The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:49 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:07 am
Posts: 13
Hi everyone please forgive my ignorance I'm new to Joomla and web developing but loving learning it. These forums are very helpful and I've learnt a lot using them.

Ok, I'm trying to make my own website using the default responsive "Prostar" template. The only problem I have is that the Main-menu doesn't show more than 2 levels of "Sub-menu items". I select the "End Level" in the menu modules settings as "All" or "3" but it still doesn't reveal any other sub-menu items other than the 2nd level drop down items.

I've used other templates to check that the menu is setup correctly but just cant get that third level on sub-menu items on the Prostar template.

Has anyone noticed this on the "Prostar" template or am I doing something obviously wrong ???

Any information will be appreciated ;)
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:03 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
By main menu do you mean the one across the top? That's because of he horizontal layout. There isn't really a way to show deeper levels there without some more javascript such as for a megamenu. You'd probably want to get an extension for that.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:17 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:07 am
Posts: 13
Hi mcsmom
Thanks for the reply, yes I do mean the navigation menu at the top. I thought the menus were all controlled in the main template CSS file? Is javascript file that needs to be modified in the template directory?

I looked at a few extensions but couldn't find one that I liked. Can you recommend any non-commercial menu extensions.

cheers,


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:32 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:07 am
Posts: 13
Found the same problem in the prostar template section.

viewtopic.php?f=725&t=766421

If anyone's wondering I think they limited the sub menus to one level to preserve backwards compatibility. As seen in the last comment Sep 06 2012.

https://github.com/kyleledbetter/joomla ... .protostar


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chan5en, FlashRebel and 76 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group