Change domain name

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! site? Pop your questions in here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
savo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:09 pm

Change domain name

Postby savo » Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:17 pm

Hello,

I have been trying to get my site all up and running for the past few weeks and just started to get the hang of it. I found allot of helpfull posts on this forum which have helped be get every thing going with asking for help so far but now I'm stumped.

I have the site running of my computer here and whilst setting it up i set the live site as my external ip address. I am now happy with the site and want publish it so when i pointed my domain at it i edited my config file to my new domain.

Now when the page loads no images are being loaded at all and the hole thing just looks a mess, when i change it back it all looks nice again

I am not sure where to go from here as all the paths i assume should be the same as all i changed was the domain name the site is still in the root dir.

my url is http://www.costacomms.com
I'm running on Linux server with apache 2 if you need any more info let me know.

Thanks

Sav


I don't know if this is relevent or not but i can not Verify my site on google sitemaps with the  Costacoms.com i keep getting "NOT VERIFIED We've detected that your 404 (file not found) error page returns a status of 200 (OK) in the header." It works fine when i go of my ip address though??
Last edited by savo on Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

savo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:09 pm

Re: Change domain name

Postby savo » Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:14 pm

I thought i may be able to solve this if i just started again. All i have managed is to really annoy my self for being stupid and not backing up the database.

The problem still exists on a brand new install if i set Live Site to anything other than my ip it just shows all text with no formating and no images.

Can any one help?

Sav

User avatar
Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 16584
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:13 am

Re: Change domain name

Postby Tonie » Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:41 pm

Do you host Joomla at home or at a hoster? Can you resolve the DNS of your domain name at home? Have you been using http://www.domain.com for the live_site configuration setting in configuration.php?

savo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:09 pm

Re: Change domain name

Postby savo » Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:53 pm

Hi,

I am hosting it on my machine here.  I have been using my ip address when i put the http://www.costacomms.com it doesn't find any images etc. I have changed it now so you can see what i mean.

I haven't tried to resolve the DNS and wouldn't know how.

User avatar
Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 16584
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:13 am

Re: Change domain name

Postby Tonie » Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:01 pm

When I ping your address, it says: 212.84.175.100. Is this the IP address of your server?

savo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:09 pm

Re: Change domain name

Postby savo » Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:12 pm

Thats strange because my server is 80.6.195.139.

Is this something that the people who the domain name is registered to will have to sort out ?  is there anyway i can update my path so it will find the images ?

User avatar
Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 16584
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:13 am

Re: Change domain name

Postby Tonie » Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:36 pm

There is a redirection going on somewhere, otherwise you wouldn't have a site at all. I would ask the people where your DNS records are hosted what the procedure here is.

savo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 2:09 pm

Re: Change domain name

Postby savo » Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:49 pm

Is there anything that i can do in the mean time that you can think of?

The reason i ask is i don't have the details at the moment and wont until next Thursday at the earliest. The company is ran by my dad in Spain and I'm in the UK which wouldn't usually be a problem but he has fallen off a ladder and is in hospital so i cant get info until i fly out.

Thanks for all your help

Sav

User avatar
Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 16584
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:13 am

Re: Change domain name

Postby Tonie » Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:01 pm

Using your IP-address seemed to work, so why not use it until this is settled?

User avatar
pattaya
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:58 am
Location: Thailand
Contact:

Can't get verified

Postby pattaya » Fri May 26, 2006 5:11 pm

Hi Tonie,

I see that you have a hero setting at Joomla.org and I NEED a hero right now!

I keep getting this error when trying to verify my site map:

"NOT VERIFIED We've detected that your 404 (file not found) error page returns a status of 200 (OK) in the header."

I run the site on hostgator.com so I have some access but maybe not enough? They say they can’t help me…

It’s been 4 days now and I would really like to get verified, I’m no PHP expert either, help!

The site is http://www.xuzo.com and I am using 404SEF-PR1 component.

Bruno
http://www.vincentmoving.com Vancouver Movers
http://www.xuzo.com Web Design Services

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: Change domain name

Postby Robin » Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:29 am

Hi Bruno,

Check http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,36874.0.html for a possible solution.

Regards Robin


Return to “Administration - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests