No general.css when editing article

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 6:12 pm

I have a very strange problem when I want to edit an article.
When I go into the backend and select "Content/Article Manager", I get the list of articles as expected.
When I then select an article to edit or use the New button to create a new article, I get a non formatted page with only the forms to provide info about the article.
I have checked with Firebug to diagnose the problem and it turns out that the \templates\general.css is not there.
Now, trust me that file is there and I have even done a fresh install "wooah" of my nearly finished site, restored the tables from before the first time this issue happened, but the problem remains.
Suffice to say that after the installation of the demo data, I was able to edit an article.
So, it seems there is something wrong with my database.
I really :( want keep my data in the tables, it took me a long to get everything in.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

edo888
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Yerevan, Armenia
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby edo888 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 6:22 pm

Hi,
it's really strange, have you touched the code?
Best regards, Edvard Ananyan
https://gtranslate.io - GTranslate - Multilingual Website Solutions
http://2glux.com - 2GLux - Joomla! Extensions

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:13 pm

As I mentioned, Even after installing 1.5.3, the problem remains.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Fri May 02, 2008 5:14 pm

After searching a bit more with firebug, I found that this [<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">] line is the only line of code in <head>. There should be all the links to CSS like general.css.
It is also related to the /administrator/components/com_content/ code. Any other backend function is ok.
I have included two pixies showing the result pages.

Missing_links_in_head.jpg

Articlemanager.jpg


Anyone have a look plse?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby ircmaxell » Mon May 05, 2008 3:37 pm

re-upload the entire codebase... Download a fresh version of 1.5.3, and overwrite everything...
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Mon May 05, 2008 4:22 pm

Did that, see 3 posts back ;)
The real question is from the last post, why <head> is not always rendered completely!
May be the pictures are not very clear, but that is the diff between the two.
The fact that the link to general.css is missing from <head> is causing the webpage with css. That I understand.
What I do not understand is the fact that when com_content is used by the Artcile manager, <head> is almost rendered empty.
I want to get to the bottom of this to help anyone else in case of.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7985
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby mcsmom » Mon May 05, 2008 7:40 pm

Does the same thing happen with any other component or when you use no wysiwyg?

What happens when you create a new article on the front end?

When I see half of a page load likethat I tend to think that you might need to increase your memory or max execution time.
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Mon May 05, 2008 8:04 pm

It happens also with one of the CB functions needing to use a editor to put some content in.
And I did a quick publish from the front-end and that also produced a half loaded webpage.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7985
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby mcsmom » Mon May 05, 2008 9:58 pm

And what happens if you turn on debug and put error reporting on maximum?
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Tue May 06, 2008 5:11 pm

@mcsmom Thanks for staying with me on this one.
I did the memory check and that was 16mb while the php-ini.dist by default has 128mb.
So I changed the memory and this at least gave this error message:

Code: Select all

Fatal error: Call to undefined method stdClass::onDisplay() in H:\wwwroot\libraries\joomla\html\editor.php on line 263


I copied the "libraries" dir across from my 1.5.3 download, but that did bring no joy.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby ircmaxell » Tue May 06, 2008 5:16 pm

pvh123 wrote:@mcsmom Thanks for staying with me on this one.
I did the memory check and that was 16mb while the php-ini.dist by default has 128mb.
So I changed the memory and this at least gave this error message:

Code: Select all

Fatal error: Call to undefined method stdClass::onDisplay() in H:\wwwroot\libraries\joomla\html\editor.php on line 263


I copied the "libraries" dir across from my 1.5.3 download, but that did bring no joy.

What editor are you using?
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Tue May 06, 2008 7:58 pm

I am using editor: Tinymce 2.0 and just for the record, I just tried also Xstandard Lite and to be complete I also did "No editor". Result is the same.

I put an echo on that error line in editor.php to see what is in the $editor var and this is what it shows:
Code:

Code: Select all

// Try to authenticate
   
         
echo "what editor??? " . $editor;         
         
268   $result[] = $plugin->onDisplay($editor);
      }


Output:

Code: Select all

what editor??? text
Fatal error: Call to undefined method stdClass::onDisplay() in H:\wwwroot\libraries\joomla\html\editor.php on line 268


It expects a method: "stdClass" in "onDisplay" which is not there, I think. Looking at the value of $editor it seems logical to me that it is not looking for "text" as a method.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby ircmaxell » Tue May 06, 2008 8:09 pm

What's in the $plugin variable?

Code: Select all

var_dump($plugin);
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Wed May 07, 2008 4:59 pm

nt of var_dumpA lot of info in that var-dump, so I have put it in a file (see attached).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby ircmaxell » Wed May 07, 2008 5:10 pm

That's weird, because $plugin is not a stdclass object... weird...
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Wed May 07, 2008 7:07 pm

It is weird and I just found out that it must be the tables in the db.
I restored the tables of the website with the problem in my JBS test db and now my test site demonstrates the same issue.
So it is not the code, hardly possible right with me being the only one having the problem.
Remains the notion if I can find whcih table is the offending one may be I can do a repair somehow.
Brrrrrr. Now I need knowledge about the table handling this editor stuff. It looks if something about the editor that should be in a table, is gone missing.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby ircmaxell » Wed May 07, 2008 7:17 pm

pvh123 wrote:It is weird and I just found out that it must be the tables in the db.
I restored the tables of the website with the problem in my JBS test db and now my test site demonstrates the same issue.
So it is not the code, hardly possible right with me being the only one having the problem.
Remains the notion if I can find whcih table is the offending one may be I can do a repair somehow.
Brrrrrr. Now I need knowledge about the table handling this editor stuff. It looks if something about the editor that should be in a table, is gone missing.

check jos_plugins...
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Wed May 07, 2008 7:34 pm

Will do.
Something else that suddely struck me is that comparing the tables in my problem db are all of engine type "innodb" as they have been since we started with 1.5. The engine of the tables in my test db which is created with almost the latest and at least 1.5.3, is "MyIsam". The test db and site has been created from a clean install by 1.5.3.
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby ircmaxell » Fri May 09, 2008 1:13 pm

viewtopic.php?f=199&t=290396

Fyi, someone with the same problem...
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: No general.css when editing article

Postby pvh123 » Fri May 09, 2008 2:15 pm

Thanks for your help. The other post made me realise that We were on the richt track.
It turned out that it had to do with the "doclink" plugin of DOCman. A mismatch what was in the editor-xtd directory and what was in de jos_plugin table.
Pfffffffff. I can relax now and start putting things right :)
Joomla Bug Squad

Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests