Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Everything to do with Joomla! 2.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
FDigital01
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 7:31 am

Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby FDigital01 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:33 pm

I would like to set the horizontal menu at the bottom of the heading and have drop down sub-menus, but no matter which product I use, from the standard beeze 2.0 or 5 to any commercial product, I still have the problem, that I cannot see the drop down menu..... can anyone tell me how I can fix this problem....

http://strategywarehouse.dazl.com.au/

thanks

User avatar
dvharrison
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:10 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby dvharrison » Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:50 pm

Hi FDigital01

I can see your Branding link so there must be some light so something is working.

I have a similar problem and I cannot even get the sub-menu to come up.

I don't normally do piggy backs but I can't even get the sub-menu to display. Please do share, what steps you have taken, to even get this far??

Or could someone please point me/us in the right direction?

Thanks in advance :)

FDigital01
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 7:31 am

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby FDigital01 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 5:34 am

I set the css to allow more padding at the bottom on the header div

User avatar
dvharrison
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:10 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby dvharrison » Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:36 am

I have checked the code and the menu listing our directories is in the code, it just doesn't work.

I did look on the forum and from what I can gather there seems to have been a bug in the Beez20 template for the drop down navigation. Can anyone shed any light - is this still the case? :pop

realz
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:14 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby realz » Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:09 am

as far as I search for same type of question, they just suggest to change the template == , or use another menu extension, ari , maxi ck etc..

User avatar
dvharrison
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:10 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby dvharrison » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:01 pm

:'( I hope not!! It just seems weird that it doesn't work.

I tried some other module for drop-downs but not even they seemed to work.

In that case please please could anyone recommend a simple and effective drop down menu?? Thanks

FDigital01
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 7:31 am

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby FDigital01 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:04 am

try the Art Wijmo Menu (they modified it for me so that it drops down from the bottom of the header:

http://strategywarehouse.dazl.com.au

Please add the following CSS rules to
modules/mod_artwijmomenu/mod_artwijmomenu/stuff/themes/wijmo/jquery.wijmo.wijmenu.css
file:

.wijmo-wijmenu .wijmo-wijmenu-parent .wijmo-wijmenu-child {
width: 200px !important;
}

#header {
overflow: visible !important;
}

I hope this helps... I have been looking for ages to find a solution. This seems quite straight forward.

User avatar
dvharrison
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:10 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby dvharrison » Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:40 am

Thank you. I feel awful hijacking your thread. But then someone with the same problem can at least read this back and realise there is a straightforward option.

FDigital01
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 7:31 am

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby FDigital01 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:29 pm

that's ok, glad to help. i have found this to be a very frustrating problem for something that turned out to be so simple.

User avatar
nokorthom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby nokorthom » Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:17 am

I am also searching for a resolution to this problem as well. I don't seem to be able get the sub menu to work also. So I have been watching this thread.

heartmint
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:32 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby heartmint » Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:38 pm

I was having a similar problem with drop down menus not showing on my home page. I found the solution was to go to the menus module in my case it was main menu and under Show Sub-menu Items click yes and ta da - menus now showing!

tech11
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:00 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby tech11 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:16 pm

As far as I know, drop downs do not work with this template.

topebusinessuk
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby topebusinessuk » Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:36 pm

:)
I think I found the solution
please go to "module manager"
and search for "the site"
and in the basic option, change "end level" to "2" or higher...

texaswc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 8:43 am

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby texaswc » Mon Jul 02, 2012 8:55 am

I have version 2.5.6 and this issue exists (brand new install). No matter what setting I use, submenu's either never show or show 100% of the time .. if you mouse over the text "Show sub-menu items", you will see that if you check yes, submenu items ALWAYS show - "Expand the menu and make its submenu items always visible" .. Checking the box yes, does make them always show, every page, 100% of the time .. checking no means they never show .. setting the levels to 2 or higher or even "ALL" doesn't matter .. the checkboxes "yes" and "no" to show submenu items is all that does anything...

I've read so many many solutions, but every version I have seen a solution for was for version 1.#.# as far as I can find ..

I also got the same issue with setting the template to beez5 (saw that as a possible solution early in my search here and was a quick and easy try to see if it worked, though obviously not) .. with all these solutions given in so many postings, I haven't a clue what will work on my version and have no desire to try and use them all in an attempt to fix the issue .. not into trying a wide range of band-aid patches to try and find a resolution ..

humblechap
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 6:20 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby humblechap » Thu Aug 02, 2012 6:23 pm

Me too!

Fresh install of 2.5.6 and Menus or sub-menus just do not show on the site. Even tried 0777 permissions.

Right, I will junk the whole site and start again.

Paul007
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby Paul007 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:07 pm

First : You need to check if you need to check if you are publishing the menu module in a valid template position.

Second: Make sure the z-index is set to higer than any other header element.
Hope that sorts the problem out for you.
UI Developer and Specialist for Lottery results at http://www.lotto.net

MxJomm
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:25 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby MxJomm » Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:30 pm

I am using 3.0.2 with the Protostar template and the solution poste by topebusinessuk works just fine.

Thank you very much

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21266
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby pe7er » Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:40 pm

MxJomm wrote:I am using 3.0.2 with the Protostar template

Joomla 3.0.2 = outdated & you'd better update your software.

The latest version in the 3.x series is Joomla 3.1.5 and fixed a security issue:
http://www.joomla.org/announcements/rel ... eased.html
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Latest website: https://pronounce.eu/

skynet2806
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:24 am

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby skynet2806 » Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:34 am

hi there,
I am not sure how long have you been waiting for a solution but after searching a not finding anything i just fixed it i think by been lucky or mistake but what matters is that IT WORKED.

i am using joomla 2.5 and installed a template which used positions instead of the other way (right, up, left, etc)
i made a top menu which multi levels but as you can see everyone keep telling that you need to go to module manager > top menu but this is wrong, instead of selecting that module just select the module that says "Top" with nothing else.

it should look like this:
module manager:
Top position-1 Menu

then go to the basic settings of it and set the following options:

select menu: top
start level: 1
end level: all
show sub menu items: yes

and guala!!! there it is DROP DOWN working, at least it did for me.

regards,

alanfinn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:33 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby alanfinn » Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:45 pm

Bit of a latecomer to the thread, but I had a similar problem using 'HLI' responsive template.

Fixed the problem by going into Module Manager > [Main Menu] (the name of my Menu Module)
There is an option for 'Show Sub-menu Items'

It was set to No, I changed it to Yes and the dropdowns started working.

seikman
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 12:14 pm

Re: Drop Down menus not showing sub-menus

Postby seikman » Sun Jan 04, 2015 10:24 pm

alanfinn wrote:Bit of a latecomer to the thread, but I had a similar problem using 'HLI' responsive template.

Fixed the problem by going into Module Manager > [Main Menu] (the name of my Menu Module)
There is an option for 'Show Sub-menu Items'

It was set to No, I changed it to Yes and the dropdowns started working.


Thanks so much alanfinn. You've saved me some big headache! My drop downs are working perfectly!


Return to “Templates for Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests