The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:07 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:15 pm
Posts: 52
Hi everyone,

I've done a bit of search on this without real success (other than directing me to extensions, but not the solution I'm looking for).

I recently created a site (2.5.2 I think) and embedded maps from Google's My Places app, in other words maps with my personalized infoballoons, etc.).

To do this I went to Site > Global Configuration > Text Filters and set Super Users to No Filtering (I'm the only person backend, but not sure this is the best solution?), and then to Extensions > Plugin Manager > Editor - TinyMCE > Prohibited Elements and removed "iframe". I cannot remember if I altered anything else.

It worked and the maps do what they should do.

Creating a new site yesterday with 2.5.4, I used the same settings and this time all I get is a barebones line "View My Places Map in a larger map", and the html has been stripped.

Does anyone have an idea as to what's going on?

Judging by various queries on various forums, it seems to be an issue with lots of workarounds which don't always work.

Can anyone help?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:18 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Posts: 22580
Location: Chennai, India
It would be much easier to use an extension. Review the extensions at http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/maps-a-weather/maps-a-locations/maps.

_________________
- Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
http://www.eegan.org - helping the poor and underprivileged
educate. empower. enrich.
Support the poor and underprivileged


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:36 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:15 pm
Posts: 52
Thanks Imanickam!
I already downloaded GoogleMaps but:
a) am not sure it can integrate My Places details (all my pins);
b) doh, I can't get it to work (how do you insert the code? pasting didn't work on either html or TinyMCE), and
c) since this is an issue a few people seem to have, I thought it would be a good idea to outline how to do it without extensions for everyone to see.
Best regards!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:49 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... /maps/8590 can and it can use Google's KML files as well

http://www.freemaptools.com/ may also be of interest.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 3:07 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
[Mod note: Moved from Installation Forum to Extensions Forum.]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 3:24 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:15 pm
Posts: 52
Hi Andy,

Quote:
[Mod note: Moved from Installation Forum to Extensions Forum.]


Actually, having posted this I realised it should have gone to the basic Joomla! 2.5 / Joomla! 1.7 forum (but couldn't change it) and - particularly since this is an issue where the answer involves not using an extension, probably should not be in the extensions forum either.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:21 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
Muleiolenimi wrote:
...- particularly since this is an issue where the answer involves not using an extension,...

If none of the extensions suit your concept of displaying a Google map. And you want to paste the code in manually then set the Text Filter for SU to 'No Filter' Setting is in Global config.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:57 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:15 pm
Posts: 52
Hi Webdongle,

Thanks for your comment, but
Quote:
... and set Super Users to No Filtering
that's what I did, hence my surprise at it not working. I also tried putting "iframe" in the white list, and still no go...

Question still open.

Bests


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 2:07 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 2:21 pm
Posts: 1
go to Extensions > Plug-In Manager > Editor - TinyMCE
scroll down until you see the Prohibited Elements and then remove the words "iframe".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 6:38 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:25 am
Posts: 55
aihara86 wrote:
go to Extensions > Plug-In Manager > Editor - TinyMCE
scroll down until you see the Prohibited Elements and then remove the words "iframe".

thank you , this helped me too

_________________
A Joomla games website http://www.unity-games.org
http://www.unity-3d.org


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group