The Joomla! Forum ™

Forum rules

Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:32 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

I'm running Snow Leopard, OS X, which uses PHP 5.3.0. I installed the latest package, Joomla 1.5.15. When I go to Article Manager, I get error messages like this one:

Code:
Warning: strtotime() [function.strtotime]: It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected 'America/New_York' for 'EST/-5.0/no DST' instead in /Library/WebServer/Documents/joomlafive/libraries/joomla/utilities/date.php on line 56

Same likewise for User Manager, and a few other places. Wasn't this bug supposed to have been fixed as of 1.5.13??? What else should I do to fix this issue?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:16 pm 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

This is not a Joomla issue. This is a PHP change, not a Joomla change. PHP 5.3.0 needs the date.timezone ini entry setting properly in order to avoid the warning being sent out. Prior to PHP 5.3.0, the line existed in the PHP ini but was generally commented out. Let php know what your time zone is. You can edit your php.ini file and put in the following line:
Code:
date.timezone = "America/Anchorage"

You can find valid time zone strings at http://nl3.php.net/manual/en/timezones.php You should, of course, use the time zone you want, not necessarily "America/Anchorage". Depending on your setup you may need to restart your web services after making the change.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 1:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice