The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:15 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:29 pm
Posts: 5
Version 1.5.14
Ok, i have sort of figured this one out for myself, but it's a work around and it doesn't really help with my clients.

The JCE editor is stripping code in a way that i am failing to understand. If i set the editor to MCE i can get so that a use can add code to their blog post... such as [youtube] video object like this.

Code:
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.[youtube].com/v/Wvo-g_JvURI&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.[youtube].com/v/Wvo-g_JvURI&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>


The JCE editor will strip it to this... and no movie will show up in the blog post.

Code:
<param name="movie" value="http://www.[youtube].com/v/Wvo-g_JvURI&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param>


I have reached a point of understanding with the updated PARAMETERS in the media manager.. and how to control which users can install code. I can set these parameters so if the [youtube] object code is added... it is not effected. switch back to JCE... and arbitrary (as far as i can figure) code rewriting.



please note: the edit your code in html (no editor) is fine for me... but it is not really an option for people i have set up a Joomla site.

Any experience you can share or documentation about JCE code stripping, how it works and how to stop it will be appreciated. it is causing me some confusion.

also.... does anyone know a good open source code wysiwyg editor that plays ball a little better on these matters. i used to really like JCE but this coupled with the fact mediamanager was spirited away in the middle of the night has worn me a little thin.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:34 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:34 pm
Posts: 20
Hi I am having the same issue, Hove found the JoomlaWorks All Video plug in to work, but only in item view, not section or category view http://www.joomlaworks.gr/content/view/16/42/

_________________
My Best regards, GoodTimesJeff http://www.goodtimessantacruz.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 12:42 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:29 pm
Posts: 5
Many thanks for your help. i will Joomla works a look

Hi there. this discussion migrated to this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=474&t=441622&p=1856717#p1856717

unfortunately this is a known issue with joomla at the moment.

It is very frustrating i know! but it is a known bug that is driving people crazy.

as the moment i have set up another administrator account that is 'NO-Editor'
and put the code in by hand. Google-code have some good documentation about it that i always refer to.

http://code.google.com/p/swfobject/wiki/documentation

however all this is kind of academic when i want to set up a site where a customer can just drop some copy/pasta [youtube] code in.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:50 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:35 pm
Posts: 119
Hey there,

I got kind of similar problem, i am using jce 1.57 component and 1.5.6 plugin.
I cannot insert specific code such as ../ to find the right path for my images or just / as when i update it will just strip out that bit of code.

Please does somebody know whats going on??

Thanks for any help.

Regards,

Jerome


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:29 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 9
We had the same problem and the only solution we found was to replace in the plugins folder the tinymce editor folder plus the xml file with an earlier version of tinymce. The one that came out with earlier versions of Joomla say around 1.5
Earlier versions of Joomla can still be downloaded from the Joomla site.

Keep the files that you are replacing though in case you need to put them back.

Remmebr backup everything before doing this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:48 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:35 pm
Posts: 119
Thanks craigcjc,

Ill check it out in a mom, the only solution that works for me is to have the full path to the images.

Thanks again for your reply.

Regards

Jerome


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:26 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
I am having no luck with this..

I have turned off MCE and JCE and its still stripping out the HTML


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:58 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:35 pm
Posts: 119
Have you try typing the whole url : http://website/images/etc...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Jerome123 wrote:
Have you try typing the whole url : http://website/images/etc...


It doesn't strip URL..

It strips anything with an <html> tag.. or an <object> tag..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:32 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 9
Try this, open tiny mc editor preferences and click on code cleanup on save always, then go to article manager and make sure that everything except administrator is set to blacklist.

You may still have problems with object tags but it should retain the html.

I used to turn off the editor in the configuration and put the code in save then close the window and turn the editor back on and it retained the html and tags.

Ill do some more digging on the editor problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:36 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:27 pm
Posts: 379
Location: New York
Quote:
I used to turn off the editor in the configuration and put the code in save then close the window and turn the editor back on and it retained the html and tags.


Yeah, I don't like doing it that way because it can be dangerous -- everyone editing the site has to remember that the article can't be opened until you switch editors.

_________________
http://www.iTeachMe.com
Online Learning System for Joomla!(R)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:47 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 9
Just found this.


WYSIWYG editor removes HTML code

Written by Peter Martin Friday, 13 February 2009

With the "Edit HTML Source" option of your WYSIWYG editor you can put HTML code in your article. However the HTML code will be stripped upon saving. Unless ...

Even if you use the no WYSIWYG ( "Editor - No Editor") which can be set in Global Configuration and/or the parameters of your user account in the User Manager.

To prevent Joomla from stripping HTML from your content (Note: handle with care):

1. Goto the Article Manager.
2. Select "Parameters" (the button on the top right).
3. Under Filtering options, choose:
Filter groups: select the groups that are allowed to use HTML code, e.g. SuperAdministrator
Filter type: Whitelist

Now you can use HTML in your articles (with "Edit HTML Source" option).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:00 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:27 pm
Posts: 379
Location: New York
Yeah, but that's what JCE is for -- to have more granular control over the html than you do with Joomla's standard editors.

_________________
http://www.iTeachMe.com
Online Learning System for Joomla!(R)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:07 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:47 pm
Posts: 9
Do you recommend using JCE as I have not installed it yet?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:38 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:27 pm
Posts: 379
Location: New York
Absolutely, I recommend it! If you have multiple users with WYSIWYG access it's a must-have so you can control what each user or usergroup can use in their editor.

_________________
http://www.iTeachMe.com
Online Learning System for Joomla!(R)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:46 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Joomla is still stripping the code..

whether its done in the default wyswyg editor, tinymce or jce..

all of them have the html stripped out.

damn frustrating.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:57 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 12:38 pm
Posts: 5
Did u figure this out i got a swf video code i can't get to work -
<embed src="http://www.wfn.tv/includes/swf/player-embed.swf" width="480" height="290" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" bgcolor="#000" flashvars="file=flash/wfn/wfnnews/.uid.ManBAADcqnljE_7g6Ae74878332441d028698a2f6f9fdb90ac.kurita_record_bass&streamer=rtmp://cp49576.edgefcs.net/ondemand/&type=rtmp&autostart=true&backcolor=faa91c" />
- turns it to -
<img title="&quot;flashvars&quot;:&quot;file%3Dflash%2Fwfn%2Fwfnnews%2F.uid.ManBAADcqnljE_7g6Ae74878332441d028698a2f6f9fdb90ac.kurita_record_bass%26streamer%3Drtmp%3A%2F%2Fcp49576.edgefcs.net%2Fondemand%2F%26type%3Drtmp%26autostart%3Dtrue%26backcolor%3Dfaa91c&quot;,&quot;src&quot;:&quot;http://www.wfn.tv/includes/swf/player-embed.swf&quot;,&quot;allowfullscreen&quot;:&quot;true&quot;" style="background-color: #000000;" src="plugins/editors/jce/tiny_mce/plugins/media/img/trans.gif" height="290" width="480" />
- coming from - http://www.wfn.tv/video/video.php?video=401984
- i got it on my site here -
http://www.fishingfanaticsonline.com/in ... &Itemid=58

thanks for any help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:56 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
I am still having to update all html code via phpadmin.. none of it works in Joomla.. and I can't get an answer here or at Joomlacontenteditor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:18 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:27 pm
Posts: 379
Location: New York
Quote:
I am still having to update all html code via phpadmin.. none of it works in Joomla.. and I can't get an answer here or at Joomlacontenteditor.com


Which tags do you need that are getting stripped?

_________________
http://www.iTeachMe.com
Online Learning System for Joomla!(R)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:41 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
I find that any script, object, embed code gets stripped.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:38 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:27 pm
Posts: 379
Location: New York
For embedding a swf object, use AVReloaded or another video player plugin.

You cannot enter php or javascript code into an article. You would need to add this type of code via a plugin.

_________________
http://www.iTeachMe.com
Online Learning System for Joomla!(R)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:54 pm
Posts: 13
I am having this issue as well with the <embed> tag from a website not supported by allvideos.
Code:
<embed src="http://video.dearbornschools.org/flvplayer.swf" width="320" height="256" bgcolor="FFFFFF" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="false" wmode="transparent" flashvars="file=http://video.dearbornschools.org/uploads/fcTzx0vhAN2eTpWpElN2.flv&image=http://video.dearbornschools.org/uploads/player_thumbs/fcTzx0vhAN2eTpWpElN2.jpg&backgcolor=FFFFFF&stretching=fill&skin=http://video.dearbornschools.org/skins/Snel.swf&autostart=true&fullscreen=&logo=http://video.dearbornschools.org/images/playerlogos/logo-player.png&icons=false&link=http://video.dearbornschools.org/videos/1011/attack-the-math-5&linktarget=_self&displayclick=link"></embed>


Joomla or JCE strips it down to an img tag:
Code:
<img title="&quot;flashvars&quot;:&quot;file%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fvideo.dearbornschools.org%2Fuploads%2FfcTzx0vhAN2eTpWpElN2.flv%26image%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fvideo.dearbornschools.org%2Fuploads%2Fplayer_thumbs%2FfcTzx0vhAN2eTpWpElN2.jpg%26backgcolor%3DFFFFFF%26stretching%3Dfill%26skin%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fvideo.dearbornschools.org%2Fskins%2FSnel.swf%26autostart%3Dtrue%26fullscreen%3D%26logo%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fvideo.dearbornschools.org%2Fimages%2Fplayerlogos%2Flogo-player.png%26icons%3Dfalse%26link%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fvideo.dearbornschools.org%2Fvideos%2F1011%2Fattack-the-math-5%26linktarget%3D_self%26displayclick%3Dlink&quot;,&quot;src&quot;:&quot;http://video.dearbornschools.org/flvplayer.swf&quot;,&quot;wmode&quot;:&quot;transparent&quot;,&quot;allowfullscreen&quot;:&quot;false&quot;" src="plugins/editors/jce/tiny_mce/plugins/media/img/trans.gif" height="256" width="320" />


Any suggestions? This is frustrating because it worked up until I updated the JCE editor to 1.5.7 & 1.5.6.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:00 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Ken, really, its a joke.

As far as I can tell, the Joomla core team is too focused on J!1.6 to care about Joomla J!1.5 anymore.

Same with the JCE..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:55 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:54 pm
Posts: 13
Actually I just found the answer. The embed code needs to include the "type" parameter. Then it works just fine.

Not ideal, but it is now working.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 1:29 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
kennibc wrote:
Actually I just found the answer. The embed code needs to include the "type" parameter. Then it works just fine.

Not ideal, but it is now working.


Can you explain and detail please ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 2:47 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:54 pm
Posts: 13
pmcnamara wrote:
Can you explain and detail please ?


In the embed code above, you have to add this parameter to the code prior to saving the document:
Code:
type="application/x-shockwave-flash"


Example Original:
Code:
<embed src="http://video.dearbornschools.org/flvplayer.swf" width="320" height="256" bgcolor="FFFFFF" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="false" wmode="transparent" flashvars="file=http://video.dearbornschools.org/uploads/fcTzx0vhAN2eTpWpElN2.flv&image=http://video.dearbornschools.org/uploads/player_thumbs/fcTzx0vhAN2eTpWpElN2.jpg&backgcolor=FFFFFF&stretching=fill&skin=http://video.dearbornschools.org/skins/Snel.swf&autostart=true&fullscreen=&logo=http://video.dearbornschools.org/images/playerlogos/logo-player.png&icons=false&link=http://video.dearbornschools.org/videos/1011/attack-the-math-5&linktarget=_self&displayclick=link"></embed>


Example FIXED****
Code:
<embed src="http://video.dearbornschools.org/flvplayer.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="320" height="256" bgcolor="FFFFFF" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="false" wmode="transparent" flashvars="file=http://video.dearbornschools.org/uploads/fcTzx0vhAN2eTpWpElN2.flv&image=http://video.dearbornschools.org/uploads/player_thumbs/fcTzx0vhAN2eTpWpElN2.jpg&backgcolor=FFFFFF&stretching=fill&skin=http://video.dearbornschools.org/skins/Snel.swf&autostart=true&fullscreen=&logo=http://video.dearbornschools.org/images/playerlogos/logo-player.png&icons=false&link=http://video.dearbornschools.org/videos/1011/attack-the-math-5&linktarget=_self&displayclick=link"></embed>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 2:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:54 pm
Posts: 13
Notice the FIXED*** contains the 'type' parameter right after the 'src' parameter.
We are using PHPMotion to store and create a video sharing website. I am modifying the template that generates the EMBED code to now include the type parameter so that I do not have to add it by hand everytime I want to embed a video into our Joomla website.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:24 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Ken, THANK YOU !! Leave it to a fellow Michigander to have the right answer !!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:35 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
worked for the object code, but not the java code..

This is what I inputed..
Code:
<script type='text/javascript' src='swfobject.js'></script>
 
<div id='mediaspace'>This text will be replaced</div>
 
<script type='text/javascript'>
  var so = new SWFObject('player.swf','mpl','470','290','9');
  so.addParam('allowfullscreen','true');
  so.addParam('allowscriptaccess','always');
  so.addParam('wmode','opaque');
  so.addVariable('file','bunny.flv');
  so.addVariable('screencolor','660066');
  so.addVariable('streamer','rtmp://edge01.fms.dutchview.nl/botr');
  so.write('mediaspace');
</script>


But once I clicked save, this is what was left...
Code:
<div id="mediaspace">This text will be replaced</div>
var so = new SWFObject('player.swf','mpl','470','290','9');     so.addParam('allowfullscreen','true');     so.addParam('allowscriptaccess','always');     so.addParam('wmode','opaque');     so.addVariable('file','bunny.flv');     so.addVariable('screencolor','660066');     so.addVariable('streamer','rtmp://edge01.fms.dutchview.nl/botr');     so.write('mediaspace');​​​


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:46 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:46 pm
Posts: 124
I think this is what is causing my problem. We have a PayPal donate button in one article on our site. If someone edits that article through the front end, something happens and the code changes from this, which works:

Code:
<form action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_s-xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="hosted_button_id" value="...">
<input type="image" src="https://www.paypal.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_donateCC_LG.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!">
<img alt="" border="0" src="https://www.paypal.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1">
</form>


to this, which doesn't work:
Code:
<form method="post">
<input name="cmd" value="_s-xclick" type="hidden" />
<input name="hosted_button_id" value="..." type="hidden" />
<input src="https://www.paypal.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_donateCC_LG.gif" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!" border="0" type="image" />
<img src="https://www.paypal.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif" border="0" height="1" width="1" />
</form>


I can't figure out how to keep this from happening. I've tried the ideas offered above. Using the filter thing didn't work. Note this ONLY happens when editing the article from the front end, not from the administrative end, even though both use the same editor (JCE). I also tried other editors. Same result. Edit the article through the front end and the code gets changed and the button doesn't work.

Can anyone help?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group