Splash Page index Problem

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
joeluvnyc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:21 pm

Splash Page index Problem

Postby joeluvnyc » Thu Jul 09, 2009 1:46 am

my server did allow me to have a index.html page on it. So i created one and added an enter button link that linked to my joomla index.php page and it worked perfectly!

but here is a problem!
Now when i hit the home button on my joomla site it goes back to the index.html splash page i created instead of the default joomla index.php file.

Any suggestions on how or where to edit the joomla code to only look for the index.php when you hit the home button and not just look for the first index.*** file on the server?

Joseph

User avatar
wlrdq
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby wlrdq » Thu Jul 09, 2009 1:59 am

I think the Home button just goes to http://www.YOURDOMAIN.com/

I would suggest updating your Apache settings and change the DirectoryIndex to have index.php before index.html:
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/mod/mod_dir.html

Let me know if this doesn't work for you for some reason.
Will Mavis - Joomla Developer
http://www.covertapps.com/jam <<< Joomla! on your Android, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch
If you think I can help you, PM me a link to your post and I will respond. Please don't hijack another user's thread.

joeluvnyc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby joeluvnyc » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:18 am

Thank you for the quick reply :-) the Home button does go to http://www.MYDOMAIN.com/

And my Apache DirectoryIndex settings are set to find index.html before the index.php and that's fine because i want the splash page displayed before entering my site when visitors visit for the first time.

but once in the site i want the Joomla Home button to only look for the index.php file and not just grab the fist index.*** file it finds on the server and send my visitors back to the index.html splash page.

Do you understand what i mean :-)

Joseph

User avatar
wlrdq
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby wlrdq » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:39 am

I understand.

If you log into the backend and go to Menus -> Main Menu, you will see your Home menu item. You can edit it. It's type is set to Front Page Blog Layout. The link says "index.php?option=com_content&view=frontpage", but I think Joomla has some code that realizes that this link is the same as "/".

Just to test, I created a new menu, selected the type Alias, called it Home2, and made the link "index.php", and it seems to be doing what I think you are looking for. You may run into other issues doing this, but you can fight with them when you run into them.

Let me know if this works for you.
Will Mavis - Joomla Developer
http://www.covertapps.com/jam <<< Joomla! on your Android, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch
If you think I can help you, PM me a link to your post and I will respond. Please don't hijack another user's thread.

joeluvnyc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby joeluvnyc » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:12 am

thanks again :-)

Really! how were you able to edit the index.php?option=com_content&view=frontpage link?

i did try this originally but for some reason joomla does not allow me to edit this link index.php?option=com_content&view=frontpage how were you able to edit it?

User avatar
wlrdq
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby wlrdq » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:49 am

You need to change the type of menu item. I used an Alias which allows you to type into the link text box.
Will Mavis - Joomla Developer
http://www.covertapps.com/jam <<< Joomla! on your Android, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch
If you think I can help you, PM me a link to your post and I will respond. Please don't hijack another user's thread.

joeluvnyc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby joeluvnyc » Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:34 am

wow! unfortunately i am not getting the same results as you!

I created a new menu call menu2 changed the type to alias, in the parameters( Basic) section i choose Home as my [Menu Item]

but when i click the apply button Joomla creates this link index.php?Itemid=1 which i am not able to edit.

index.php?Itemid=1 also links back to the index.html page and not the index.php page

Changing Menu2 type to an external link works great! i can edit the link section to say index.php and it go straight to index.php

but i cannot do anything with the Home button without getting errors if i change its type to an external link.
Last edited by joeluvnyc on Thu Jul 09, 2009 5:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

joeluvnyc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby joeluvnyc » Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:43 am

/

User avatar
wlrdq
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby wlrdq » Thu Jul 09, 2009 5:14 pm

My bad. I meant External Link and not Alias.

I had similar issues with the Home button:
  • I could not unpublish it because it's the Default menu item.
  • Switching it to an External Link with index.php caused an error from the front end.

How's THIS for a weird solution?
  • Create a new menu called Unused Menu or Hidden Menu or something.
  • Edit your Home menu item and move it to your Unused/Hidden Menu.
  • Create a new menu item in Main Menu, call it Home, make it an External Link, and point it at index.php.

I just did it on my test site and it seems to work. Let me know.
Will Mavis - Joomla Developer
http://www.covertapps.com/jam <<< Joomla! on your Android, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch
If you think I can help you, PM me a link to your post and I will respond. Please don't hijack another user's thread.

joeluvnyc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby joeluvnyc » Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:43 pm

your are brilliant! thank you so much for you help! i was pretty much lost without you. :-)

coxby50
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:44 am

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby coxby50 » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:16 pm

This works fine for menu items but Breadcrumbs > Home still wants to go to index.html and goes back to the splash page. Have you found a way around this? www.thepictureframers.co.uk

User avatar
wlrdq
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby wlrdq » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:32 pm

You could change the Breadcrumbs to not show the Home link. This is a parameter in the module.

You could also modify the code. I think you would change it here:
.../modules/mod_breadcrumbs/helper.php

Code: Select all

if ($params->get('showHome', 1))
{
   $item = new stdClass();
   $item->name = $params->get('homeText', JText::_('Home'));
   $item->link = JURI::base();
   array_unshift($items, $item);
}


I haven't tested it myself, but it looks like this is where it adds the Home link.
Will Mavis - Joomla Developer
http://www.covertapps.com/jam <<< Joomla! on your Android, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch
If you think I can help you, PM me a link to your post and I will respond. Please don't hijack another user's thread.

joeluvnyc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby joeluvnyc » Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:11 pm

thank you again... i solved this problem already by choosing your first option :-)

Joseph

068234532
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby 068234532 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:32 pm

Hy there wlrdq again

I would be VERY grateful if you could help me with this problem (I know you can :-) )

1. I have a BLANK joomla template
2. I have a FINISHED MADE Flash Splash Intro (the .swf size is 2mb)

The question is : HOW to insert the flash splash intro into the BLANK template ??

Please help )))

Hope to hear from you soon!

Cheers
Alex

068234532
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby 068234532 » Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:57 am

Hy there wlrdq

I figgured it out how to insert the flash intro ... now I have another problem ((

Everything is ok the flash intro is showing in index.html then redirecting to index.php ... BUT ...

NORMALLY on all sites the flash intro is showed in the CENTER of the page .... mine is showed in the TOP - LEFT corner of the page (((((( please can you help ?

here is the code :

Code: Select all

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=koi8-r" />
<title>intro</title>
<script language="javascript">AC_FL_RunContent = 0;</script>
<script src="AC_RunActiveContent.js" language="javascript"></script>
</head>
<body bgcolor="#000000">
<!--url's used in the movie-->
<!--text used in the movie-->
<!--
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
100%
-->
<!-- saved from url=(0013)about:internet -->
<script language="javascript">
   if (AC_FL_RunContent == 0) {
      alert("This page requires AC_RunActiveContent.js.");
   } else {
      AC_FL_RunContent(
         'codebase', 'http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0',
         'width', '550',
         'height', '320',
         'src', 'intro',
         'quality', 'best',
         'pluginspage', 'http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer',
         'align', 'middle',
         'play', 'true',
         'loop', 'true',
         'scale', 'showall',
         'wmode', 'window',
         'devicefont', 'false',
         'id', 'intro',
         'bgcolor', '#000000',
         'name', 'intro',
         'menu', 'true',
         'allowFullScreen', 'false',
         'allowScriptAccess','sameDomain',
         'movie', 'intro',
         'salign', ''
         ); //end AC code
   }
</script>
<noscript>
   <object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" width="550" height="320" id="intro" align="middle">
   <param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
   <param name="allowFullScreen" value="false" />
   <param name="movie" value="intro.swf" /><param name="quality" value="best" /><param name="bgcolor" value="#000000" />   <embed src="intro.swf" quality="best" bgcolor="#000000" width="550" height="320" name="intro" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" allowFullScreen="false" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
   </object>
</noscript>
</body>
</html>

User avatar
wlrdq
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby wlrdq » Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:18 am

Alex,

Do you have a link to a site that does what you would like? If so, just view the source and you should be able to see how they do it.

If you can't figure it out, respond here and I will help.
Will Mavis - Joomla Developer
http://www.covertapps.com/jam <<< Joomla! on your Android, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch
If you think I can help you, PM me a link to your post and I will respond. Please don't hijack another user's thread.

068234532
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby 068234532 » Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:58 am

Hi wlrdq

I figured it out hot to HORIZONTALY center it .... but how I do it VERTICALY ? )))

I don't want to put it on the site if it's not working 100% sorry (((

here is the code :

Code: Select all

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=koi8-r" />
<title>intro</title>
<script language="javascript">AC_FL_RunContent = 0;</script>
<script src="AC_RunActiveContent.js" language="javascript"></script>
</head>

<body bgcolor="#000000">

   <div align="center">
      

   <object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" width="550" height="330" id="intro" align="middle">
   <param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" />
   <param name="allowFullScreen" value="false" />
   <param name="movie" value="intro.swf" /><param name="quality" value="best" /><param name="bgcolor" value="#000000" />   <embed src="intro.swf" quality="best" bgcolor="#000000" width="550" height="330" name="intro" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" allowFullScreen="false" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
   </object>
   
   </div>   

</body>
</html>

User avatar
wlrdq
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby wlrdq » Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:52 pm

Did you get that from another site? If so, what were they doing to make it vertically centered?

This is more of an HTML question than a Joomla! question. I would just search Google for "center vertical flash". It looks like there are a few solutions out there. Here's the first I saw:
http://www.kirupa.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-259358.html
Will Mavis - Joomla Developer
http://www.covertapps.com/jam <<< Joomla! on your Android, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch
If you think I can help you, PM me a link to your post and I will respond. Please don't hijack another user's thread.

068234532
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby 068234532 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:49 am

Hi wlrdq

Sorry I've resolved it yesterday ))) Eerything is ok now )))
Thank you for the help )))

cheers
Alex

User avatar
wlrdq
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:48 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby wlrdq » Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:47 pm

Alex,

Sounds good. If you have a solution that you can post back here, that may help others in the future.

Thanks,
Will
Will Mavis - Joomla Developer
http://www.covertapps.com/jam <<< Joomla! on your Android, iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch
If you think I can help you, PM me a link to your post and I will respond. Please don't hijack another user's thread.

068234532
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby 068234532 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:09 pm

Ok - HOW did I insert the Flash intro on my site

1. Have the .swf file and .html file
2. Create a index.html file in the site root where is the site's index.php file
3. COPY the content from .html file to index.html file
4. Go to Joomla back-end and CREATE a new MENU in menu manager
5. COPY your HOME button (or whatever is the DEFAULT PAGE on site) to the NEW menu that you created in step 4 and MAKE IT BE THE DEFAULT PAGE OF THE SITE not the old one
6. Enjoy the Flah Intro

imageus
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:20 am

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby imageus » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:14 pm

068234532 wrote:Ok - HOW did I insert the Flash intro on my site

1. Have the .swf file and .html file
2. Create a index.html file in the site root where is the site's index.php file
3. COPY the content from .html file to index.html file
4. Go to Joomla back-end and CREATE a new MENU in menu manager
5. COPY your HOME button (or whatever is the DEFAULT PAGE on site) to the NEW menu that you created in step 4 and MAKE IT BE THE DEFAULT PAGE OF THE SITE not the old one
6. Enjoy the Flah Intro


Hi, Could you please elaborate on item #4? What would be the menu type? I can only create an external link to link it to index.html. But that gives me an error. If I make the external linked menu item to default, then index.php can't be found.

068234532
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:34 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby 068234532 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:56 pm

I've explained everything in the picture - take a look

http://www.image123.net/x3fi690xmpuupic.html

adamlisit
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:58 pm

Re: Splash Page index Problem

Postby adamlisit » Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:38 am

Good to see the information joomla shows on the web page .


Return to “Administration 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: psbot [Picsearch] and 10 guests