The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:48 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 17
How can I remove the 'Powered by Joomla!. valid XHTML and CSS' shown at the bottom-right of the rhuk_milkyway template please?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:06 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:31 pm
Posts: 17
OK, I found it in the index.php file. :-[


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:55 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:28 pm
Posts: 66
May you guide how you removed it, i have no experience with CSS or html.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:24 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:28 pm
Posts: 66
Guide me anyone plz!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:43 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:28 pm
Posts: 66
Ok, I found it also :p
Went to index.php of my template
simply removed the following code

Quote:
</p>
<p id="power_by">
<?php echo JText::_('Powered by') ?> <a href="http://www.joomla.org">Joomla!</a>.
<?php echo JText::_('Valid') ?> <a href="http://validator.w3.org/check/referer">XHTML</a> <?php echo JText::_('and') ?> <a href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/check/referer">CSS</a>.
</p>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:16 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:47 pm
Posts: 176
Location: London ON, Canada
Thanks, this really helped me. Mine was slightly different however... I successfully removed the powered by joomla footer and the valid xhtml and css but now i have a big white area at the bottom of my template. Any ideas? I did not delete the whole line, i just deleted the necessary parts. I am scared i will break the whole template if I delete the whole line.. what to do?

_________________
www.lamantia.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:53 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:27 am
Posts: 15
i did remove mine but i prefered to put it that way. but what if you just change the powerby: then write your name on it then change the link to your website that way you could have like a copyright to your site :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:47 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:23 am
Posts: 163
Location: Marlborough UK
Just this line:

<?php echo JText::_('Valid') ?> <a href="http://validator.w3.org/check/referer">XHTML</a> <?php echo JText::_('and') ?> <a href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/check/referer">CSS</a>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 6:56 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:18 am
Posts: 9
Hello all,

I know this thread is really old, but I have the exact same question as this. This gives me the solution, however, when I go to edit my php file it wants me to save the file as a text file. How do I edit the php file while still keeping it a php file?

Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 3:27 pm 
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am
Posts: 545
If you are using notepad then try saving it as "index.php" instead of index.php.

Take a copy of it before changing in case something drastic goes wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 5:37 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:18 am
Posts: 9
Thanks that worked.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:14 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:13 pm
Posts: 9
Ok I have the same problem and now this thread is even older. I purchased the theme533 and I cannot find the correct file to remove 'Powered by Joomla!. valid XHTML and CSS'. anyone stil out there. I tried the above and it seems that my template might be a little different.

anyone?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:12 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Sri Lanka
@nypotter, Yes different templates give different codes and designs.
first go to template manager>select your template>select "Edit HTML">index.php file will be open in template HTML editor>press "ctrl+f" or just press "/" to open the find tool> type "powered by", it will show you the exact place>now find the <p> tags which holds "powered by","css validator" and "XHTML validator"> you will find all the <a> tags there> now you can remove all those codes or just comment those codes> I recommend you to comment those codes. i.e. <!-- all the codes you want to comment-->. this may help. regards!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:12 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:08 am
Posts: 3
ok maby a noob question but where can i finde the index.php to edit him ??
sorry for re-opening this


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:18 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 10:43 am
Posts: 136
Extensions > Template Manager
Select Milkyway
Select Edit HTML
CTRL + F and search for power_by
Edit as above, and save when your done

You can download the index.php file and edit it outside of the back-end
If your doing that I would recommend an editor like Notepad++


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:04 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:08 am
Posts: 3
ok i searched for power_by but he coudnt find nothing
my it is because i got the siteground-j15-190 theme and not the milkyway theme
does anybody know what i need to edit in the siteground-j15-190 theme?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:02 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 10:43 am
Posts: 136
Can you attach the index.php on here?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:51 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:08 am
Posts: 3
offcourse there you go


<?php
defined( '_JEXEC' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );
JPlugin::loadLanguage( 'tpl_SG1' );
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="<?php echo $this->language; ?>" lang="<?php echo $this->language; ?>" >
<head>
<jdoc:include type="head" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/system/css/system.css" type="text/css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/<?php echo $this->template ?>/css/template.css" type="text/css" />
</head>

<body id="page_bg">
<div id="wrapper">
<div id="header">
<div id="pillmenu"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user3" /></div>
<div id="search"><jdoc:include type="modules" name="user4" /></div>
<div class="clr"></div>
<div class="logo">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td>
<h1><a href="index.php"><?php echo $mainframe->getCfg('sitename') ;?></a></h1>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<div class="cpathway"><jdoc:include type="module" name="breadcrumbs" /></div>
<div class="clr"></div>
</div>

<div id="content">

<?php if($this->countModules('left') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
<div id="leftcolumn">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="left" style="rounded" />
<?php $sg = 'banner'; include "templates.php"; ?>
</div>
<?php endif; ?>

