500 - DateTimeZone::__construct() [datetimezone.--construct]

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
smallpkgs
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

500 - DateTimeZone::__construct() [datetimezone.--construct]

Post by smallpkgs » Sun Sep 18, 2011 4:38 pm

1. We just re-launched the "does this make sense? " site in the same vhosts directory as the old site on our server. The dev site for this was on same server but in a generic html directory.

2. A minority of existing users are see this error:

Code: Select all

500 - DateTimeZone::__construct() [datetimezone.--construct]: Unknown or bad timezone (-5)
You may not be able to visit this page because of:
an out-of-date bookmark/favourite
a search engine that has an out-of-date listing for this site
a mistyped address
you have no access to this page
The requested resource was not found.
An error has occurred while processing your request.
Please try one of the following pages:
Home Page
If difficulties persist, please contact the System Administrator of this site and report the error below..
DateTimeZone::__construct() [datetimezone.--construct]: Unknown or bad timezone (-5)
3. LAMP, Joomla 1.7, installs include latest stable JomSocial, EasyBlog, RSComments (and Rockettheme Tachyon); http://www.doesthismakesense.com

4. JomSocial component is the home page

5. No such error appeared during dev

6. Google searches failed to show a clear answer. IOW, no posts about Joomla 1.7, JomSocial, or any of our tools, and this error. But I do see misc versions of this error, going back years, in more arcane development environments especially.