The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 10:37 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 10:22 am
Posts: 5
Hello there...

What kind of mechanisms or joomla component you use when you want to copy your entire joomla installation from your computer (Windows XP + XAMPP + Joomla 1.5.2) to a Linux web hosting server?

The reason I'm asking this is because it is far easier & faster to do a complete Joomla installation & customizations on my own system than on the web server. After getting things get done on my own system, now I need a way to transfer the entire installation to the web server.

Thank you in advance.


Last edited by baingao on Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 10:53 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
You would need the PHPMyAdmin of XAMPP to dump the database (export)
You would need an FTP client to transfer the web directory and a means to access and manage your remote database (import).
There is not a component that I am aware of that does all this for you.

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:35 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:27 am
Posts: 1
Location: Singapore
Hi there

I'm (brand) new to Joomla and this is also a question that I had, because I'd ideally like to work locally.

Is this a common question, or do people just tend to work directly on the hosted version of their sites?

Cheers
Malcolm


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 2:36 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
You only need to glance through this and the General forum to see how often this gets asked...Quite often


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:44 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 10:22 am
Posts: 5
Thank you for your prompt answer Mr. humvee. Your answer is among the fastest answer I ever have on internet forums.

I wonder what will happened to things like server name, eg. localhost vs the actual server name, and also some other kind of references. Will the data in the database need some "massaging" before the transferred installation run?

But I'll try first in a few days. I'd be very glad If you could post any pointer to some step-by-step references of how to transfer Joomla installation. My current level of expertise is ... uhm... newbie :-[ and internet connection is a scarce resource to me :( .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 8:14 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
Hi

There are key elements that must be changed:
# all the database variables,
# the var $live_site,
# FTP settings if used (although recommend putting all these back to default for the move and changing after
everything is safely moved and working)
# the /tmp and /log directory paths,
# Site Name,
# e-mail settings if changed from local site,

As with any major changes - always keep a backup of your sites before making changes, both web and database servers.

You have two ways of doing the move.

For both methods:
Do a dump of the local database
then:

1.) Upload a full set of the Joomla! core files and run the Web Browser installation on the Remote host.
Check all is working - to make sure server works and that installation was successful
Delete all files and directories - except configuration.php
Upload all files and directories from the local Web server to the Remote - except local configuration.php
Edit the moved (or create a new) .htaccess file if needed/required
Import the local database sql file into the server replacing all the data of the remote database

2.) Upload all the local files from local Web server to Remote server.
Edit the configuration.php to match new server
Edit/create the .htaccess as appropriate
Create a database on Remote MySQL server making sure UTF-8 character set is chosen
Import Local database SQL file dump

Check the Remote site is working
Check all settings in Global Configuration
Edit the FTP settings if necessary

hth

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:52 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 10:22 am
Posts: 5
Hello Mr. humvee,

I have just tried method # 2 and it worked perfectly! Easier than I thought.

Thank you very much!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:34 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
Glad it worked as prescribed

Please mark your first post with the Green TICK & CIRCLE Post Icon

Thanks

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:37 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 2
Location: UK/Italy
Hello,

Thanks for the info, but I think it might be a good idea to post a BIG warning sign in the quick install guide stating what a pain it is to build your Joomla locally (using apache/mySQL link) and then trying to upload it to your server. :(

In your post humvee, the folders (apart from the ht.access file and data base sql) are all within the "joomla" folder and nothing from the htdocs folder that it sits in? These are the only ones that need to deleted and uploaded again (apart from configuration file of course) to the server folder?

Also :D would you be able to give me a dummies guide (yes thats me :laugh: ) regarding the key elements? Maybe a nice one like the quick start guide hey Andy ;)

I really liked building the Joomla website and think its fantastic and haven't had anything that I couldn't figure out, but having to change/delete configuration files is new to me. I am sure I won't be the last to this and maybe if you make it easy enough for me to understand I will thank you by writing a guide with pictures for future reference if needed.

best wishes,

Gareth

_________________
I would rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal labotomy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:18 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:44 pm
Posts: 16
Location: South Africa
Hi Andy

A question: Suppose that I completed the initial design of my web site on a local server and transferred it to the hosting server, would you recommend that regular updates to the site be done locally (with an unavoidable transfer every time), or would it be better to work directly from the hosting server in future?

Thanks.
Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:38 pm
Posts: 140
Location: UK
Thank you. This is very helpful.

_________________
http://www.hoodiadietworks.com | http://www.findiet.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:13 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 5:10 am
Posts: 9
Thank you humvee. I'll give this method a try.

_________________
Danny


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:09 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:39 am
Posts: 21
you can use joomla pack:)

_________________
Please visit my sites:-
http://webudaipur.com

viewtopic.php?f=466&t=466201&p=1951727#p1951727


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:45 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:22 pm
Posts: 92
Hello y'all,

I am trying to upload local joomla site to web server. I did follow the steps but I guess something went wrong or missed and am getting this message instead of web page:
Database Error: Unable to connect to the database:Could not connect to MySQL

Here is what I did:
1- Upload all the files to the server (thru filezilla)
2- Created database for joomla (with the same name as was on local machine)
3- Created database for mysql (with different name than it was on local machine...because hosting server does not allow me to create a database with "mysql" name).
4- Edited configuration.php

Please tell me how to fix this issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:39 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 3:02 am
Posts: 8771
Location: Mars
sneezy wrote:
Database Error: Unable to connect to the database:Could not connect to MySQL

Hi...

