Login problem with Jomsocial, Kunena and SH404

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Plugje
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Login problem with Jomsocial, Kunena and SH404

Post by Plugje » Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:45 pm

Some users on my site has problems with login. They have to try many times before they can login. I think it is related with a redirection from non-www to www but I am not sure.

This is the case.
Joomla version: 1.5.25, Kunena version 1.7.1, Jomsocial version 2.2.4, SH404SEF version 2.4.3.1014. Module HelloMe from Jomsocial to login.

In SH404 i switched on the 301 redirect www/non-www. That's working fine. I can replicate the problem when I login in IE without using the www. It routes me back to the Jomsocial login page. I can't login at all, not with the HelloMe module, not on the Jomsocial page and also not in the Kunena login. Some of my users say they have to try many times before they finally can login in Kunena.
The strange thing is that when I select "remember me" before I login, everything works fine. For me it's always working in Chrome, even without the remember me option and also after I clean the cache in Chrome. In IE after first wrong try you have to clean the cache before you can login again (with the remember option).

I did a search on google and find one solution from a guy who changed the setcookie setting. He wrote that it is related to the 301 redirect and put a line somewere to let the cookie be valid on domain with or without www. I can't find this article anymore :(