove the Joomla! logo by disabling the CSS line that reads:
background: url(../images/mw_joomla_logo.png) 0 0 no-repeat;

However, if I upload my own logo either in .png or .jpg format (transparent or opaque), with identical image dimensions, and rename my logo file to mw_joomla_logo.png or mw_joomla_logo.jpg (whichever applies), and ensure permissions are set to 755, then re-enable that CSS statement, the best results I can possibly get are a rather distorted display of my image, with distorted colour patterns.

Does anyone know how to fix this problem? I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. I've tried everything I can think of and I'm totally stumped.

Keith

Poage
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 12:04 am
Location: American Canyon, CA

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby Poage » Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:51 pm

I'm a beginner and finding this topic enlightening, to say the least. How do I get to
viewtopic.php?f=480&t=286738 and to others referenced in some posts? No sense repeating some very good info. Thanks!

Poage
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 12:04 am
Location: American Canyon, CA

Re: Replacing top Joomla header/logo with own

Postby Poage » Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:08 pm

Based on the replies I've read so far, I looked at the replacement logo I propose to use and oh my, I've got troubles. I've inherited a background for the home page, which I really like and it is 760 X 620. Anyway, those were the numbers next to the file size and I can't imagine what else they would represent. How can I get it into my current project where I'm using milkyway??


Return to “Templates for Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests