The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:05 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 4
I installed Joomla on the Remote Host (Godaddy) only. I created website. Cannot figure out how to make it show up at main site http://www.domain.com instead of http://www.domain.com/joomla. Don't know how to move it to main directory. This was not addressed in Absolute Beginners Guide.

Any help would be appreciated.

If I had created website on local computer I realize I could FTP it and it would show at http://www.domain.com ...but on remote host, not sure how to fix this issue.

P.S. I have been in MyphpAdmin, but have no clue how to use it.


Last edited by humvee on Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
marked resolved


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:21 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3226
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Bonjour,

If there is nothing else in the root of your site (www.domain.com) other than the default Go Daddy files and folders, then in the File Manager of the Hosting Control Center, select the joomla folder in the right pane and click the move button and choose the root of the site from the left pane as the destination. Once that is finished, edit the configuration.php tmp and log paths to reflect this new location (just remove the /joomla).

Cheers!
Lyle

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:27 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 4
You are awesome! Thanks...I will try it!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:29 pm 
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:04 pm
Posts: 520
Location: Berkshire, UK
Seem to be answering this one quite frequently. Install JoomlaPack from the extensions directory http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... 06/details create a backup (using it) of the site in /joomla
Then load the backup file to the new area along with kickstart.php (see extension) and call it.

Remember to delete kickstart.php after the restore.

_________________
Hugh
http://www.webappz.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:34 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks so much for your reply. I did back up to my hard [drive] with Filezilla, but this sounds much better.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 6:39 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3226
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
hdouglas wrote:
Seem to be answering this one quite frequently. Install JoomlaPack from the extensions directory http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... 06/details create a backup (using it) of the site in /joomla
Then load the backup file to the new area along with kickstart.php (see extension) and call it.

Remember to delete kickstart.php after the restore.


Actually, this is unnecessary on a Go Daddy Linux account just to move it up one level. 3 clicks, edit the config and it's done! :)

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:48 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 4
:D I just got my website up and running due to the excellent advice I recieved from: 2ninerniner2 !!!

Thanks for all your great help!!! Your advice was very easy to understand. Thanks for taking the time to help me with my Godaddy questions.

Your advice was correct and totally awesome!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 7:28 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Arizona
These are all great solutions. If you only need to create a redirect you may also find the Sites Redirect Manager helpful. You can redirect your site from http://www.domain.com to http://www.domain.com/joomla. Make sure to select the Content Redirect Option of "No Redirect" in order to avoid a circular redirect loop. Detailed instructions can be found in this help article: http://help.godaddy.com/article/5120

_________________
Official GoDaddy.com Support Representative
www.godaddy.com/community/community.aspx?tab=support www.GoDaddy.com/Community - Support Info


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
[Mod Note: Split a number of posts from this thread that had moved off the original posters topic. viewtopic.php?f=431&t=494165&start=0]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:47 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 3:36 pm
Posts: 2
2ninerniner2 wrote:
Bonjour,

If there is nothing else in the root of your site (http://www.domain.com) other than the default Go Daddy files and folders, then in the File Manager of the Hosting Control Center, select the joomla folder in the right pane and click the move button and choose the root of the site from the left pane as the destination. Once that is finished, edit the configuration.php tmp and log paths to reflect this new location (just remove the /joomla).

Cheers!
Lyle


Hi all, total noob here.

I followed the directions listed above but it doesnt work for me. http://www.domain.com is still BLANK.

domain.com/joomla still works perfectly.

Im using Godaddy's file manager as described above and I changed the configuration file's "live" parameter to point to the just domain.

Any help would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:55 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:47 pm
Posts: 2
OK, after digging and talking to GoDaddy here's the story

To move the domain, simply configure it in the hosting control panel to point to the joomla directory. Easy.

Now, to map specific pages, old ones for example if you have a page support.html and you would like to map it to /index.php/support do the following:
1) Create a asp.net web.config file e.g. by creating a default web site in VS
2) Add the following httpRedirect to the system.webServer part:


<system.webServer>
...
<httpRedirect enabled="true" exactDestination="true"
httpResponseStatus="Permanent">
<add wildcard="*/index.html" destination="/joomla" />
<add wildcard="*/support.html" destination="/joomla/index.php/support" />
<add wildcard="*/contactus.html" destination="/joomla/index.php/contact" />
</httpRedirect>
</system.webServer>

3) copy the web.config file to the Joomla directory on your godaddy shared instance

Voila! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:03 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:47 pm
Posts: 2
You can see it in action on my web site http://www.hl7kit.com/
Try this page which originally was http://www.hl7kit.com/support.html and now redirects to http://www.hl7kit.com/joomla/index.php/support


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group