The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:03 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:41 am
Posts: 30
Everything appears to be working after upgrading from 1.5.8 to 1.5.9 - however, if I go into my main menu module or my contact link on the main menu I get:

* JFolder::files: Path is not a folder
* JFolder::files: Path is not a folder
* JFolder::files: Path is not a folder
* JFolder::files: Path is not a folder
* JFolder::files: Path is not a folder
* JFolder::files: Path is not a folder

In red at the top. What's up with that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:15 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:27 am
Posts: 1318
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Its looking for something that for some reason doesn't exist. Try to reupload a full 1.5.9 package (sans installation folder obviously) and see if that resolves the issue. You may wish to double check your FTP upload logs or if possible extract it out using cPanel if you've got it (preferable). Its a strange error to have, especially for the main menu module.

_________________
Sam Moffatt
Updater, Installer and Authentication Systems
JoomlaCode Backend Systems
Pie.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:34 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 4:25 pm
Posts: 1
I had the same problem. Believe me I sat for 4 hours. Just could not figure it out.
In a last desperate attempt to find out what the problem could be, I even went in to the database.. No answer.

I originally installed my installation from a quickstart-template. Unfortunaly the "Images" folder was empty except for the absolute necessery files. For example the "M_images" was missing.. I uploaded these folders from a clean joomla 1.5 package and everything worked fine.

I learn something new every day.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:17 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:11 pm
Posts: 3
What helped me was (re)creating the images/stories directory. The system parameter Menu Image for "menu item" insists on having images in that directory regardless of settings in the system configuration (a bug if you ask me).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:10 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:29 am
Posts: 12
So wait what am I supposed to do exactly. I'm pretty new to joomla. I'm running 1.5.10 right now. Can someone step by step what the easiest route is to fixing the problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:20 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 9:11 pm
Posts: 3
You have to create the image/stories directory. This has to be done outside Joomla. How exactly depends on your connection to your server. Typical would be that you create the directories using your ftp-program.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 11:01 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1
This is most likely caused by a permission issue in the images/stories directory -- you need to give the image/* directory and sub-directories Read-Write-eXecute (rwx) permissions. This issue seems to be the result of the eXecute permission not being set on the images/stories directory specifically.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:33 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 4:12 am
Posts: 75
If you are using an ftp client, you should be able to right click on the images/stories folder and check properties. Make it either 755 or 777. (If it is already 755, then 777)
The other thing you might do is turn on ftp layering in global config by creating an ftp account for your J! install to use. This is for if Help>System Info>PHP information = Apache Handler
The latter would solve your problem in a general way and the former is a more specific fix for your problem, but it is a good step towards troubleshooting, I think.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 3:06 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 12:23 am
Posts: 65
Location: Singapore
I had this error too. But after creating the folder 'stories' under image, the error is gone :D
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:58 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:03 pm
Posts: 124
Location: UK
I just had this problem. To clarify what others have said, you just need to make sure the following directories exist:
images/banners
images/M_images
images/smilies
images/stories

_________________
"Maybe I shouldn't have eaten that packet of powdered gravy I found in the parking lot."
http://www.simpsoncrazy.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:02 am
Posts: 192
glad i found this thread. I had the same problem and could not figure it out.

I agree that it should be reported as a bug or "things to change" but like probably all of you, i simply did not read the "tool tip" when you mouse hover the "Path to image folder" as it clearly states:

Quote:
WARNING!::You can set new locations for the 'Path to Media Folder' and 'Path to Image Folder' folders. However, do not delete or change the existing images folder. The images/banners, images/M_images, images/smilies, and images/stories folders are used by the application. See the Help Topic for this page if you need assistance returning to the original directory structure.


that's what happen when you go too fast and assume something!!!

mea culpa.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:03 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:02 am
Posts: 192
i did some search a little. And i found out that the "images/stories" path is actually hard coded in numerous core files.

It should definitely be change by a "$image_path" or what ever is used by the system. So as soon as you change that directory any core or 3DP files will show that new directory.

