Setting up a static page

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
EPMKMG
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:35 am

Setting up a static page

Postby EPMKMG » Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:43 am

Hi, i am new to joomla and I have been trying to create a static page one with an iframe. Is there any tutorial out there or something that I can use to accomplish this?

User avatar
ranwilli
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18505
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: Toledo, OH
Contact:

Re: Setting up a static page

Postby ranwilli » Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:45 am

Joomla can easily link to a non-Joomla page...

Just make the page and upload it to the server.
Don't HACK the Joomla! core. Extend and Override.
http://harpervance.com -
Live Joomla! Help available at the site M-F, 9-12 am edt 2-5pm edt.
by appointment on evenings and weekends.

EPMKMG
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:35 am

Re: Setting up a static page

Postby EPMKMG » Sat Nov 24, 2012 7:18 pm

Ok thanks i am about to try it now

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21713
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Setting up a static page

Postby Per Yngve Berg » Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:19 pm

Make a menu item of type wrapper to have an iframe.

User avatar
SimonHayter
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 530
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:43 pm
Location: Bournemouth
Contact:

Re: Setting up a static page

Postby SimonHayter » Sun Nov 25, 2012 4:18 pm

If your new to Joomla I highly recommend you install it with the dummy content, its a great way of learning the basics in no time at all.

EPMKMG
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:35 am

Re: Setting up a static page

Postby EPMKMG » Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:58 pm

polomintus wrote:If your new to Joomla I highly recommend you install it with the dummy content, its a great way of learning the basics in no time at all.


where can i get the dummy content because I have the site installed and i got the page up that i need but it still does
n't work

I get this error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, [email protected] and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21713
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Setting up a static page

Postby Per Yngve Berg » Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:08 pm

Try to turn off SEF/SEO in global configuration

EPMKMG
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:35 am

Re: Setting up a static page

Postby EPMKMG » Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:52 pm

Per Yngve Berg wrote:Try to turn off SEF/SEO in global configuration


I tried that and got the same result

EPMKMG
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:35 am

Re: Setting up a static page

Postby EPMKMG » Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:43 pm

One page is working, that page was there already I duplicated the page and i still get the same error. www.limecircuit.com and its two links under the drop menu that I am having trouble with


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests