Need to enable the admin submenu module

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
dmittleman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:12 pm

Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby dmittleman » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:41 pm

When installing the "advanced administrator menu" 3rd party component, I made the mistake of disabling the administrator submenu module. Dumb mistake; I want to turn it back on.

The problem is, I need to access the aministrator tab in the module manager to get at this - and that tab is accessed via the submenu - which now does not appear as I turned the submenu module off.

So, how do I turn the submenu module back on when I can't access the module via the module manager?

Any help is much appreciated. [1.5.11 site]

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby abernyte » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:00 am

Hi,

If you open your database in phpMyAdmin and then open jos_modules, about row 13 or so you will see Admin sub menu.
Change published to 1. It should be showing 0 if you have turned it off.
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776

pearllysun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby pearllysun » Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:22 pm

hi ! kindly explain in detail how to enable the disabled sub-menu in admin panel ......i just tried to see how tht work's but got caught ...now nowhere im getting my submenu in my admin ....

i tried to find as u have told but i couldnt find item"sub-menu" in php my admin ... :( :(

kind regards
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby abernyte » Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:48 am

Hi,

If you have only turned it off, as you said, and not deleted it, we should be able to turn it back on in phpMyadmin.

Open phpMyAdmin
open your database
Click on jos_modules in the list down the left side of the page
It will open the list of tables and among them is Admin Sub Menu

Make sure it is set to 1 (published) Change it to 1 if it is not.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776

pearllysun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby pearllysun » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:18 pm

abernyte wrote:Hi,

If you have only turned it off, as you said, and not deleted it, we should be able to turn it back on in phpMyadmin.

Open phpMyAdmin
open your database
Click on jos_modules in the list down the left side of the page
It will open the list of tables and among them is Admin Sub Menu

Make sure it is set to 1 (published) Change it to 1 if it is not.


great ! thanks ....it worked ......got my sub menu back ....well one more q's ....how does one get it back had he deleted tht ?? ...

kind regards

pearllysun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby pearllysun » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:28 pm

& one more q's : it there any way by which a super admin may restrict or remove a few admin privileges such as installing & disabling / deleting ...so that these may be reserved only for super admin ..... or any way renaming the "Manager" as "admin" ??

kind regards

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby abernyte » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:50 pm

Sounds like you need to use the access level of "Administrator".

This explains the levels: http://docs.joomla.org/User_Group_Acces ... mple_terms
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776

pearllysun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby pearllysun » Fri Oct 02, 2009 3:24 pm

abernyte wrote:Sounds like you need to use the access level of "Administrator".

This explains the levels: http://docs.joomla.org/User_Group_Acces ... mple_terms


thanks .....but i wish to restrict administrator to manager level but retain the title admin .....

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby abernyte » Fri Oct 02, 2009 5:17 pm

For that I suspect you will have to await Joomla1.6 which will have a more "granular" access list.
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776

pearllysun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby pearllysun » Fri Oct 02, 2009 5:56 pm

abernyte wrote:For that I suspect you will have to await Joomla1.6 which will have a more "granular" access list.



well ..... will wait for the same .... :) :) ...btw ...many thank's for ur timely & real support .....i actually thought to reinstall Joomla replacing too many articles to fix ta issue ..... now i feel really happy to resume my admin function's without disturbing any ....

kind regards

pearllysun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby pearllysun » Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:03 pm

abernyte wrote:Hi,

If you have only turned it off, as you said, and not deleted it, we should be able to turn it back on in phpMyadmin.

Open phpMyAdmin
open your database
Click on jos_modules in the list down the left side of the page
It will open the list of tables and among them is Admin Sub Menu

Make sure it is set to 1 (published) Change it to 1 if it is not.


sorry ! i haven't got reply to one of my q's ..... had i deleted it instead of disabling then is there any way that i may reinstall the same ??

kind regards

User avatar
abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby abernyte » Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:43 am

Yes, but with much greater risk of damage.

You could over write the administration folder with one from a new download of Joomla. All sorts of problems could arise after that.

You could also recreate that table in the database if you had the correct information.

Hope you won't have to!
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776

pearllysun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Need to enable the admin submenu module

Postby pearllysun » Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:03 am

abernyte wrote:Yes, but with much greater risk of damage.

You could over write the administration folder with one from a new download of Joomla. All sorts of problems could arise after that.

You could also recreate that table in the database if you had the correct information.

Hope you won't have to!


well thanks......yep....then i shld be much careful while removing any .....

kind regards


Return to “Administration 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests