The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:08 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 8:39 am
Posts: 20
Im using the default search module for Joomla 2.5.

When I enter text into my search box and hit return, or the button, it always pulls the results up in place of the article on the page. Some of my pages have modules with pictures or slideshows in them above the area where an article would be thus making the search results show up further down the page. Im wondering if once a person hits the search button if the module could open the results on a clean page without any of the other modules that are present all over my site.

Hopefully I have explained my issue properly. Would appreciate any help and can supply more info if needed. Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:05 pm 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Posts: 16316
Location: Akershus, Norway
Make a menu item to the search component. Assign the modules not to show with this menu item.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:10 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 8:39 am
Posts: 20
Thanks for the quick response Per Yngve Berg. I did this however I only get the desired result if I am on the new /search page I created in menus. I made sure all the modules did not have this menu item selected. Perhaps you could take a look at the site to see what Im talking about: http://tintmastersmotorsports.com and of course http://tintmastersmotorsports.com/search is the new page I just created in menus. Probably missing something. Thanks for your response.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:09 am 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Posts: 16316
Location: Akershus, Norway
You have to turn off SEO in Global Configuration and watch the Itemid=xx on the url.
The Itemid is the id of the menu item.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:05 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 8:39 am
Posts: 20
I don't see anywhere to turn off SEO. Do you mean SEF?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:08 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 8:39 am
Posts: 20
I turned off the SEF and saw the itemid. Now what do I do?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:17 am 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Posts: 16316
Location: Akershus, Norway
It says Itemid=123. What menu item is this?

You can set the it with "set element id" in the module parameters.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:35 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:22 pm
Posts: 43
I'm having a similar problem. I want search results to show up on my secondary page template instead of my home page template. I created the search menu item and assigned it to the Universal AJAX Live Search module I purchased and It won't load the search results on my secondary template because by default the Joomla search results are set to load on the default template assigned.

Here is my website link (try a search and you'll see what i mean:
http://www.thecaskeygroup.com/newsite/

HELP PLEASE SOMEONE HELP. I'm pulling my hair out regarding this :'(

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:38 pm
Posts: 2
Hi whyknott, I don't know if you found a solution to this yet but I was having the same problem. Whenever a search was made on the blog page of a category then the modules on that page also appeared on the search page. I tried everything and in the end I gave up on having no modules appear on those pages and used MetaMod to add more modules on these pages so that the "look" was right.

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/style-a-design/modules-management/3391?qh=YToxOntpOjA7czo3OiJtZXRhbW9kIjt9

It might be possible to remove modules with MetaMod I'm not sure. By the time I'd found this extension I'd already given up on no modules appearing.

Hopefully this is some use anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:56 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:22 pm
Posts: 43
Thanks for the metamod extension that would help me out especially since I use 2 templates, however, I did solve my problem I was having with the search results.

All I had to do was make my secondary page template the "default" template so that the search results displayed on the secondary page design. Yeah..makes sense now :)

I was only using my home page template 1 time (as the main home page for the website so the home page wouldn't be the "default" template for the rest of the pages!..my secondary template would be. So I changed that and it worked perfectly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:55 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:19 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Reno, Nevada
Thought I'd spell this process out a bit since it's going to be common for many folks. This applies to Joomla 2.5.

Assumptions:
- your home page layout has a few modules either above or below the area where your page content typically displays
- you have a search module enabled on every page of your site (probably up in the top area of the design)
- the search works, but searches from your home page give results below your modules

Steps (here's the easy part)
1. make a new menu named search (Menus > Menu Manager > Add New Menu)
2. create a new menu item (Menus > Search > Add New Menu Item)
3. name the new menu item Search and select the type as Search: Search Form or Search Results
4. find the ID (bottom of the page) and copy it or make a note of the number
5. Save & Close
6. open your Search module and add the ID (Extensions > Module Manager > Name of your search module > Basic Options > Set ItemID)
7. Save it and try a test search from your home page and any other pages you wish. The search results should always drop to essentially an empty page, displaying any modules you have set to show on all pages.
8. Use the Module Manager to show/hide modules to that Search > Search menu item.

Any questions, reply to this thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:13 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 9:16 am
Posts: 105
hi you can use dealt address bar path like
Code:
http://freeclup.com/index.php/fa/component/search/?searchword=vv&searchphrase=all&Itemid=505


i search hh you see
Code:
?searchword=vv&


write php code to create this path and send it

_________________
Majid-Mit
my knowledge is know to not know
http://freeclup.com/index.php/en/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:24 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:01 pm
Posts: 5
vashanka wrote:
Thought I'd spell this process out a bit since it's going to be common for many folks. This applies to Joomla 2.5.

Assumptions:
- your home page layout has a few modules either above or below the area where your page content typically displays
- you have a search module enabled on every page of your site (probably up in the top area of the design)
- the search works, but searches from your home page give results below your modules

Steps (here's the easy part)
1. make a new menu named search (Menus > Menu Manager > Add New Menu)
2. create a new menu item (Menus > Search > Add New Menu Item)
3. name the new menu item Search and select the type as Search: Search Form or Search Results
4. find the ID (bottom of the page) and copy it or make a note of the number
5. Save & Close
6. open your Search module and add the ID (Extensions > Module Manager > Name of your search module > Basic Options > Set ItemID)
7. Save it and try a test search from your home page and any other pages you wish. The search results should always drop to essentially an empty page, displaying any modules you have set to show on all pages.
8. Use the Module Manager to show/hide modules to that Search > Search menu item.

Any questions, reply to this thread.


Thanks for the starter of this Vash, but I'm still having trouble with getting the module to search, now it's redirecting to a new search page, but it isn't showing any results in the page, you have to search using the text box on the search page in order to bring up results.

http://www.archaeologychannel.org <--- if you could take a look and give any advice that would be awesome.

P.S. Also is there a way to get this same result with the Smart Search Module that came with 2.5?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: simit and 36 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group