<?php if($this->countModules('left') and $this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
<div id="maincolumn">
<?php elseif($this->countModules('left') and !$this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
<div id="maincolumn_l_r">
<?php elseif(!$this->countModules('left') and $this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
<div id="maincolumn_l_r">
<?php else: ?>
<div id="maincolumn_full">
<?php endif; ?>

<div class="newsflash<?php if(!$this->countModules('user1') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?> only<?php endif; ?>">
<jdoc:include type="modules" style="rounded" name="top" />
</div>

<div class="maincolumn_m">
<div class="maincolumn_b">
<div class="maincolumn_t">

<div class="nopad">
<jdoc:include type="message" />
<?php if($this->params->get('showComponent')) : ?>
<jdoc:include type="component" />
<?php endif; ?>
</div>

</div>
</div>
</div>
</div>

<?php if($this->countModules('right') and JRequest::getCmd('layout') != 'form') : ?>
<div id="rightcolumn">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="right" style="rounded" />
</div>
<?php endif; ?>
<div class="clr"></div>

</div>
<div id="footer">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="debug" />
<?php $sg = ''; include "templates.php"; ?>
<a href="http://validator.w3.org/check/referer">valid xhtml</a>
<a href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/check/referer">valid css</a>
</div>
</div>
</body>
</html>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 9:04 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 7:51 am
Posts: 19
<pid="Copyright">
<?php echo JText::_('Copyright © 2011-2018') ?> <a href="http://www.XXX.com">XXXl.com</a><?php echo JText::_('. All Rights Reserved.') ?>

</p>



The above program, will put copyright information, as shown in the footer middle position
but next program,will put copyright information, as shown in the footer right position


<p id="Copyright">
<?php echo JText::_('Copyright © 2011-2018') ?> <a href="http://www.XXX.com">XXXl.com</a><?php echo JText::_('. All Rights Reserved.') ?>

</p>


I don't know if you can find the difference between above two programs.

Maybe these useful to you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:24 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:17 am
Posts: 2
line 248 to 251 you just comment this 3 lines, thanks to FARAN


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:13 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:04 pm
Posts: 6
For Detailed instruction on Deleting an Replacing Copyright notice:

howtojoomla15.[URL banned].com/2011/09/remove-powered-by-joomla-valid-xhtml.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:29 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:57 pm
Posts: 2
Location: tehran
thank you :D

you can found signature joomla in below folders

template folder index.php
language/en-GB/en-GB.mod_footer.ini

_________________
http://hostirani.com/
http://hostirani.com/web-design/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:17 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 1:46 pm
Posts: 22
Hold on guys, isn't the purpose of using a content management system to manage the website content without dropping down to code?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:35 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:28 pm
Posts: 2
Its very esay ,

Go to this path for server : public_html/yoursite.com/language\en-GB

For localhost -\htdocs\joomla\language\en-GB
Now clik in en-GB.mod_footer.ini

clik to read with picture path derection
http://mustafij.com/how-to-remove-joomla-footer-easily/#more-150


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:36 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:28 pm
Posts: 2
PixelRustler wrote:
How can I remove the 'Powered by Joomla!. valid XHTML and CSS' shown at the bottom-right of the rhuk_milkyway template please?

Its very esay ,

Go to this path for server : public_html/yoursite.com/language\en-GB

For localhost -\htdocs\joomla\language\en-GB
Now clik in en-GB.mod_footer.ini

clik to read with picture path derection
http://mustafij.com/how-to-remove-jooml ... /#more-150


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 9:13 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:53 am
Posts: 11
Hi,
Just follow the following Instruction,

step1: Find out the file en-GB.mod_footer.ini
You will find it from here, go to your /yourjoomlafolder/language/en_GB

Step2: Find out the following code,

FOOTER_LINE2=<a href="http://www.joomla.org">Joomla!</a> is Free Software released under the <a href="http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html">GNU/GPL License.</a>

Step3: Now change it

FOOTER_LINE2=<a href="your link goes here">Your text</a>

Finish !!! :laugh:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:58 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:19 am
Posts: 13
Location: India
In almost all of the templates you will find the link attribution at the bottom or footer just remove that code in the Index.php file and its done. However its a good ethics to leave attribution link at the bottom as a Thank to the developer.

_________________
~Aakash
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing
http://akashtablet.in/
Moving http://aadhaaruid.org/ from WP to Joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:22 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 2:04 pm
Posts: 24
Hi all !
i have joomla 2.5 and beez_20 template , however i found it difficult to remove the joomla powered by .

this is the code in index.php

<div id="footer">

<jdoc:include type="modules" name="position-14" />
<p>
<?php echo JText::_('TPL_BEEZ2_POWERED_BY');?> <a href="http://www.joomla.org/">Joomla!&#174;</a>
</p>


</div><!-- end footer -->

BUT the problem is if i remove the powered by then the website shows good without it and after few seconds the powered returns as it was the first time , as i didnt change . i think something is generating it somewhere . can any body tell me where its generated ? i dont know why joomla force to make powered by joomla !!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group