Don't know if it has been reported yet, if not i'll add it to the list of things to change.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Austin, TX
Another side effect of this is not being able to view Menus.

I have a local instance and because I didn't download the full image directory, I could not view the list of menus, much less click through to them.

Adding the stories directory fixed this.

_________________
--
Rich Vázquez, CISA, CISSP
ImpactNews.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:02 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:41 pm
Posts: 41
Location: England
Hi all,

Thanks for this info, saved me too.

However, it's strange that this is still an issue as of Joomla Version 1.5.15. IMO something like this should have been rectified a long time ago.

Anyhoo... cheers!

:pop

_________________
Best regards
Lt. Columbo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 12:54 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:03 pm
Posts: 2
So, in the case of adding a video folder for AllVideos, where does the video folder go if not under Images


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:28 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:23 pm
Posts: 1
images/stories/videos

With s at the end of videos


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:42 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:03 pm
Posts: 2
;) Yep, that works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 5:19 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:39 am
Posts: 10
bobthebob01 wrote:
glad i found this thread. I had the same problem and could not figure it out.

I agree that it should be reported as a bug or "things to change" but like probably all of you, i simply did not read the "tool tip" when you mouse hover the "Path to image folder" as it clearly states:

Quote:
WARNING!::You can set new locations for the 'Path to Media Folder' and 'Path to Image Folder' folders. However, do not delete or change the existing images folder. The images/banners, images/M_images, images/smilies, and images/stories folders are used by the application. See the Help Topic for this page if you need assistance returning to the original directory structure.


that's what happen when you go too fast and assume something!!!

mea culpa.


It's work, thank a lot.

go to "Global Configuration"--->"System"--->"Path to Image Folder" clear and then apply or save .

_________________
Signature rules: Literal URLs only - viewtopic.php?f=8&t=65


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:12 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 3
If you have this problem, the first thing, you have to check the following directories exist:
images/banners
images/M_images
images/smilies
images/stories


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:28 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:18 pm
Posts: 8
I too had this problem (* JFolder::files: Path is not a folder). Short of reinstalling Joomla where is this folder suppose to exist and can it be created with an FTP program?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 11:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 34
I dont recall having this issue until I installed some editors then removed them. must not have removed everything? what a hassle.

joomla has quite a lot of little quirks like this that are puzzling as I am finding out.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:28 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 6:52 am
Posts: 91
Location: Sayreville, NJ
Tried all the recommendation above but still had the no folder problem.

_________________
HJB Productions - http://www.jallomybah.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:28 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:11 pm
Posts: 4
Installation may create the problem if an "image" directory already exist, or at least I came to the conclusion when the "stories" directory wasn't created.

Problem was fixed when I created the "stories" directory. Yee Haaa!!! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 6:52 am
Posts: 91
Location: Sayreville, NJ
;D I am one happy dude. I just transfered all the files to first image folder and that made it for me. Thanks to all of you good folks out there...

_________________
HJB Productions - http://www.jallomybah.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 2:55 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:08 am
Posts: 2
just t create folder named: SHHmenu in images/stories and the problem be solved


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 2:56 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:08 am
Posts: 2
butthe module can't working
i don't know ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 12:03 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:03 am
Posts: 119
None of these solutions worked for me...

I only see this error when I go into my current template in template manager.

The only thing I changed was renaming the name of the template..would this of caused it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:40 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:55 pm
Posts: 14
Heatherx wrote:
None of these solutions worked for me...

I only see this error when I go into my current template in template manager.

The only thing I changed was renaming the name of the template..would this of caused it?

Same as yours - 3 lines of error messages.

Also got 3 lines of following:
Code:
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in C:\xampp\htdocs\sitename\libraries\joomla\html\parameter\element\folderlist.php on line 47

My template was ja-purity. After some modifications (not heavy yet) I decided to give it a life of its own - just in case some future updates would ruin it. Before changing the name everything worked just fine. And so do now except for these error messages. Joomla! 1.5.22 is my version.

Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group