The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:04 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Ridgefield, Connecticut (NYC)
I've assigned a template to one specific menu item (an article) via the template manager. The menu manager also shows that a template is assigned to the particular item.

However, the page loads with the default template, not the assigned template.

I have turned SEF's on and off.
I have test with default beez20 template.
I have tried this fix : viewtopic.php?p=2663374

I am able to add a string "templatedirectory=var", but if user clicks through to other pages the new template is applied.

Suggestions anyone?

_________________
http://www.serr.biz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:13 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25851
Location: @Webdongle
serrbiz wrote:
.... but if user clicks through to other pages the new template is applied.
..

So the default Template shows on the menu item that has another Template assigned ?
and
The Template assigned to a menu item shows on all menu items except the menu item it is assigned to ?
Is that what you are saying ?

Is the assigned Template a Template that has been modified from a standard one ?

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:30 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Ridgefield, Connecticut (NYC)
If I add the variable "templatedirectory=var" to the dynamic url, then the specific template I want will be seen. If I then click through to other pages, the same template from the aforementioned string will be seen on all pages.

Note: This will stop if I turn off the template switcher plugin I have installed on the site. However, if I do that, then the the above mentioned varialbe string does NOT change the template.

Yes, I'm using non-default templates, but the problem occurs even with the default joomla templates.

Ugh!

_________________
http://www.serr.biz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25851
Location: @Webdongle
links would be useful

When I ask about the Templates I was not asking if they were custom I meant was one a renamed modified copy of the other.

Could the Template switcher be the cause ?

Did this happen after an update ?

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:53 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Ridgefield, Connecticut (NYC)
Yes, it's a modified template, but a separate clean install package. But that is not the cause. The default templates are not working either.

Here is a link.
dowebsitefast.com - default
http://www.doawebsitefast.com/index.php ... icle&id=38 This has an assigned template - narrower and no columns.

Should look like this.
http://www.doawebsitefast.com/index.php ... rectory=18

If you click the header the template stays the same as the var because of the template switcher. If I turn off template switcher, above templatedirectory=18 string does not work. Does not change template.

In short, the template assignment function is not working.

Here are my settings.
PHP Built On Linux cp09.buyhttp.com\
Database Version 5.0.95-community
Database Collation utf8_general_ci
PHP Version 5.2.17
Web Server Apache
WebServer to PHP Interface cgi
Joomla! Version Joomla! 2.5.2 Stable [ Ember ] 5-March-2012 14:00 GMT
Joomla! Platform Version Joomla Platform 11.4.0 Stable [ Brian Kernighan ] 03-Jan-2012 00:00 GMT
User Agent Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:11.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/11.0

_________________
http://www.serr.biz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 1:28 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25851
Location: @Webdongle
&templatedirectory=18 pics up a div class that has been altered
Attachment:
Capture 106.PNG
Attachment:
Capture 107.PNG


What extension uses the &templatedirectory=18 ? ( a link to the extension in JED would be useful)

It is not a Joomla bug, it's a misconfiguration of an extension that you are using. Perhaps the extension only works on the default Template ?

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 12:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 229
Location: Ridgefield, Connecticut (NYC)
Huh? No extension uses "&templatedirectory=18". That variable string is default joomla function. Add it to any url and it is supposed to switch the template based on the template ID, in this case, 18...in the mean time I will turn off all other extensions and see if it is an extension or a joomla issue...

_________________
http://www.serr.biz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 1:56 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25851
Location: @Webdongle
If you PM me a login I can take a quick look ???

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:00 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:40 pm
Posts: 1075
Location: Iowa
Did you end up getting this resolved?

If not, do you have sh404SEF enabled?

_________________
Online Joomla Training at: http://www.ostraining.com/online/

"God is most glorified in us, when we are most satisfied in Him" - http://www.desiringgod.org/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:46 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:41 pm
Posts: 1
Location: San Antonio Tx
Was this resolved? I am having the same issue and I am new to Joomla.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group