The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:14 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
Hi,
I want to ask abut installation component and modules, always show like shown this :
Image

can you help me,please...?

Thanks

_________________
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:17 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 1045
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Make sure that folders affected are set to 777 for the duration of the upload/install and use the browse/upload option under installation, oh, and select the zip file, don;t unpack it first.

It that doesn't help, might be a safe mode issue (server security, ask host).

_________________
My sites: http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk Gardeners, http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk Music Festival


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:40 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
Hi,

Thanks for your helping, but there is still an error, I want to ask about server permission again....

what effect if I chek this option..
thanks


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:54 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:42 am
Posts: 1160
Hi ..

I think CHMOD'ing the files into 777 is a bit of a risk. Check what happens when Folders have CHMOD 755 and Files 644...

If this does not Help have a look at the System Information and perhaps post the bit here, if you still are not sure about use:
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/

Cheers

Pete

_________________
Pete Coutts / ghosty · · GMT +1
---------------------------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:40 am 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 1045
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Oh, as Pete says, Folders/Directories to 755 and Files to 644 unless you are working on them at the time.

Folders can be set to 777 (or 766 a bit safer) whilst you are uploading (for example) components files to components folder, then reset to 755 once done, files should always be 644 though you can set config and template index files to 666 (safer even with occult connotations) or 777, again, just while you are working on them, then restore to 644 for security immediately you have finished.

_________________
My sites: http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk Gardeners, http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk Music Festival


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:08 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
Hi,
Thanks for all....
I change with 777, but I try to change it like first condition, ex, in Global configuration, dir = 755,file = 644,configuration
but it still same condition, I can't install component,modules, upload file from media, etc. but in in same time I can upload some file from FTP program with success, but can not from administrator joomla,

I am try to make other new joomla installation and it's work ....


what can I do now... :(

this is some problem I have...I can,t install new component /modules from package file ( file zip ), but if from directory ( manual upload ) there is no problem, it work


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:59 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
Hi,....
My problem about it is clear... :D :D :D , there is some virus invect on my computer...
now...I can upload,install new modules or component from direct Joomla administrator


thanks to : Pete,dragonrider

_________________
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:30 pm 
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 1045
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Great stuff! Glad it's all sorted now. ;D

_________________
My sites: http://ilkleygardeners.org.uk Gardeners, http://wharfedalefestival.co.uk Music Festival


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:20 pm
Posts: 2
Are you sure the error is from a virus? I am experiencing the same problem and have noticed another user on this board is too. I'm on a Mac which appears to be clear of viruses and am using joomla 1.5.

How did you resolve the issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
Yess, I am sure ..,I try to upload some directory, like administrator,include,etc, and try to modified some file joomla system,but that is still error, last, I try to build new OS PC install , and wooww...everything is ok.
and I try with other PC, it work

_________________
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:20 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:44 am
Posts: 11
I am having the same problem - Failed to move uploaded file to /media directory

I have checked and all permissions are set to writable, system info say's that "safe mode" is turned off and file uploads is on.

I can upload templates via ftp and have tried to upload Flashmod module via ftp but mustn't have placed it in the correct locations as they didn't come up in my module manager/component manager.

I am using Joomla version 1.0.12

Can someone please help me

Thanks
Scratch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:28 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
check your computer and surely clean from virus/worm...
or, try upload from other computer..if everything is ok, try to change permission from joomla administrator , on global configuration

_________________
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:45 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:44 am
Posts: 11
thanks mate but didn't work

I tried from 2 other computers but still didn't work.

Can anyone tell me the folders that I would have to ftp each of the following files into:
mod_flashmod.js
mod_flashmod.xml
mod_flashmod.php
index.html

I am trying to upload the flashmod v3 via ftp as other things I have uploaded via ftp have worked.

regards
scratch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:15 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:43 pm
Posts: 1
I too have had this problem and also a problem with changing the settings in configuration.php. I checked every permission setting and file attribute, but nothing worked. However, I contacted my hosting company and found that they had overriding permissions. Once they fixed them, the problem disappeared. It might be worth you checking that line. In case it makes any difference, the control panel the hosting company is using is Plesk 8.4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:01 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
scratch0 wrote:
thanks mate but didn't work

I tried from 2 other computers but still didn't work.

Can anyone tell me the folders that I would have to ftp each of the following files into:
mod_flashmod.js
mod_flashmod.xml
mod_flashmod.php
index.html

I am trying to upload the flashmod v3 via ftp as other things I have uploaded via ftp have worked.

regards
scratch



try to upload here
../modules

and here
..administrator/modules

_________________
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:42 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:44 am
Posts: 11
thanks for the reply mate.

After being told about the issue with "Plesk" I contacted my host (again) and passed this information on.

Surprise, surprise, it is now working.

Thanks for everyone's help.

Regards
scratch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:29 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:04 pm
Posts: 14
Thanks all for your suggestions here.

I have the feeling we still don't have a clear answer on why we are not able to install basic modules and components. My last hope is a ticket to hosting support.

Any new insight on this error would be greatly apprciated!

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:31 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:38 am
Posts: 1
I have same problem and cant find a solution in last 8 hours. Virus is not cause of this. After searching hundreds of forums no one is able to answer why its happening.

Once I renamed /media folder to mediaold and created a new media folder and bingo I was able to install template. But when I tried to install another.... same issue. If any any one knows answer to this then please post here.

I will be sending a support query to host lunarpage as well and lets see if they can fix it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 3:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
ghosty wrote:
Hi ..

I think CHMOD'ing the files into 777 is a bit of a risk. Check what happens when Folders have CHMOD 755 and Files 644...

If this does not Help have a look at the System Information and perhaps post the bit here, if you still are not sure about use:
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/

Cheers

Pete


Try to normally folder permission with that tools...
do you try from other computer too?

_________________
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:12 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:10 pm
Posts: 3
Try doing this. It seems to fix any install error

http://2kmegs.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=57


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:35 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:01 pm
Posts: 5
well , thx for all this information , but i have a question when i upload with the ftp where i pute the module and how i install't


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:01 pm
Posts: 5
oki i did pute the module in tmp but when i try to install "Please enter a package directory" that's what he say , i dont know what to do anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group