The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:44 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:38 pm
Posts: 2
After installing the Joomla-1.5RC3, I get he message ”No configuration file found and no installation code available. Exiting...” on my webpage (http://www.barneogungdomsarbeider.no). And it is not possible to go to the administrator page.
What have I done wrong?


Last edited by Lurgee on Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 10:55 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
Hi

It would seem that your server might not have matched the necessary requirements for Joomla! to run, could you perhaps post your server specifications.

Also were there any failures reported in the Pre-installation Step2 of the installation?

Are you running on localhost/remote host/shared hosting?

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:03 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:38 pm
Posts: 2
No trouble in pre-installation step 2. I’m using a local host.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:16 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
ok,

Well, try opening the configuration.php-dist file in the root directory of the installation and manually editing the fields - see the Manual Installation section within the Joomla! Installation Manual, and then save this as configuration.php.

But don't bother with the FTP settings as you are running on localhost.

Have the database tables been created should be 36 of them.

...one further thought are you running on Windows/Linux/Mac OS and have you manually installed the server or used a package such as WAMP, XAMPP, MAMP depending on system?

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:04 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:53 pm
Posts: 1
Hello Andy, It seems that you know alot about Joomla! I am trying to change my web site from one hosting to GoDaddy hosting and I am getting the same message that the other person was getting " " No configuration file found and no installation code available. Exiting..." I am wondering if you are for hire? as I would like to get this done but I don't have the time to read and learn all of this Joomla stuff.
Thanks for your time in advance,

Daniel


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:12 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:45 am
Posts: 1
Hello, I'm Amie from Indonesia.
I have same problem. I will tell step by step.

1. I installed Joomla 1.5.23 Full Package (download on July 02, 2011) in localhost. I'm using WAMP server version 2.0 (or higher, I forget). In directory wamp\www I've made a project with another CMS before.

2. When I try to open web installer, it doesn't appear. And I got a message :
No configuration file found and no installation code available. Exiting...”

3. As Manual Installation Guidebook says, I change configuration.php-dist into configuration.php, and fill database information, host information, password, and bla bla bla...in configuration.php.

4. When I want to import 'joomla.sql', I was surprised because there is no 'installation' directory and no 'joomla.sql' file. I'm stuck here.

5. I check for another Joomla 1.5 releases, but...it's same, no 'installation' directory too.

Anybody can help me, please ? ???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 4:41 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 4:38 pm
Posts: 14
I'm getting the same problem. I just started trying to install Joomla 1.6. I tried once through my domain service(domain.com) which installs the service supposedly automatically itself and got this message,


I also tried to upload the files manually, and as well am having problems with that, it said that the php version is too low or something like that. If the php version was too low, why would they offer to install the service automatically themselves???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:23 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:49 am
Posts: 56
I am getting the same error. I can't even get the installer to run. My site is a subdomain on a host where other subdomains (at least 1) has Joomla running on it. I've tried renaming configuration.php-dist but not actually manually configuring it. What a pain. I've installed Joomla a dozen times and when I bid on this project I didn't expect to spend a day trying to install Joomla. I deleted all the files now and will try a slightly newer version of Joomla.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 3:55 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:43 am
Posts: 2
Oh, my dear friends, I am facing the same problem as you guys. Up to now, I do not have solution.
Somebody has found the solution ? Thank.
With kind regards
Simon / Friday, 2011-08-12 a.m.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group