Hacked by "Net Devil"..needs HELP!

Discussion regarding Joomla! security issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
dr.t
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Hacked by "Net Devil"..needs HELP!

Postby dr.t » Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:16 am

Hi!
My homepage (floberghagen.com) has been "hacked" by NetDevil-for the old T!M35!... >:(

I can not log on my admin, and dont know how to troubleshoot this... :(

Anybody out there that know how this can be fixed??

Probably/i hope it`s only the index-file he/she has taken.....?

Trond

Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Hacked by "Net Devil"..needs HELP!

Postby Tonie » Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:22 am

Have you read this thread? This could be a good start.

dr.t
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Postby dr.t » Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:18 pm

Thanks! I didn`t do that, bur via my FTP i updated the index.php and mambo.php, and got my page back :)

How can i prevent this in the future?? I use version 4.5.2. How do the hackers realy replace å new index file on my server? Are there anything i can do the improve the security?

Trond

digitaldentist

Postby digitaldentist » Sat Jun 24, 2006 2:02 pm

dr.t wrote:Are there anything i can do the improve the security?

Trond

Many things can be done to improve security.
Here is just a few things anyone can do, but security in general goes far beyond the scope of a simple forum post.
Basic things include, make sure you are patched to the highest current level of your software, *NIX or Windows
Backup to physical removeable media. Backup often
Only allow file and directory permissions as needed
Remove any and all unwary software & services from your server
Use a SPI firewall at the minimum, layer 7 firewall if possible

mad_gertje
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast