The Joomla! Forum ™






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:32 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 36
Hi all,
I have recently started using screamingfrog SEO spider to crawl my site to help me find errors.
The spider is returning a large number of 403 forbidden access.
The pages in question load ok but when I examine my site with google site:www.aegeanescapes.com I notice that old meta descriptions are being used which makes me think that the errors are correct and google is not crawling the pages in question.
Can any one help by explaining how to remove this problem so that the pages can be crawled.
Many thanks

_________________
http://www.aegeanescapes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:50 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:49 pm
Posts: 3
I have the same problem - were you able to resolve this issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 36
Hi Desmotech,

Unfortunatly I have not found a solution at the moment :(

_________________
http://www.aegeanescapes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:49 pm
Posts: 3
With Screaming Fog I found the culprit on my site was having the 'Security Functions' activated in Sh404sef.
On = 403's - Off = no 403's but not all pages. Indexing did not seem to be affected either way but need to test that further.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:31 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 36
I had a reply from the developers, they said that the site is crawled too fast, below is their response and it worked fine for me.

In the premium version you can slow down the crawl rate under 'speed' in the configuration. In the free lite version, you can crawl the site and then right click on any URLs with a 403 response and press 're-spider'. The server will generally then allow you to crawl these pages (and return a 200 ok response) as you're not requesting too many at once, so you might have to re-spider them individually.

Hope this helps ;)

_________________
http://www.aegeanescapes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:32 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:49 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks,
Handy to know for testing other sites that I may not have admin access for. I can crawl this one successfully if speed set to 1 for URI with security enabled in Sh404sef.
Cheers,
Dave


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:47 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 36
Thats great, glad it was helpful for you :)

_________________
http://www.aegeanescapes.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:27 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 1
The speed setting of 1 didn't work for me, but I've got administrator access and I whitelisted my IP address in the security settings of sh404 and that worked.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:24 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:16 am
Posts: 31
Location: IN
i have never this kind of issue.

but up to my knowledge & i have seen the refrence site...
might be useful
Quote:
http://www.checkupdown.com/status/E403.html


thanks

_________________
http://www.esparkinfo.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:24 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:12 pm
Posts: 1
Since it affects the Screaming Frog results, does anyone know if this also affects Google-bot? I presume that Screaming Frog and Google-bot uses a similar technique when crawling a specific domain.

I will try to fetch as Google-bot to see if there is 4xx in Google Webmaster Tools.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:06 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:06 pm
Posts: 4
In your Google Webmaster Tools indicated HTTP 403 errors? It's in Webmaster Tools you should worry. In cases of websites made with CMS Wrdpress there is a pluging SEO that automatically solves this problem, but never seen in Joomla. Does anyone know if there pluging SEO to install in joomla? Mey name is Paulo Sebin, working with SEO in Brazil. I have attended interview about what is SEO (o que é SEO), on vimeo PT and have anything I would like to know about SEO for joomla if there is special pluging for this CMS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:02 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:46 pm
Posts: 5851
Location: the Bat Cave
Have you looked at the sh404SEF extension?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group