The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 404 Category not Found
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:21 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
Please view the attached file for the error message I received while incorporating the template and a menu module.

Attachment:
Untitled.jpg


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Last edited by humvee on Sat Apr 28, 2012 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
deleted original .docx file and included the content as a jpg and inline


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 9:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
[Mod Note: If you upload a file particularly one in a not so popular format as docx you are not going to get too much assistance. As this was an image file, you only needed to save it as a jpg and then upload that instead.]

Have you searched these forums in respect of this message?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:47 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
humvee I appreciate your response.

I have checked these forums, by googling the term'404 Category not found joomla 2.5' and applied their suggestions to no avail.

I have so far:

1. turned off SEF
2. reconfigured files such as configuration.php and /includes/application.php files
3. ensured to change the default menu
4. changed my browser from Firefox to IE

There are some suggestion I could not apply because it seemed too convoluted.

I need someone to guide me step by step because not all 'sizes fits all'.

My problem seems to be unique.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:56 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
What happens when you type http://localhost ?

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:57 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
When I type htt://localhost it takes me to the XAMPP for Windows home page.

The XAMPP version is 1.7.3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:08 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
Therefore
http://localhost/pilatesjamaca/
relates to
C:\xampp\htdocs\pilatesjamaca\
A screenshot of windows explorer with that folder would be helpful

Or if you prefer

You can connect to localhost with an ftp Client

  • ftp host: localhost
  • ftp user: newuser
  • ftp pass: wampp
And open the pilatesjamaca folder on localhost then take a screenshot.

Chances are that you put the pilatesjamaca folder in the wrong place,

If you have put it in C:\xampp\pilatesjamaca\
Then it will not show if you connect to localhost with ftp because it is not on localhost.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:36 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
Webdongle, I had actually specified the C:\xampp\htdocs\pilatesjamaica while I was preparing for the Pilates Jamaica website.

I took the screenshot of the folder you specified and is available for you to view as an attachment.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:48 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
http://localhost/pilatesjamaca/ does not exist
because
C:\xampp\htdocs\pilatesjamaca\ does not exist

C:\xampp\htdocs\PilatesJamaca\ exists
But even
http://localhost/PilatesJamaca/ would not reach it because in urls the upper case is converted to lower case.

You need to make your folder name all lower case instead of using 'CamelCase'

Then it will work

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:59 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
so Webdongle should I relocate the pilatesjamaica folder from the C:\xampp\htdocs\ to the C:\xampp\ folder instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:01 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
No

You need to rename
C:\xampp\htdocs\PilatesJamaca\
to
C:\xampp\htdocs\pilatesjamaca\

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:23 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
I renamed the folder and am still getting the same error message


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:16 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:02 am
Posts: 9
Hi,

your problem ist not unique... I get the same in a site, last touched two weeks ago. Kategorie-Listing wont work anymore - Error 404. What I've done:

- Changed the categories and saved the menu, changed back, saved
- changed menu to Article, saved, set back to categorie, saved again
- Created a NEW Menu with the categorie
- Whatched the rights - all OK
- Swiched off Multilang - not neede her, but perhaps bug?! Not the solution.

Happens with ALL categorie-Listings.

Joomla 2.5, php 5.2.13, MySQL5

Any suggestions?!

Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:54 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:02 am
Posts: 9
Additional:

Testet with an other 2.5-Installation with NO Categories till now: it works (new cat, new article in cat, menu-link to cat-list).

Tried with this installation to create a NEW category, one NEW article in this cat, NEW menu-link to cat-list - it works NOT. So maybe a DB-conversation-error during last update?!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:56 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
busha wrote:
I renamed the folder and am still getting the same error message

Now that is strange ? Did you stop/start xampp after the change ? Try clearing the Browser cache or using another Browser.

Also use Filezilla ftp Client to connect to localhost
  • ftp host: localhost
  • ftp user: newuser
  • ftp pass: wampp

And open the pilatesjamaca folder on localhost then take a screenshot please.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:32 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
I restarted the XAMPP console, cleared the browser cache and successfully traversed to the pilatesjamaica subfolder thru Filezilla.

You can view the attached screenshot as you requested


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:52 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
With FZ when you open the /palatesjamaica folder what do you see ?

Does it look similar to
Attachment:
Capture 232.PNG


Was your site ever working ? It looks like it has been installed ?

Reread your first post... was your site working and you changed the default Template to a custom one ?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 12:55 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
Here is the screen shot of the PilatesJamaica subfolder contents.

I noticed that the .htaccess file is not present in my subfolder as it is in your screenshot.

I wonder if the absence of that file will make a difference.


To answers your questiong "Was your site ever working ? It looks like it has been installed ?"

It was working and then it started showing these error messages.

It did not happen right away as I had switched to a new template; in fact, I think it occurred around the time I was setting up my menu.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 1:49 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
busha wrote:
...

It did not happen right away as I had switched to a new template; in fact, I think it occurred around the time I was setting up my menu.

Was it a 3rd party menu and causing a javscript error ? Can you reac admin and change it ? If not edit the database.

so long as you dont use rewrite then renaming htaccess.txt to .htaccess wont matter.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 2:13 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:37 pm
Posts: 70
I don't quite understand what you are telling me what to do.

I understand the first part where you are asking me if I had used a 3rd party menu and the answer to that is yes.
I had downloaded and installed the menu module "Art Wijmo Menu"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 11:46 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25005
Location: @Webdongle
busha wrote:
I don't quite understand what you are telling me what to do.
...
you said
busha wrote:
I noticed that the .htaccess file is not present in my subfolder as it is in your screenshot.
So I explained why it doesn't matter.


busha wrote:
...
I understand the first part where you are asking me if I had used a 3rd party menu and the answer to that is yes.
I had downloaded and installed the menu module "Art Wijmo Menu"
If that was the last thing you did before your problem ... that (or the menu item you added) could be conflicting with something.

Can you access the Administration menu ? If you can then change the default menu item. If that doesn't work disable the Art Wijmo Menu module. Also set the front end default Template as standard.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group