The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:08 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 22
I am building a website for domain thekansasfoodie.com. I also have the domain kansasfoodie.com and I realize that I need to remove the "the" and use the domain kansasfodie. I have spent some time building and am wondering if it is possible to switch the existing domain thekansasfoodie to the domain kansasfoodie without having to entirely start from scratch?

I don't need to change the db names so the current database can be used, however, it is likely that there are entries in there that might refer to the old domain.

Any ideas/help would be appreciated. I am putting all work on hold until I find out what direction I need to go to get this changed or make the decision to just start over.

Mike

_________________
http://www.kansasfoodie.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:03 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 311
mherrera wrote:
I have spent some time building and am wondering if it is possible to switch the existing domain thekansasfoodie to the domain kansasfoodie without having to entirely start from scratch?

Use a back-up extension (e.g. Akeeba Backup) to do the following (it's quite straight forward):

1. Back up the old domain name website (with Akeeba Backup).
2. Install Joomla on the new domain website (from Joomla.org).
3. Restore the old domain website onto the new domain website. (with Akeeba Backup).

This way you keep everything intact.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:33 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 22
[quote="cmsj
Use a back-up extension (e.g. Akeeba Backup) to do the following (it's quite straight forward):

1. Back up the old domain name website (with Akeeba Backup).
2. Install Joomla on the new domain website (from Joomla.org).
3. Restore the old domain website onto the new domain website. (with Akeeba Backup).

This way you keep everything intact.[/quote]

Thank you for the info. I use Akeeba on other sites but I thought that if I put up a new instance of Joomla and then restored the old backup that it would restore the site with the old domain name intact.

Can I do that and then just go into the Joomla global admin area and change the domain name in there and have it really be that easy? Wouldn't I have to go into the config files inside the Akeeba backup and make the domain name changes in there?

Mike

_________________
http://www.kansasfoodie.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:57 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 311
I have used Akeeba to install one website to another (both with different domain names). Akeeba allows you to input the new domain name etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:46 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:10 pm
Posts: 22
cmsj wrote:
I have used Akeeba to install one website to another (both with different domain names). Akeeba allows you to input the new domain name etc.


Ok, that's what I'll do. Thank you so much for the information and help!

Mike

_________________
http://www.kansasfoodie.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group