The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:29 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:19 pm
Posts: 137
How can I remove the "Powered by Kunena Forum" in Kunena 2.0? Its not the same as it was with 1.7...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:52 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:56 am
Posts: 12460
Location: The Girly Side of Joomla in Sussex
Have you asked on the kunena forums?

_________________
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{Community.Connect Administrator }{ Showcase & Security Moderator}


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:19 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:19 pm
Posts: 137
Nope; this question wont be answered there, even when you donate. Hope someone here can help out?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:03 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 5657
Location: California
.
In file
joomla25_root/administrator/components/com_kunena/libraries/view.php

Find this code at around line 73
Code:
         echo $this->poweredBy();

Change to
Code:
//         echo $this->poweredBy();

In my brief tests that eliminated the nag.


The actual code is lower down in the same file around line 394
Code:
   final public function poweredBy() {
         $credits = '<div style="text-align:center">';
         $credits .= JHTML::_('kunenaforum.link', 'index.php?option=com_kunena&view=credits', JText::_('COM_KUNENA_POWEREDBY'), '', '', 'follow', array('style'=>'display: inline; visibility: visible; text-decoration: none;'));
         $credits .= ' <a href="http://www.kunena.org" rel="follow" target="_blank" style="display: inline; visibility: visible; text-decoration: none;">'.JText::_('COM_KUNENA').'</a>';
         if ($this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyText')) {
            $credits .= ' :: <a href ="'. $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyLink').'" rel="follow" target="_blank" style="text-decoration: none;">' . $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyText') .' '. $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyName') .'</a>';
         }
         $credits .= '</div>';
         echo $credits;
   }

_________________
██ AllMedia4Joomla Project
██ http://sourceforge.net/projects/allmedia4joomla/
██ AllMedia YöuTube Feed Gallery module released
██ Download: http://sourceforge.net/projects/allmedia4joomla/files/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:00 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:47 am
Posts: 8
Thanks so much for your help. The suggestion worked perfectly. I am using Joomla 2.5.6 w/the most recent version of Kunena. Locating the correct file would have taken forever.

That said; I am a paid member, and surprised that the Kunena folks required this much surgery for what must be a common request. I will have a 'credits' page, and will list them there once everything is setup fully...but...this was almost disheartening.

Anyhow, thanks again. I'd love some feedback if you have time: http://louisvilledem.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:17 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:16 am
Posts: 115
thanks!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:02 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Posts: 37
Location: Canberra, Australia
For the official response from the Kunena Project, please read Please help me understand the GPL for Kunena


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:17 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 5657
Location: California
sozzled wrote:
For the official response from the Kunena Project, please read Please help me understand the GPL for Kunena


What does that have to do with this issue?

.

_________________
██ AllMedia4Joomla Project
██ http://sourceforge.net/projects/allmedia4joomla/
██ AllMedia YöuTube Feed Gallery module released
██ Download: http://sourceforge.net/projects/allmedia4joomla/files/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:57 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:07 am
Posts: 60
kenmcd wrote:
.
In file
joomla25_root/administrator/components/com_kunena/libraries/view.php

Find this code at around line 73
Code:
         echo $this->poweredBy();

Change to
Code:
//         echo $this->poweredBy();

In my brief tests that eliminated the nag.



Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 2:39 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 94
Alternatively, you can comment out line 403

original:

403 echo $credits;

to

403 // echo $credits;


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:56 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 39
Hello dears. I have the latest version of Kunena. But theres is no any folder named LIBRARY. there is only lib but it doesn't consist view.php.
Please can anybody help me to find and remove powered by kunena.

thank you in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:03 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 94
uzbaby,

The latest Kunena version is 2.0.2

There IS a libraries folder and a view.php file.

I suspect you are looking in root/components/com_kunena/ rather than root/administrator/components/com_kunena/

the libraries folder is in the administrator /components/com_kunena


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:14 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 39
erixis THANK YOU SO SO VERY MUCH!!!!!
I did as you said and it works....oh I spend almost 2 weeks in order to find that word. Thank you so much!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:39 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:48 pm
Posts: 94
Uzbaby!

Glad you got a solution!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:26 pm
Posts: 25
kenmcd wrote:
sozzled wrote:
For the official response from the Kunena Project, please read Please help me understand the GPL for Kunena


What does that have to do with this issue?

.

Should we expect anything less from Sozzled? This is the reason I don't waste my time with the so-called Kunena support.

Thanks to everyone who helped with this issue... it really helped me after a recent update. Kudos to the Joomla support community!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:32 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:30 am
Posts: 21
thanks alote the //403 echo $credits;
works perferct


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:22 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:16 am
Posts: 5
but now,it seems like the two methods didn't work for Kunena 2.04 at present,could you guys gives me some suggestions,thanks in advance!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 10525
Location: Leeds, UK
Its no longer line 73 but is now line 82

change
Code:
   if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) echo $this->poweredBy();

to
Code:
   // if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) echo $this->poweredBy();

_________________
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:21 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:16 am
Posts: 5
brian wrote:
Its no longer line 73 but is now line 82

change
Code:
   if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) echo $this->poweredBy();

to
Code:
   // if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) echo $this->poweredBy();


hay brian,you British are the most intelligentest ppl on dis planet!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 1:04 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Toronto, ON
brian wrote:
Its no longer line 73 but is now line 82

change
Code:
   if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) echo $this->poweredBy();

to
Code:
   // if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) echo $this->poweredBy();


I think I found a better method. You can update the kunenu_configuration table - add a credits = 0 parameter and it will no longer show the item. That way you don't have to hack a component file.

Code:
{"credits":"0",
"board_title":"YOUR FORUM NAME",
"email":"",
"board_offline":"0"

... etc etc


_________________
Mircom Group of Companies
Life Safety Systems
http://www.mircomgroup.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:43 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:38 am
Posts: 1
The line in the view.php file

Code:
$credits = '<div style="text-align:center">';


change to

Code:
$credits = '<div id="kuncredits">';


In your CSS template:

Code:
#kuncredits {
display:none;
}


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:48 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:30 pm
Posts: 21
even easier, dont bother look for template css just do this:

line 423,
$credits = '<div style="text-align:center">';

change to this

$credits = '<div style="text-align:center; display:none;">';

basically just adding this display none in side this same code.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:02 am 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:03 am
Posts: 113
Location: Blida
brian wrote:
Its no longer line 73 but is now line 82

change
Code:
   if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) echo $this->poweredBy();

to
Code:
   // if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) echo $this->poweredBy();


yes it did work,,thanks a lot ,,,amazing job

_________________
YoVibe meant to be by and for you
http://www.yovibe.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:43 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:51 pm
Posts: 3
thanks, it work...

kenmcd wrote:
.
In file
joomla25_root/administrator/components/com_kunena/libraries/view.php

Find this code at around line 73
Code:
         echo $this->poweredBy();

Change to
Code:
//         echo $this->poweredBy();

In my brief tests that eliminated the nag.


The actual code is lower down in the same file around line 394
Code:
   final public function poweredBy() {
         $credits = '<div style="text-align:center">';
         $credits .= JHTML::_('kunenaforum.link', 'index.php?option=com_kunena&view=credits', JText::_('COM_KUNENA_POWEREDBY'), '', '', 'follow', array('style'=>'display: inline; visibility: visible; text-decoration: none;'));
         $credits .= ' <a href="http://www.kunena.org" rel="follow" target="_blank" style="display: inline; visibility: visible; text-decoration: none;">'.JText::_('COM_KUNENA').'</a>';
         if ($this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyText')) {
            $credits .= ' :: <a href ="'. $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyLink').'" rel="follow" target="_blank" style="text-decoration: none;">' . $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyText') .' '. $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyName') .'</a>';
         }
         $credits .= '</div>';
         echo $credits;
   }


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:58 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:13 pm
Posts: 15
It is so much confusing that inspite of doing everything in this thread, the 'Powered by Kunena' has not been removed. I want to do that neither to deprive them or disrespect the efforts of Kunena developers, nor to make profit out of that, but the reason is totally personal. But, none of these informations worked.

BTW the file 'view.php' would be found in '/public_html/libraries/kunena/'. The path as well as the code mentioned here in many posts is wrong. And the actual code,
Code:
if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) $this->poweredBy();
in line 82 doesn't exist any more, it can be found in line 86. And in line 427 this code can be found:
Code:
final public function poweredBy() {
         $credits = '<div style="text-align:center">';
         $credits .= JHtml::_('kunenaforum.link', 'index.php?option=com_kunena&view=credits', JText::_('COM_KUNENA_POWEREDBY'), '', '', 'follow', array('style'=>'display: inline; visibility: visible; text-decoration: none;'));
         $credits .= ' <a href="http://www.kunena.org" rel="follow" target="_blank" style="display: inline; visibility: visible; text-decoration: none;">'.JText::_('COM_KUNENA').'</a>';
         if ($this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyText')) {
            $credits .= ' :: <a href ="'. $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyLink').'" rel="follow" target="_blank" style="text-decoration: none;">' . $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyText') .' '. $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyName') .'</a>';         }
         $credits .= '</div>';
         echo $credits;
}


I deactivated all these codes by putting '//' at the start of each line, though it didn't work at all. Its my bad luck. :(

If anyone can help, it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:40 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 4:43 pm
Posts: 2
mircomgroup wrote:
I think I found a better method. You can update the kunenu_configuration table - add a credits = 0 parameter and it will no longer show the item. That way you don't have to hack a component file.

Code:
{"credits":"0",
"board_title":"YOUR FORUM NAME",
"email":"",
"board_offline":"0"

... etc etc




This IS what you want to do - this works and you do not have to touch any files.

Thou you will need access to your database through for instance phpmyadmin to edit that kunenu_configuration table to insert the "credits":"0", parameter.

Thanks! to mircomgroup for this excellent tip (see post above)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 12:38 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 35
@HWI it works a very good solution and painless! Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 7:07 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 1:29 am
Posts: 5
That said; I am a paid member, and surprised that the Kunena folks required this much surgery for what must be a common request. I will have a 'credits' page, and will list them there once everything is setup fully...but...this was almost disheartening.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:50 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 1:25 pm
Posts: 31
for those who want to remove it on kunena 3.0.0 it is line 86 under /public_html/libraries/kunena
Code:
//         if ($this->config->get('credits', 1)) $this->poweredBy();


aditionally i commented out all lines from 443 to 452:
Code:
//   final public function poweredBy() {
//         $credits = '<div style="text-align:center">';
//         $credits .= JHtml::_('kunenaforum.link', 'index.php?option=com_kunena&view=credits', JText::_('COM_KUNENA_POWEREDBY'), '', '', 'follow', array('style'=>'display: inline; visibility: visible; text-decoration: none;'));
//         $credits .= ' <a href="http://www.kunena.org" rel="follow" target="_blank" style="display: inline; visibility: visible; text-decoration: none;">'.JText::_('COM_KUNENA').'</a>';
//         if ($this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyText')) {
//            $credits .= ' :: <a href ="'. $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyLink').'" rel="follow" target="_blank" style="text-decoration: none;">' . $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyText') .' '. $this->ktemplate->params->get('templatebyName') .'</a>';
//         }
//         $credits .= '</div>';
//         echo $credits;
//   }


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:37 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 9:35 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks dado023, works perfect with 3.0.1!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group