Review this discussion >>> viewtopic.php?f=431&t=198257

:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:23 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks!

I prefer method nr 1

_________________
bungalow


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:28 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
@sneezy
Either your database name, username or user password are wrong. The username and password from your local database will not work on the remote host, and you need to use the details provide by your host provider.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 3:39 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:03 pm
Posts: 13
A very good question and something i am about to attempt - with the numerous warnings and paranoia about being hacked i think everyone develops their first joomla site on localhost - here are some weblinks to step by step guides

http://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_copy_ ... te_host%3F
http://www.dart-creations.com/joomla/jo ... erver.html
http://www.my-guides.net/en/guides/inte ... oomla-site
http://techsling.com/2010/06/transferri ... eb-server/

they probably all say much the same thing but i imagine it would be worth checking them all out


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:34 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:15 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Kingston, Jamaica
Or you could just install Akeeba Backup and use it to backup and then restore your Joomla site to it's new location.

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... YmEiO30%3D

_________________
Best regards,
H. Winchester Lyon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:10 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 3:09 am
Posts: 18
on configuration.php has $smtphost when i local server that set as 'localhost', how about in live server?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:00 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:03 pm
Posts: 13
that Akeeba looks awesome!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:46 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:15 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Kingston, Jamaica
@exing1984: On a live server you would use the smtp host name they give you.

They are usually either mail.mywebsite.com or smtp.mywebsite.com or something like that :)

_________________
Best regards,
H. Winchester Lyon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:56 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 1
Hi there,

related subject question, yet a bit more specific. I am also trying to get a joomla project uploaded on a remote server. I am simply using the pre-installed joomla website with some minor changes for experimentation purposes. Want to know how stuff works before I start working on a real project.

I have exported the local joomla database and uploaded it successfully onto my hosting account using phpadmin.
I am now trying to upload the related files from my Xamp/joomlaproject directory onto the hosting account using filezilla.
I have changed the configuration.php file using the paths, host, user and dababase names found in the remote server-side configuration.php file.

This is the first time I use filezilla. Whenever I drag the files onto the remote server, an endless process queue starts. I have no clue where these files are coming from. I finally gave up after an hour of transferring data and still thousands of files in the queue. Disabling the queue has no effect.

Any idea what to do? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:18 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:15 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Kingston, Jamaica
FileZilla works great for me. I mostly use fireFTP (Firefox addon) for FTP. It's not as fully featured as FileZilla, but it saves me to trouble of opening up a separate software just upload a few files.

The way you're going about the transfer should work fine. However, there are simpler (and less messy) way to get this done. You can use Akeeba Backup (Joomla Component).
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... YmEiO30%3D

Grab Akeeba Backup v3.0.1 and KickStart v3.1.1 from their download page. Install Akeeba just like any other Joomla extension and use it to backup (both files and database) your entire Joomla site.

Upload the backup file (.jpa file type) to you host along with the contents of the KickStart package. Then point your browser to http://mywebsite.com/joomla_folder/kickstart.php.

This will start up an installation wizard very much like Joomla installation wizard.

_________________
Best regards,
H. Winchester Lyon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:39 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 5:12 am
Posts: 9
You may get good reference here..
http://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_copy_ ... te_host%3F


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:21 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:10 pm
Posts: 1
thank you for suggestion


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:34 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:35 pm
Posts: 20
Please can anyone give step by step tutorials on how to set the configuration file?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 8:20 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 8:13 am
Posts: 2
Use Akeeba and everything it will be much easier


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:21 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:35 pm
Posts: 20
Please can anyone show me howdo I can set this Menu into my Joomla template?
the "screen" is in the css folder

<div class="clear" id=screen
"container">
<ul id="navigation">
<li class="first"><a href="#">Home</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Video</a></li>
<li><a href="#">NewsPulse</a></li>
<li><a href="#">U.S.</a></li>
<li><a href="#">World</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Politics</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Justice</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Entertainment</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Tech</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Health</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Living</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Travel</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Opinion</a></li>
<li><a href="#">iReport</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Money</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Sports</a></li>
</ul>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 8:56 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 12:42 pm
Posts: 5
Hi there,

I've been searching and searching for ever to get a solution to my problem..
Akeeba backup is great however if you want to only UPDATE your live site with the local one then there's endless issues.. See, the live site still gets user registrations and they publish data. And the local site I only modify template/structure and add extra functions. But the problem with this is how do you merge these 2 databases and files together so you don't lose your new live users or your edited local changes??
There is NO such solution out there!
If anyone already tried doing this please can you point me in the right direction.
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group