Setting up FTP

Need help installing Joomla! 1.5? For all Joomla! 1.5 installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Wildscribe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:25 pm
Location: slightly north of New York City

Setting up FTP

Postby Wildscribe » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:30 pm

I have just installed Joomla 1.5 on a CentOS Linux server and now I am configuring Joomla and I wonder if I need to set up a corresponding FTP account on the server's FTP program that matches the FTP server in Joomla?

Thank you!

- - - WiLd

ssmithcp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:04 pm
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Contact:

Re: Setting up FTP

Postby ssmithcp » Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:15 pm

Wild,

I'm not sure I understand your question. I don't think Joomla! needs an FTP server to function normally. You might want to set up a server to make it easier to upload files to your CentOS server. You can always use ssh to copy your files. I use this program called SSH Secure Shell Client that I use on my windows 7 installation. A download website is: http://www.brothersoft.com/downloads/ss ... 3.2.9.html . Does this answer your question?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30754
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Setting up FTP

Postby Webdongle » Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:33 pm

The Joomla ftp layer is only used when Joomla does not have Ownership of the files. Very rarely needed.

When it comes to editing file directly then I use Filezilla Client to make small edits. For major edits on files (like Template files) ... I Use HTML-kit.

I download the files for edit to my PC

I open up a file in HTML-kit

Edit it then use HTML-kit's internal ftp, drag/drop to the server.

I view the changes in my browser, I then click undo in HTML-kit and/or do more editing and viewing.

When I have finished, I save the file on my PC and then I have a copy of the edited Template file(s).

But unless you intend to edit a lot of files then your CP ftp will suffice.
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

Wildscribe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:25 pm
Location: slightly north of New York City

Re: Setting up FTP

Postby Wildscribe » Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:49 am

So it sounds like I don't really need to set up FTP in Joomla. I'll just use regular FTP.

Thanks folks!

Wild

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Setting up FTP

Postby humvee » Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:05 pm

Unless you experience issues uploading extensions or images to your site via the Backend Administrator you do not need to worry about the FTP layer, and then only on Linux based servers.

If you are on a Windows based server you do not need it at all.


Return to “Installation 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests