The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Please use the mailing list here: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general rather than this forum.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 10:38 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 13
I have been looking for the information regarding Component Development using Joomla 3.0.

I have tried the following references
- http://docs.joomla.org/Potential_backwa ... tform_11.1
- http://docs.joomla.org/Developing_a_Mod ... troduction

But I would like to create a proper native component for Joomla 3.0 instead of a Legacy.
It would be appreciated, if someone can guide me with a sample component or a reference to find it.


Last edited by imanickam on Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Moved the topic from the forum Components - Joomla! 3.0 to the forum Joomla! 3.0 Coding


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 5:00 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:46 am
Posts: 5707
Location: Roma
have you looked at com_ola ?

_________________
Nicola Galgano
i know that i don't know
www.alikonweb.it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:54 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 13
alikon wrote:
have you looked at com_ola ?

I have tried. But it was made with Legacy Classes.
I am upgrading my joomla 2.5 components to 3.0 native. I just want to make them one time upgrade cause Legacy classes will be removed soon.

Also I am interested in utilizing the new controller system and exceptions.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:35 am 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm
Posts: 3925
You should be looking at

docs.joomla.org/Potential_backward_compatibility_issues_in_Joomla_3.0_and_Joomla_Platform_12.1
docs.joomla.org/Developing_a_Model-View-Controller_Component/3.0/Introduction
docs.joomla.org/Developing_a_Model-View-Controller_Component/3.0

tip: search docs.joomla.org on 3.0 for urls (don't work on galaxy tab 2)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:38 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:53 am
Posts: 204
Location: Spain
Hi ganesh35, I am with you. I would also love to see how a "real" Joomla 3.0 component is supposed to be written, but it appears that all the examples we have are just adding "Legacy" to class names.

I need to know this as we develop the Joomla Component Creator and the developers that use our tool are eager to start building 3.0 components.

_________________
Soren Beck Jensenhttp://www.notwebdesign.com/ - Joomla web design in Spain

Get Automatic Backlinks for your Joomla site! - http://www.automaticbacklinks.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:22 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:46 am
Posts: 5707
Location: Roma
this matter is discussed too on Joomla! General Development https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups=#!topic/joomla-dev-general/KwdM5dKB8qI

_________________
Nicola Galgano
i know that i don't know
www.alikonweb.it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 6:09 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:56 pm
Posts: 13
Hello All,
After hours of digging and struggling. I understood that we should go with the Legacy option for now.

Joomla 3.0 preparing us (developers) to think about New MVC architecture in future. Right now we don't have enough documentation.

I strongly believe let the experts do the documentation for the Joomla 3.0 Component development.

Till then just keep pasting Legacy. Ignore about writing the Joomla 3.0 way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:35 am
Posts: 20
Thank you very much ganesh35!! I have been looking right into this for ages with no result.

I have been watching the writing of development of 3.0 component, hopefully that will be added to as time goes on.

I would love to know how to find out what's new in version 12 of the platform if you know of a good list. I'm going to develop a component using 2.5 and learn that way. Then when the documentation for 3.0 is a little more comprehensive.

Thanks again for your help!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:53 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:19 am
Posts: 4
Hi,
Thanks for all
i install ola component but it causing error
any body knows whay?
------------
Strict Standards: Declaration of OlaController::display() should be compatible with that of JControllerLegacy::display() in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla3\administrator\components\com_ola\controller.php on line 38
------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:20 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:46 am
Posts: 5707
Location: Roma
you should put on your php.ini
Code:
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_STRICT

_________________
Nicola Galgano
i know that i don't know
www.alikonweb.it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:52 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:41 pm
Posts: 1
amirhosein wrote:
------------
Strict Standards: Declaration of OlaController::display() should be compatible with that of JControllerLegacy::display() in C:\xampp\htdocs\joomla3\administrator\components\com_ola\controller.php on line 38
------------


amirhosein is because the method signature:

Code:
//JControllerLegacy display declaration
public function display($cachable = false, $urlparams = array())...


Code:
//com_ola\controller.php method display declaration
function display($cachable = false)...

..............
I'm a totally newbie to joomla but I want to start developing for v3 but there is a lack of sample code.

-


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:05 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:57 pm
Posts: 11
how quickly to expect the documentation to create extensions for joomla 3.0 without legacy?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:03 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:12 pm
Posts: 267
Location: Out of my mind ...sometimes
alikon wrote:
you should put on your php.ini
Code:
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_STRICT


Hello,
no hard feelings, but this kind of reply is very, very useless in this context.
To get Strict standards errors when developing is mandatory. It helps us understand where our coding is wrong when we update an extension in the new joomla 3.0 environment (PHP 5.3.X and upward, new joomla API).
I can understand that people who only want to launch a joomla site don't need/don't want those pesky Notices, but the thread here is about "component development AND using new joomla 3.0 MVC architecture".
If something is not working properly, it helps targeting where the errors lie.

@oliverhr
Thanks, your reply helped me a lot.

_________________
Joomla People's Portal - Mootools Group admin
http://people.joomla.org/groups/viewgro ... tools.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:52 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 6
Location: Viet Nam
alikon wrote:
you should put on your php.ini
Code:
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_STRICT

Yes, alright....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:21 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:35 am
Posts: 20
I must say that I am in full agreeance with you! I installed a pre purchased joomla template for a customer a couple of months ago and there was page after page of errors, all be they were not fatal errors but still. As developers I think it's critical to build our code error free!

Thanks

Lee

ghazal wrote:
alikon wrote:
you should put on your php.ini
Code:
error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_STRICT


Hello,
no hard feelings, but this kind of reply is very, very useless in this context.
To get Strict standards errors when developing is mandatory. It helps us understand where our coding is wrong when we update an extension in the new joomla 3.0 environment (PHP 5.3.X and upward, new joomla API).
I can understand that people who only want to launch a joomla site don't need/don't want those pesky Notices, but the thread here is about "component development AND using new joomla 3.0 MVC architecture".
If something is not working properly, it helps targeting where the errors lie.

@oliverhr
Thanks, your reply helped me a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:26 pm 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm
Posts: 3925
Apparantly it was very usefull for the person who posted here by mistake! He just installed ola and didn't know what to do! Obviously not a component developer! Or maybe he missed the change in php concerning strict!

A developer wouldn't put the strict message in this topic at all, he would fix it or ignore it!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:07 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:46 am
Posts: 5707
Location: Roma
there are a lot of unskilled developer ?
i'm one of them :'(
I hope that with community help we can become a little bit skilled
:geek:

_________________
Nicola Galgano
i know that i don't know
www.alikonweb.it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:40 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:12 pm
Posts: 267
Location: Out of my mind ...sometimes
alikon wrote:
there are a lot of unskilled developer ?
i'm one of them :'(
I hope that with community help we can become a little bit skilled
:geek:

+1

_________________
Joomla People's Portal - Mootools Group admin
http://people.joomla.org/groups/viewgro ... tools.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:14 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:10 am
Posts: 3
Well, tbh, just b/c someone is a "real" developer doesn't mean they know everything about a given framework or standard.

Anywhoo... I searched and searched, was completely unable to find any modules working on Joomla 3.0 without errors. I tried a few of the modules but was getting nowhere. Here's a version I've thrown together that seems to work nicely on Joomla 3.0 Included are the Component and Module from the much revered tutorials.

http://txdev.net/WORKING_JOOMLA_3.0_COM_AND_MOD.zip

Hope this helps someone out there. Joomla devs, you need to learn to share the love. :D <3

- Art Richards


Last edited by ArtRichards on Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:04 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:13 am
Posts: 16530
@artRichards. If you don't mind, I've removed your download file as it was a .exe file. Not really a file extension common for a plugin.

_________________
Joomla forum global moderator.

Have fun


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:16 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:10 am
Posts: 3
@Tonie, Thanks, I've modified the package to conform to site standards.

Hopefully someone will find some use for this.
Where do all the cool kids gather these days?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:21 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:12 pm
Posts: 267
Location: Out of my mind ...sometimes
Hi,
@ArtRichards
Tonie is a nice guy. I was about to report your post as potentially harmful because of this exe file.
Quote:
Where do all the cool kids gather these days?

Maybe here :
Joomla! CMS Development
https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr ... la-dev-cms
or here :
Joomla! General Development
https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr ... ev-general

Final decisions seen here :
https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms

If you want to join one of the test groups :
https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr ... Jrw2pO7GEw
Read Elin's first message.

_________________
Joomla People's Portal - Mootools Group admin
http://people.joomla.org/groups/viewgro ... tools.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:24 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:46 am
Posts: 5707
Location: Roma
recently published on magazine

http://magazine.joomla.org/issues/issue-feb-2013/item/1062-joomla-30-extension-development-series-beginning-development

http://magazine.joomla.org/issues/issue-mar-2013/item/1137-joomla-30-extension-development-series-writing-the-core

_________________
Nicola Galgano
i know that i don't know
www.alikonweb.it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:18 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:12 pm
Posts: 267
Location: Out of my mind ...sometimes
Quote:
Thanks, I've modified the package to conform to site standards.

Can't open your stuff on a mac.
Pls bear in mind that joomla community isn't OS-centric.

_________________
Joomla People's Portal - Mootools Group admin
http://people.joomla.org/groups/viewgro ... tools.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:40 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:10 am
Posts: 3
Here's a proper zip file.

http://TxDev.net/Joomla_3.0_Example_Mod ... _First.zip

Let me know if this isn't compatible. Who knew people would have such difficulties with a compressed file? But it does illustrate the diverse needs of such a broad community as Joomla! I'm looking forward to the event and hoping I'll be able to lend a hand!

Edit: *Thank you* alikon for the link. Do you know if the SB team will be participating in the upcoming pre release event?

Edit: Continuing to squash bugs...


Last edited by ArtRichards on Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:01 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:12 pm
Posts: 267
Location: Out of my mind ...sometimes
Looks like you developed your extensions "by the book", netbeans and all, nice.
But maybe, you should delete the "nbproject" folder in the component and the Makefile file in the module.
Also, as you pointed out, joomla community is made of a very large range of users, from absolute beginners (barely knowing html) to seasoned devs.
To target the first group, it'd be better to name your zip file something like my_comp_UNZIP_FIRST as your component is installed correctly when using your global zip file, but not the module.
It is possible though to install component/modules/plugins all together.

One last thing :
A strict standard error when creating a new Message :
Strict Standards: Declaration of HelloWorldTableHelloWorld::_getAssetParentId() should be compatible with JTable::_getAssetParentId($table = NULL, $id = NULL) in /administrator/components/com_helloworld/tables/helloworld.php on line 12

NB : on a test site, I always set PHP errors On

_________________
Joomla People's Portal - Mootools Group admin
http://people.joomla.org/groups/viewgro ... tools.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:32 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:37 pm
Posts: 237
Location: The Netherlands
I'm maintaining a full list with background information here:
http://www.chillcreations.com/news/joom ... -resources

_________________
Chill Creations Joomla! Extensions http://www.chillcreations.com
cciDEAL, ccInvoices, ccNewsletter, ccVAOM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:49 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:22 am
Posts: 285
hi,
my question is: are there any good examples on using the new MVC from Joomla?
viewtopic.php?f=727&t=814726
I advise this post. thank yao for help.

_________________
http://www.cantral.ir
http://www.enimal.ir


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:19 am
Posts: 8
Hi,

For all developers in Joomla 3.

For the error notice "_getAssetParentId() should be compatible with JTable::_getAssetParentId($table = NULL, $id = NULL)"

The SOLUTION is:
JTable::_getAssetParentId(JTable $table = null, $id = null)

Must add JTable to the variable $table on the function in the table file/files.

I hope this helps you out!
PS:Using php.ini to hide error notice, is not so good idea..

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:04 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:12 pm
Posts: 267
Location: Out of my mind ...sometimes
Quote:
Using php.ini to hide error notice, is not so good idea..


I agree with this, definitely.

_________________
Joomla People's Portal - Mootools Group admin
http://people.joomla.org/groups/viewgro ... tools.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group