The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 3:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:50 pm
Posts: 12
Hi guys, I wonder if someone would be of some assistance...

I've just installed Edocs on my site so I can allow my visitors to view/read and download some books.

This joomla 1.5 plugin is seamingly pretty easy to setup, all you have to do is add the following code to an article using the Article Manager as below:

{edocs}path/folder/document.extension,width,height{/edocs}

You can check out the 'How to use it' page setup by the plugin developer for more details:
http://www.mediaeventi.it/en/projects/joomla/edocs


I've left the Default Root Folder as 'images/stories' (this is where my PDF document is on the webspace directory) and I've set the code as {edocs}alegaz.pdf,670,700,link{/edocs}
(I did not specify the directory here because its auto-appended by the extension)

and the file permission for the PDF document that I want to display on my site to 775 (for the moment).
and I tried turning off my security extensions momentarily to re-test, but this makes no difference...

However, when I try and the view the document using the extension on my website, the frame displays fine within the webpage, but inside the frame where its supposed to load the contents of the PDF document, instead it shows this message "Sorry, we are unable to retrieve the document for viewing or you dont have permission to view the document."

and lastly, I also turned on the Debug mode thats included with the extension, and this basically displays that correct webspace directory path to the PDF document...

Am I missing something really obvious here?
Your assistance would be much appreciated...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 8:35 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3226
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Howdy,

Just tried it now (had used it before, but then I switched the site to WP and used the same plugin there) and it worked just fine "out of the box" as per the same code and location that you used.

I did note, however, that the permission for the test PDF file I used was 604; not sure if that will make a difference, but perhaps, worth a try :)

Cheers!
Lyle

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:23 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:50 pm
Posts: 12
No it's not the permissions, I'm quite sure of that...

It might have something to do with the way I'm defining the file path in the code...I really dont know.

Anyone got any other ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:45 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 5657
Location: California
.
Post a link to the page.



.

_________________
██ AllMedia4Joomla Project
██ http://sourceforge.net/projects/allmedia4joomla/
██ AllMedia YöuTube Feed Gallery module released
██ Download: http://sourceforge.net/projects/allmedia4joomla/files/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:09 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:50 pm
Posts: 12
Right, I've got it to work...
I've been testing all along using an Arabic language PDF document...
I tried an english PDF, and works fine...

I didnt think that it would have made a difference, but it obviously does!

Is there anyway I can get E-docs to display arabic PDF documents?

tried a quick google search for some kind of info on this, but theres nothing at all....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:22 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Posts: 3226
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
@moejoe125 - that's a great tip to know as I have done a few sites for clients in Farsi :)

_________________
http://www.goodcheapfastwebsites.com - let me show you how to install WordPress!
http://www.2ninerniner2.com - eFront and TalentLMS implementation & support
@gcfwebsites
@2ninerniner2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:51 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:07 am
Posts: 2
kenmcd wrote:
.
Post a link to the page.



.

I have the same problem (i think)
Would you please explain more what do you mean by that?

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group