The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 7:07 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:58 am
Posts: 144
I am still not able to login to my backend.. I have reinstalled Joomla. its using the latest version, it worked perfectly fine until one day it just stopped. And it keeps saying this error.

Unable to connect to LDAP server

Please help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 7:17 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 3318
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड
Have you tried what is listed here?
viewtopic.php?f=615&t=713871

_________________
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 10:00 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:58 am
Posts: 144
Nope, I didnt delete anything, but I tried everything. I even reset the admin password still says Unable to connect to LDAP server. What I noticed in phpAdmin was my user was Registered, not listed at as Super Administrator anymore. My plugin is listed and listed as on as well. here is from the phpMyadmin

402 plg_authentication_ldap plugin ldap authentication 0 1 1 1 {"legacy":false,"name":"plg_authentication_ldap","... {"host":"","port":"389","use_ldapV3":"0","negotiat...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 5:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 3318
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड
Why is your LDAP plugin enabled if you are not needing LDAP?
****authentication 0 1 1 1****

Go back into the DB with phpMyAdmin and go to plg_authentication_ldap. Look for the column enabled. It seems to be 1. Edit the row and make it 0. Exit and try to access the Joomla admin area.

_________________
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 8:02 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:58 am
Posts: 144
were getting better,, now we have Failed to authenticate: Access Denied


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 7:43 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 3318
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड
Okay. If you open your database with phpMyadmin and have look in jos_extentions (where jos in the prefix that you use)
On page 2 or 3, look for plg_authentication_joomla. Set enabled to 1 if it is at 0.
Go into jos_extensions and on page 4 this time, check that plg_user_Joomla is also set to 1 enabled.

_________________
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 2:33 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:58 am
Posts: 144
Everytime I see your avatar, I think there is a bug on my screen..

I checked and they where all already enabled. I went through all plugins to see and everything that should is, and of course the LDAP isnt now.

I'm still stumped. I am truly hoping whatever happened, I do not have to rewrite the whole thing. I mean it might be better, but I do not have the time to care about my own site.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 4:01 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 3318
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड
Quote:
What I noticed in phpAdmin was my user was Registered, not listed at as Super Administrator anymore


Is this still the case for your Super Admin user?

_________________
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 3:12 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:58 am
Posts: 144
actually all USERS, which are just me with backups are 'depreciated'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 3:17 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:58 am
Posts: 144
I just did a MD5 generator, and double checked another client, and depreciated was right, so I changed the password in the phpadmin. and I am finally in. abernyte thank you for all your hard work, you made me brainstorm. Ive been working with Joomla for over 4 yrs now and sometime I have a blonde moment as I call it. And since its just my site, there is no hurry.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 5:24 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 3318
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड
Glad that you have it sorted!

_________________
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 12:11 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:58 am
Posts: 3
I have exactly the same problem and have followed the same steps as njjacob.

I would be grateful if you could clarify the last step to your solution. That is, where and how did you change your password in phpMyAdmin?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:22 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:58 am
Posts: 3
I have now solved the problem. I accessed my Joomla user table and found that my user name and email address had a Joomla table prefix added (the prefix was not my Joomla table prefix)and the field "block" was set to "1". I deleted the prefixes, set block to "0" and generated a hash for a new password and entered this in the table and now I can access my backend!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:02 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:22 pm
Posts: 43
What Else can I check? I changed my password using MD5 thru phpmyadmin and also made sure everything in jos_extensions was set to 1 for Enabled (Except LDAP of course) also tried adding a new Super user via the phpmyadmin. I still get the message:

"You do not have access to the administrator section of this site."

I checked my configuration.php file for unwanted spaces and that is not a problem

This happened AFTER I installed a template from templatemonster. I will contact their support but maybe thought I could find a quicker solution here in the Joomla forum!

Regards!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:38 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:29 pm
Posts: 6
I have had the same problem for a few weeks now. I am working on Joomla 2.5 ( http://www.pollensa-rentals.com ). I did not make any edits to the website during that time and for no apparent reason I can't login anymore. None of the users are working (both front and backend) and get the following error:
• Unable to connect to LDAP server
When I try to disable the LDAP plugin through the database admin, there are no changes. If I change manually the name of the plugin ldap.php to ldap-off.php to disable it, I get the following error:
• JAuthentication: :authenticate: Failed to load plugin: plgauthenticationldap
• Failed to authenticate: Access Denied
I looked at the users, all are enabled. I also created a new super-admin through the database, same problem. The joomla user plugin and authentication plugin are also enabled.
Any idea of what is going on? I read somewhere else that this problem could be due to a php update on the server...
Thanks for your help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:16 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:29 pm
Posts: 6
I went through the databases over and over again. I made sure that only the joomla authentication plugin was enabled, that the users were not blocked,... Nothing. I started disabling the last components I had installed, nothing... The error message had changed from "Unable to connect to LDAP server" to "Failed to authenticate: Access Denied". >:(

So here is what happened: Joomla was actually doing a great job at not letting me in because my usernames and passwords were incorrect. The website had been hacked and ALL the usernames and passwords had been changed for "dhitzz"... It took me a while to figure it out but at least the problem is solved! :D All usernames and passwords were reset and I am working now on my security breaches.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:27 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 54
Did anyone get a fix to this? As I've had this problem for weeks and can't get into my site.

Same error message 'unable to connect to LDAP'.

In phpMyAdmin I have set plg_authentication_ldap off (to '0').

Enabled plg_authentication_joomla.

Like Mariette I too had many usernames added, a breach, but I have deleted all of them and changed passwords.

Also created a new admin user. But no change.

Strange thing is, my error message doesn't ever change. Even when ldap is disabled I still get the same 'unable to connect to ldap'. I'm at an utter loss as to what to do. Your help would be massively appreciated!

_________________
---------------------------------
N


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:31 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 3318
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड
Unfortunately deleting the unauthorised users has not removed the hack. In all likelihood there are other files and backdoors on your site.
If you were hacked and did not replace all the files with a clean version of Joomla, clean copy of the template and clean copies of any third party extensions then it is difficult to know where to start.
Do you have an offline ( local) copy of your site to restore to?
Have you run the FPA on your site to see if there are any obvious configuration issues?

_________________
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:04 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 54
Hi Abernyte,

I got my server provider to upload a previous version of the site but as it's only two weeks old I still have the same issue. I don't want to start from scratch (ie reinstall everything) as the site has lots of material on it and would take an age to rebuild.

My own backup is a little old to be backing up to so I'd prefer to try and rectify the problem and use this option as a complete last resort. (Also for my sanity I'd prefer to figure it out)

I have run FPA and there are no glaring errors, that I can see or know of.

Any help? Thanks for replying!

_________________
---------------------------------
N


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:13 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 2:01 pm
Posts: 3318
Location: Écosse - Scozia - Escocia - Škotija -स्कॉटलैंड
Replacing all the site files does not mean losing any content. Content and users are all in the database.
You could try installing a clean version of Joomla into a localhost and then installing a clean copy of your template and extensions and then exporting a copy of the live database to install into this offline site.

If the site works then you know what you have to do.

_________________
A pretty business indeed for a man to be allowed eight hundred thousand sterling a year and worshipped into the bargain! Of more worth is one honest man to society...than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived. Paine 1776


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:06 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:14 am
Posts: 5
nicoljcraig wrote:
Did anyone get a fix to this? As I've had this problem for weeks and can't get into my site.

Same error message 'unable to connect to LDAP'.

In phpMyAdmin I have set plg_authentication_ldap off (to '0').

Enabled plg_authentication_joomla.

Like Mariette I too had many usernames added, a breach, but I have deleted all of them and changed passwords.

Also created a new admin user. But no change.

Strange thing is, my error message doesn't ever change. Even when ldap is disabled I still get the same 'unable to connect to ldap'. I'm at an utter loss as to what to do. Your help would be massively appreciated!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:04 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:14 am
Posts: 5
Hello,

I'm trying to login joomla-administrator but I read this message "Unable to connect to LDAP server".
The last time I log in Joomla, by mistake I change all plugin into "disable".
Is that the problem? How can i fix it?

I read same instructions above, but I can't find "plg_authentication_joomla".
Is that a solution?

Its my first time that I'm involved in a website and also the first time that i use a forum for help!
This website is not mine and I m really stressed for my mistake and i don't know what to do!


Thank you in advanced,

Alexandros


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:22 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 54
Hi Alexandrosp,

I think that will be your problem yes. If you disable everything you are also disabling the login mechanism as well (I think). In this case, plg_authentication_joomla.

To access that you have to enter your MySQL Database, usually through something like MyPHPAdmin. Your server provider will be able to guide you in how to access the database.

Once inside enable the plugins you need to.

In the database it'll prob be located: jos (or whatever name you called it)>extensions, then page 2 or 3.

Good luck.

_________________
---------------------------------
N


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 54
Oh, and for others. I have finally fixed it. Seems like ldap was enabled after all. So jos_extensions, page 3, plg_authentication_ldap, set to '0'.

Use database to create new super user (if hacked like me): http://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_recov ... assword%3F

_________________
---------------------------------
N


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:44 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:14 am
Posts: 5
I didn't believe that i have so fast ansewer!

Thank you!! It worrks!
There is one more problem...When i log in, I can not see anything (categories,menus,etc..). I see only
I ll really apreciate if you have a solution also for that...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 54
I imagine it'll be because you disabled those as well. In your database you'll have jos_menus, jos_plugins etc and you'll have to enable all the ones you need for your specific site (most prob all the ones you disabled before).

_________________
---------------------------------
N


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jcms and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group