error install component and modules

Need help installing Joomla!? For all Joomla! installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
hariesdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm

error install component and modules

Postby hariesdesign » Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:14 am

Hi,
I want to ask abut installation component and modules, always show like shown this :
Image

can you help me,please...?

Thanks
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita

dragonrider
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1045
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:53 pm
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: error install component and modules

Postby dragonrider » Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:17 pm

Make sure that folders affected are set to 777 for the duration of the upload/install and use the browse/upload option under installation, oh, and select the zip file, don;t unpack it first.

It that doesn't help, might be a safe mode issue (server security, ask host).

User avatar
hariesdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby hariesdesign » Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:40 am

Hi,

Thanks for your helping, but there is still an error, I want to ask about server permission again....

what effect if I chek this option..
thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita

User avatar
ghosty
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1160
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:42 am

Re: error install component and modules

Postby ghosty » Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:54 am

Hi ..

I think CHMOD'ing the files into 777 is a bit of a risk. Check what happens when Folders have CHMOD 755 and Files 644...

If this does not Help have a look at the System Information and perhaps post the bit here, if you still are not sure about use:
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/

Cheers

Pete
Pete Coutts / ghosty · · GMT +1
---------------------------------

dragonrider
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1045
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:53 pm
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: error install component and modules

Postby dragonrider » Wed Jul 02, 2008 10:40 am

Oh, as Pete says, Folders/Directories to 755 and Files to 644 unless you are working on them at the time.

Folders can be set to 777 (or 766 a bit safer) whilst you are uploading (for example) components files to components folder, then reset to 755 once done, files should always be 644 though you can set config and template index files to 666 (safer even with occult connotations) or 777, again, just while you are working on them, then restore to 644 for security immediately you have finished.

User avatar
hariesdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby hariesdesign » Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:08 pm

Hi,
Thanks for all....
I change with 777, but I try to change it like first condition, ex, in Global configuration, dir = 755,file = 644,configuration
but it still same condition, I can't install component,modules, upload file from media, etc. but in in same time I can upload some file from FTP program with success, but can not from administrator joomla,

I am try to make other new joomla installation and it's work ....


what can I do now... :(

this is some problem I have...I can,t install new component /modules from package file ( file zip ), but if from directory ( manual upload ) there is no problem, it work
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita

User avatar
hariesdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby hariesdesign » Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:59 pm

Hi,....
My problem about it is clear... :D :D :D , there is some virus invect on my computer...
now...I can upload,install new modules or component from direct Joomla administrator


thanks to : Pete,dragonrider
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita

dragonrider
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1045
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:53 pm
Location: Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: error install component and modules

Postby dragonrider » Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:30 pm

Great stuff! Glad it's all sorted now. ;D

finetoons
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:20 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby finetoons » Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 am

Are you sure the error is from a virus? I am experiencing the same problem and have noticed another user on this board is too. I'm on a Mac which appears to be clear of viruses and am using joomla 1.5.

How did you resolve the issue?

User avatar
hariesdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby hariesdesign » Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:04 am

Yess, I am sure ..,I try to upload some directory, like administrator,include,etc, and try to modified some file joomla system,but that is still error, last, I try to build new OS PC install , and wooww...everything is ok.
and I try with other PC, it work
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita

scratch0
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:44 am

Re: error install component and modules

Postby scratch0 » Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:20 am

I am having the same problem - Failed to move uploaded file to /media directory

I have checked and all permissions are set to writable, system info say's that "safe mode" is turned off and file uploads is on.

I can upload templates via ftp and have tried to upload Flashmod module via ftp but mustn't have placed it in the correct locations as they didn't come up in my module manager/component manager.

I am using Joomla version 1.0.12

Can someone please help me

Thanks
Scratch

User avatar
hariesdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby hariesdesign » Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:28 am

check your computer and surely clean from virus/worm...
or, try upload from other computer..if everything is ok, try to change permission from joomla administrator , on global configuration
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita

scratch0
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:44 am

Re: error install component and modules

Postby scratch0 » Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:45 am

thanks mate but didn't work

I tried from 2 other computers but still didn't work.

Can anyone tell me the folders that I would have to ftp each of the following files into:
mod_flashmod.js
mod_flashmod.xml
mod_flashmod.php
index.html

I am trying to upload the flashmod v3 via ftp as other things I have uploaded via ftp have worked.

regards
scratch

penderra
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:43 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby penderra » Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:15 pm

I too have had this problem and also a problem with changing the settings in configuration.php. I checked every permission setting and file attribute, but nothing worked. However, I contacted my hosting company and found that they had overriding permissions. Once they fixed them, the problem disappeared. It might be worth you checking that line. In case it makes any difference, the control panel the hosting company is using is Plesk 8.4

User avatar
hariesdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby hariesdesign » Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:01 am

scratch0 wrote:thanks mate but didn't work

I tried from 2 other computers but still didn't work.

Can anyone tell me the folders that I would have to ftp each of the following files into:
mod_flashmod.js
mod_flashmod.xml
mod_flashmod.php
index.html

I am trying to upload the flashmod v3 via ftp as other things I have uploaded via ftp have worked.

regards
scratch



try to upload here
../modules

and here
..administrator/modules
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita

scratch0
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:44 am

Re: error install component and modules

Postby scratch0 » Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:42 am

thanks for the reply mate.

After being told about the issue with "Plesk" I contacted my host (again) and passed this information on.

Surprise, surprise, it is now working.

Thanks for everyone's help.

Regards
scratch

redturbo917
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: error install component and modules... still a problem

Postby redturbo917 » Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:29 am

Thanks all for your suggestions here.

I have the feeling we still don't have a clear answer on why we are not able to install basic modules and components. My last hope is a ticket to hosting support.

Any new insight on this error would be greatly apprciated!

Mike

striker9880
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:38 am

Re: error install component and modules

Postby striker9880 » Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:31 pm

I have same problem and cant find a solution in last 8 hours. Virus is not cause of this. After searching hundreds of forums no one is able to answer why its happening.

Once I renamed /media folder to mediaold and created a new media folder and bingo I was able to install template. But when I tried to install another.... same issue. If any any one knows answer to this then please post here.

I will be sending a support query to host lunarpage as well and lets see if they can fix it.

User avatar
hariesdesign
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby hariesdesign » Fri Sep 19, 2008 3:42 pm

ghosty wrote:Hi ..

I think CHMOD'ing the files into 777 is a bit of a risk. Check what happens when Folders have CHMOD 755 and Files 644...

If this does not Help have a look at the System Information and perhaps post the bit here, if you still are not sure about use:
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/

Cheers

Pete


Try to normally folder permission with that tools...
do you try from other computer too?
http://www.tipsntrick.net ---> Tips SEO, Optimasi, Internet, Download Software, Photo dan Video
http://www.hariesdesign.com ----> Berbagi berita

2kmegs
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:10 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby 2kmegs » Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:12 pm

Try doing this. It seems to fix any install error

http://2kmegs.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=57

urhero
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:01 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby urhero » Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:35 pm

well , thx for all this information , but i have a question when i upload with the ftp where i pute the module and how i install't

urhero
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:01 pm

Re: error install component and modules

Postby urhero » Fri Oct 08, 2010 12:57 pm

oki i did pute the module in tmp but when i try to install "Please enter a package directory" that's what he say , i dont know what to do anymore


Return to “Installation - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests