The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:21 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:03 pm
Posts: 4
We are currently in the process of upgrading our website from 1.5.15 to 1.5.26. But we would like to test the upgrade on a copy of the live website, to make sure that the upgrade works ok before upgrading to the live website. How do we make a copy of the live website. Is it just by taking a backup? If so where does this copy need to go? Also we have read that the upgrade version, in this case 1.5.26 needs to go into the Public HTML folder. Does anyone know where this folder is located?

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 4:46 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Millersburg, OH
There are two ways of doing this.

The Short Method:

1. Log into the backend of your site, and install this extension:
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... I7fQ%3D%3D

2. Under "Components" click on the J!Update button. Follow the instructions. You can make a backup of your site with this component.

3. If all goes well, you should have your site up to speed with the latest version of Joomla 1.5.


The Long Method:

1. Use an FTP program to download your whole website to your computer. If you are unsure of what FTP program to use, download Filezilla, which works really well and is free.

2. On your website space (hosting space), create a new folder, and call it something like "backup".

3. Take the website you just downloaded, and upload it to this new folder. Once all of the files have uploaded (which may take some time), you'll have a duplicate of your site that you can visit at www.yourdomain.com/backup

4. Upload the latest version of Joomla (except for the "Installation" folder) to your Backup folder. Replace any files it asks you to replace.

5. Once all of the files from Joomla 1.5.26 have been uploaded, test your site in the backup folder. Make sure it all works well.

6. If all is well, you can delete your backup folder, and upload the Joomla package to your main root folder (except for the "Installation" folder, don't ever upload this folder when simply doing an update). That should be it.

Also, public_html is a generic name for the folder that contains your website. Some hosts call this "www" and others call it "root". It just depends on your website host. You can only see this folder if you use an FTP program to connect to your website hosting.

_________________
Ryan
Numinous Productions
Custom Joomla Templates, Joomla Troubleshooting and Personalized Tutorials
http://www.numinousmedia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 6:23 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 1022
Location: Minneapolis, MN
If you just download the 1.5.0 to 1.5.26 patch file it won't have the installation folder, so you won't need to worry about that.

_________________
Doyle Lewis
BuyHTTP Internet Services
http://www.buyhttp.com/joomla_hosting.html - No Overselling Guarantee. Your Joomla site, faster.
http://www.joomlademo.com - 30 day free trial of Joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:46 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:03 pm
Posts: 4
Would the extension below need to be installed onto the server where Joomla was originally uploaded? Or can the extension be installed onto any pc?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:32 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:13 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Millersburg, OH
Joomla extensions are always installed into your Joomla site. Download the zip file, and upload it using the extension's installer right inside your Backend Administration. It will take care of unzipping it for you, and placing it where it needs to be. Once installed, JUpdate will show up under your "Components" menu in the backend.

_________________
Ryan
Numinous Productions
Custom Joomla Templates, Joomla Troubleshooting and Personalized Tutorials
http://www.numinousmedia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group