The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 9:08 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:25 am
Posts: 80
i am using joomla 2.5.4 when i try to login to my admin panel the user and password are correct , but i get the login page again

please help

[Mod Note: Bump post by you deleted. Please do not bump your messages. Read the Forum Rules for full details.
Try adding some more information New Installation? Update? Forum Post Assistant


Last edited by humvee on Sun Jul 08, 2012 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Marked as resolved as per OP


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 5:44 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 11:11 pm
Posts: 7
Have you logged in before to that installation from the same browser?

Does the second log in window give any message?

Does the url end in /administrator/ or /administrator/index.php?

Did you monkey with the permissions for any files in your hosting account?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 6:02 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 5:51 am
Posts: 2
I also found this same problem today. I am using Joomla 2.5.4. I cannot login to my adminitrator page and cannot login to website panel either.
There is no any error message like "Incorrect username or password" even i use correct and incorrect username/password.

I searched from many website. They said that solution is edit jos_profile table in database. i am not sure that Joomls 2.5.4 has jos_profile table because my database does not have it. :(

What is solution for this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 6:09 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:25 am
Posts: 80
thanks fleeaspirit to answer

no any message no any error
just like that i was editing contact module and i got error 505 website not available
i contact my hosting provider they fix some thing in hosting after try to login this problem coming up


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 6:14 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:25 am
Posts: 80
Aomsin you are right i update the joomla 2.5.1 To 2.5.4 after that but not directly my be after one hour


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 9:20 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Posts: 14715
Location: Kent, England
[Mod note: Moved from General Forum to Upgrade Forum;]
Please run the Forum post Assistant to provide the information to help us try and resolve the issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 10:05 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 5:51 am
Posts: 2
I fixed this issue by myself. It is a cookie issue. it might be a joomla 2.5.4 bug.
I modified configuration.php file in root directory by deleting 2 line below.

public $cookie_domain = 'YourCookieDomain';
public $cookie_path = '';

Hope this solution is useful.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 11:38 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:59 pm
Posts: 1
I had the same problem, but fixed it by removing the entry for the cookie_domain in the config file.

Example:

public $cookie_domain = 'YourCookieDomain';
public $cookie_path = '';

and making it like this

public $cookie_domain = '';
public $cookie_path = '';

worked and was able to login right after making this change. I had been logged in for about 9 hours before the login stopped working. I was coming back to it the next day when it had stopped working I hope this helps track it down..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:19 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:36 pm
Posts: 63
this does seem to be a bug, resetting cookies works on 2.5.6 also


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:58 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:51 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Hi everyone :)

islanding wrote:
I had the same problem, but fixed it by removing the entry for the cookie_domain in the config file.

Example:

public $cookie_domain = 'YourCookieDomain';
public $cookie_path = '';

and making it like this

public $cookie_domain = '';
public $cookie_path = '';

worked and was able to login right after making this change. I had been logged in for about 9 hours before the login stopped working. I was coming back to it the next day when it had stopped working I hope this helps track it down..


When I went in to my configuration.php file it appeared like this:

public $cookie_domain = '';
public $cookie_path = '';

I then removed both these lines and uploaded the config file. I still have the same problem, can't login to Admin and not receiving an error.

I may have messed with Authentication or disabled a Plugin I shouldn't have?

Please help, this is the 4th time this has happened to me and this post is the ONLY one I have found with this type of error.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 2:50 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:51 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
I've run the Forum Post Assistant and am ready for assistance :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:30 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:51 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
I believe I found a solution.

1. I accessed phpMyAdmin
2. Accessed jos_extensions table
3. Navigated to the page of elements where the plugins are
4. I found plg_authentication_joomla was enabled as it was set to '1'
5. I found plg_user_joomla was disabled. I enabled it and was able to login

It seems I disabled this in the Admin area of Joomla and had to enable it again in phpMyAdmin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:41 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:28 pm
Posts: 1
I think your problem in "www" and "non www" cookie.









***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****
Rapidshare Mediafire Jumbofiles Zippyshare Movies Download - Scene Movie


Last edited by akalanez on Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:44 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:51 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
akalanez wrote:
I think your problem in "www" and "non www" cookie


Thank you, but turns out i disabled the Authentication - Joomla plugin and enabled it again in phpMyAdmin :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:49 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:55 am
Posts: 1
fleeaspirit wrote:
Have you logged in before to that installation from the same browser?

Does the second log in window give any message?

Does the url end in /administrator/ or /administrator/index.php?

Did you monkey with the permissions for any files in your hosting account?


Hello fleeaspirit,
1. A: No, After 1 Year (after disabling some plugins that not system plugins) I saw this error!
2. A: Both firefox and Chrome didn't give me any messages(with clearing cache).
3. A: After Login I redirected to /administrator/index.php
4. A: Just changed the permissions of /tmp /administrator/cache and /logs.
please, Can you solve my problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 5:56 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:28 am
Posts: 5
I can't login to back end or front end. I have tried all solutions presented in this post, but they aren't making any difference (or the php tables didn't need adjusting, already were enabled).
Yesterday I started getting "invalid token" messages when logging in to back end, but I could always get to a specific page link, or get to admin home screen by F5 refresh.
Today I can't get in at all, not to front end, not to back end.
In the middle of site building - and desperate for a solution!
I have not made any changes to admins, users, at all. Did re-order plugins yesterday (but didn't disable any) to solve another problem, can't image that would have an impact ...
Checked with host, they haven't made any php changes, although they were playing with pagespeed settings yesterday. I have them checking if that has impacted but that seems a crazy longshot, so I am posting here in the hope someone knows what to do.
Using 2.5.7, pretty standard / quality components/plugins, etc, installed
Sooooo grateful if there is someone who knows a fix!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:40 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:48 pm
Posts: 2
Just installed Community Builder on 1.7.2 and had this experience. After installing the CB modules but not configuring beyond sync, I was unable to login to the admin panel.

I followed a previous suggestion and found that plg_user_joomla in jos_extension was disabled. I enabled and could login right away.

Must have been something CB did on install. Too bad there is no mention of that possibilty in the docs...or at least I didn't see it :-[


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:07 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:03 pm
Posts: 1
I can't find the config php you guys are all talking about.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:19 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:22 am
Posts: 8
Today I had the same problem,

If you look in phpmyadmin in your database there is a table xxx_user_usergroup_map
(xxx depends on your database)There you have to change the field with the rights for your admin. eg user 62 change 0 to 8 (8 is super user)

It works. Stange error
I used SPupgrade to upgrade 1.5 to 2.5. Maby it has something to do with that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:40 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:09 am
Posts: 1
Same problem for me today. But I got an explanation :

I recently bought a 2.5 Joomla template with SQL data in it. It included various articles, users and ... a superuser. I used PHPMyAdmin to delete the default super user (used by the template creator to fix customers' bug issues I guess ...) and got an error after this : cannot load user with ID 42.

It seems this is a common joomla error so I looked for a solution on the Internet and found it : I replaced manually the ID of my SuperUser data with 42 using PHPMyAdmin in prefix_users table. It worked like a charm and I got rid of the error and then disconnected from my admin session.

Later, I tried to log in again but that was impossible …

But, Benderook , you found the solution to my problem :

The prefix_user_usergroup_map table sets the rights to the users, according to their user_id, 0 to 8 (8 is super user) as you said. BUT, I had deleted the default template SuperUser and changed my own user_id to 42 so my SuperUser status no longer had rights attached to it... Consequence : ACCESS DENIED to back end site (and front end I guess …).

Well, to make it clear, if you're experiencing the same issue :
step 1 : use PHPMyAmin
step 2 : check your SuperUser ID in prefix_users table
step 3 : find your ID in the prefix_user_usergroup_map table and set group_id to 8


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:11 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 5:16 pm
Posts: 10
I have same problem - unable to log in to admin area, or even as regular user.
I have tried all the steps (and more) described in this section but still can't log in.
One thing that I noticed in my database: no authentication table at all, is that normal?

Below is a full description of my problem and the steps I have taken before asking for help here.

I am unable to login to the admin area - when I put in my admin username and password, the page simply refreshes;
I have also tried to login from the home page as a regular user (not admin) and the samething happens; can't log in.

I have tried all the suggested solutions I can find:
1. modified the configuration.php file with $root_user='myadminusername'; and then tried to login without a password. It responded with "you have no account on the server"
Then I tried to login with my known password but failed - says username and password don't match.

2. Using phpmyadmin, I have examined my database; my superuser username is there, with group id 8; the username is in the superuser group as well.

3. I chose a different password, generated an MD5 and pasted the new string in the password field successfully. Then tried to login with new password but no luck - just a freshed page.

4. I ran a SQL query with the script for creating a new superuser (admin2) and password (secret) successfully. Then tried to login; no success.

Iam at my wits end and will appreciate any and all suggestions.
I am using Joomla 2.5.8, and I have Community builder plugin installed.
Thanks,
tdellum


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:57 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:45 pm
Posts: 2
thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:53 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:07 am
Posts: 60
Try checking in configuration.php what the session handler is. I faced the same problem when I had turned it to 'memcache'. I removed it and I could log in again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 5:16 pm
Posts: 10
Problem solved, thanks.
In my case, for reasons am yet to figure out, the Joomla_Authentication was disabled in the database.
Using phpmyadmin, I simply went into the database, enabled authentication, and voila!
I did see some rouge registrations which I promptly deleted. I still don't know how the jail-breaking happened since I use CB plugin for registration, but the jail-breaker was able to to avoid all the custom (and required) fields. Also, captcha-recaptcha was rather ineffective. I have now installed Akeeba's Admin Tools professional.

Thanks for your responses.
tdellum


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:12 am
Posts: 11
Hello, the same issue happened to me after transferring the site from a sub-domain on a domain on the same server.
the conf.php file is ok, i checked the database, is ok, any other suggestion would be highly appreciated!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 12:08 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:22 am
Posts: 15
I am using Joomla 2.5 and I'm locked out of my back end again. I can't log in. It says username and password do not match or I do not have an account. I've logged into phpmyadmin and my user info is there. I've tried everything on this post and it is still not working. This is the second time this happens to me. the last time I reinstalled everything and restarted my site from scratch. I should have to to this all the time. Obviously there is something going on with Joomla. I don't want to have to start over again. Please help.

Has anyone been able to fix this issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 6:07 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:54 am
Posts: 9
Very good job you done all of you. After 3 hard job days, I resolved the problem, just by :
plg_user_joomla was disabled. I enabled it in "phpMyAdmin" and was able to login.
Thanks :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 7:21 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 6:53 am
Posts: 1
I cannot access my admin login...in myphpadmin the super user is deprecated. None of my user accounts are accessable. I tried everything above and none of them seem to work.

When I tried login the only thing happen is a page refresh. If I try creating a new account nothing happens. Im new to Joomla and I cannot figure out what could be wrong... please help me.

Im using joomla 2.5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 7:39 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:54 am
Posts: 9
hi isolveja1
is your plg_user_joomla is enabled it in "phpMyAdmin" ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 12:56 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:08 pm
Posts: 35
Using 2.5.11

All working fine. Then 24hrs later could not log in to administrator.

After reading this thread tried the remove

public $cookie_domain = 'YourCookieDomain';
public $cookie_path = '';

and making it like this

public $cookie_domain = '';
public $cookie_path = '';

Worked for me.

But why ???

My other sites all on same host & platform etc... did not throw this problem ??


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group