how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 2.5?
Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
nhk12
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:07 am

how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Postby nhk12 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:06 am

I have a site where I want to copy virtuemart whole data from 1.5 in to my other site 2.5..on 1.5 virtuemart has version(VirtueMart 1.1.4 stable ) and on other joomla 2.5 I install latest virtuemart extension(virtuemart 2.0.8c)
Now plz guide me how can I copy huge data in to my latest 2.5 joomla site? Plzz if u know then guide me step by step..
Many thanks
Regards
Nadia
Joomla Developer

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21265
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Postby pe7er » Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:24 am

Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Latest website: https://pronounce.eu/

nhk12
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:07 am

Re: how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Postby nhk12 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 9:20 am

but i dont have a test site where i try it first.

i have live backup site.where i am working.should i try there or any test server u know?
Regards
Nadia
Joomla Developer

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21265
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Postby pe7er » Fri Jul 06, 2012 9:37 am

A test site is quick to set up:
install XAMPP to get a webserver at your PC,
use Akeeba back-up to create a backup from your live site,
install that backup using Akeeba's kickstart.php on your local site.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Latest website: https://pronounce.eu/

nhk12
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:07 am

Re: how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Postby nhk12 » Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:25 am

can u help me in doing this??
Regards
Nadia
Joomla Developer

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21265
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Postby pe7er » Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:41 am

You can probably do it yourself with this instruction:
Installing XAMPP: http://docs.joomla.org/Xampp
Moving a Joomla website: http://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_Joomla_website
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Latest website: https://pronounce.eu/

nhk12
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:07 am

Re: how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Postby nhk12 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:00 am

i followed this taturoial

http://www.ostraining.com/blog/joomla/v ... version-2/

on step 6 i got error..even my site disappears..what to do???? if i try to install com_virtuemart 2.0 through installer then got error in the admin plus site disappears. i update my virtuemart from 1.1.4 in to 1.1.9 now i have to update it in to 2.0 according to taturial buttt getting error on step 6..plz help
Regards
Nadia
Joomla Developer

nhk12
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:07 am

Re: how to copy virtuemart data in to 2.5 from 1.5

Postby nhk12 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:02 am

according to the discussion
http://www.ostraining.com/support-forum ... emart-202/

we must have to update virtuemart in to 2.0 and for this i have following this tatorial
http://www.ostraining.com/blog/joomla/v ... version-2/


now what u will suggest me????
Regards
Nadia
Joomla Developer


Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest