The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 4:29 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:07 pm
Posts: 11
After installation to the web server with joomla 3.0.3 and PHP 5.3.8 I get this error
"Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error" and nothing is working.
On the local site to my PC there is no error.
Have anybody a solution for this problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:45 pm 
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:27 am
Posts: 527
Check your database config.

_________________
Al Warren
This ain't my first rodeo. Red Foreman says it best.
CQDX de WR5AW


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:41 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:07 pm
Posts: 11
I had the wrong user and password in the configuration.php file, the applic. could not speak with the db, I changed everthing and now is working.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:57 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:13 am
Posts: 10
thank you
It is not so easy to edit the configuration.php file, but finaly it work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 11:25 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:14 am
Posts: 6
Hi dear,
How did you resolve this Error ?
"Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error"
I get also same Error after configuration I need some help to you

Imran Shah


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:21 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:22 am
Posts: 4
Location: Baker, Florida
@alwarren - just wanted you to know this helped me a LOT. I had no clue what the problem was and checking the config file fixed it right up. It saved me HOURS.

THANKS! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 6:53 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:52 pm
Posts: 22
I have a Joomla 3.1 latest install, (gantry template) and receiving the same error. (backend and frontend too) I have a "big" traffic (200 visitor in every minute), and I think a the mysql database has too many connections and that's the problem. I have no missing table, my configuration file is correct.

Is this a joomla issue or a misconfigured server?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 8:35 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:12 pm
Posts: 10
same problem for joomla 3.1 its happened suddenly.. any suggested solution for it?

_________________
Owner @ http://www.southlb.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/omais


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:00 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:49 am
Posts: 13
Location: California
Just got this error today after site has been running for a few weeks. Any solutions other than config?

_________________
There is no such thing as a stupid question. There is only a stupid answer.
I'm not here because I want to be. I am here because I need help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:38 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:52 pm
Posts: 22
Can you pls tell me what plugins, 3rd party components do you use?

I got this error on a shared account and on VPS too. Then I get a better VPS server and I asked a pro to configure my server and since then it works perfectly. Same plugins, same components.
I uninstalled only one plugin, a migration tool.

I thought when I got this error, was a high traffic, maybe because of too many mysql connection. Since the cache on my new server was configured, this problem is gone.

So try to cache as many page, as you can. See error logs on the server also...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:53 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 164
Location: istanbul
configuration.php in the database type: mysqli, changing the mysql

_________________
http://www.mmcn.org Kişisel WebBlog
http://www.elmatrend.com iPhone, iPad, iOS, Apple Blogu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 1:27 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 14
UH-OH.. I have problems.. I have this seam error.... but after reviewing it's not just the config that's the problem..

per my error log:

[16-Aug-2013 09:24:02 America/New_York] PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/usr/local/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20090626/php_pdo_mssql.dll' - /usr/local/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20090626/php_pdo_mssql.dll: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory in Unknown on line 0


[16-Aug-2013 09:24:02 America/New_York] PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/usr/local/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20090626/php_sqlsrv_53_nts.dll' - /usr/local/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20090626/php_sqlsrv_53_nts.dll: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory in Unknown on line 0


Now.. another interesting thing:

on the same server, same account, same website... I have a wordpress that is connecting just fine to a mysql db... so this seems to be a joomla specific issue


Last edited by stevenryals on Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:44 pm 
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm
Posts: 3275
Have someone look at your PHP configuration. You shouldn't try to load things that are not there!

Create your own topic with the Forum Post Assistent output, see the header of this forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:57 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 1:22 am
Posts: 57
Location: Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Is it possible that this problem could be caused by a latency or connectivity problem? This is the second time I have had this problem, it is occuring in both the site and the administrator, and the first time the problem seemed to go away by itself and the initiation file didn´t show anthing wrong. Only thing I did that may or may not have fixed it was resent my php version in the controlpanel, but this could be a coincidence not the solution.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:03 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 14
For my problem:

it's a linux server so i dont know why it was loading *.dll files
so i simply deleted the extensions = ******.dll from the php config
that cleared the errors
but still had the Application Instantiation Error! on joomla
so after much tinkering
changing the db host from localhost to 127.0.0.1 fixed the problem..
i have no idea why this just happened out of nowhere .. .??
but, it's up and working


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:30 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 1:22 am
Posts: 57
Location: Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Great Steven,
In my case I contacted my host and in fact the problem occured because the SQL server was offline even though the html server was up and running. my Monitoring service (pingdom) doesn't catch this as the site is still technically "online" in terms of HTML - HTTP. I caught onto the problem because I have several sites on the server, and only the ones that called on the faulty database were failing. SO for anyone who has this error spontaneously rather than as a result of an install or from recent work on the site one could check with the hosting service to verify the status of the sql server before getting deep into code.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:10 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:52 pm
Posts: 37
Hi, I had this error constantly but my Joomla configuration.php file was perfect. I can't say what caused the problem, but I can tell you how to fix it (may not be perminant but it will get you back online).

You need to fix the database (from extensions>extensionsmanager>database>fix)
Or you can (if you don't have access to the backend) repair the SQL dabase in phpMyAdmin.

More info is here:
http://www.andrewbrettwatson.com/index.php/more/joomla-help/253-how-to-fix-the-joomla-3-0-error-displaying-the-error-page-application-instantiation-error-even-if-you-configuration-php-file-is-correct-and-unchanged

I hope this helps some people.

_________________
Knowing everything isn't the goal. Knowing what the goal is, is everything. http://www.youtukan.com http://www.neuropool.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:57 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 6:16 pm
Posts: 3
I seem to be getting this error on my site.

We had a hard [drive] issue today and had to swap out [drive]. When we restored everything, we got this error.

I've verified that the information in configuration.php is correct including the user, database, host and password. Even made sure "mysql" was set for the db type.

I've repaired the database via phpMyAdmin and it showed no errors.

I've even tried changing the host to 127.0.0.1, and that hasn't helped.

I can't access the site or the administration panel.

Other sites on the same server are working fine.

Any suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:23 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:52 pm
Posts: 37
@BryanG

Gosh, that would be frustrating! Start by checking the file permissions on configuration.php set it to 644, then if that doesn't work, try resetting all the file permissions sitewide. 644 for files, 755 for directories.

If you still can't fix it, try doing an sql export and then import it into a new database (and of course change your configuration.php to the new db), I'm clutching at straws here, but I do know the error is to do with failure to connect to the database.

Also, I know nothing about servers realy, but make sure the apropriate services are running on your server to allow connection to the database?..?

_________________
Knowing everything isn't the goal. Knowing what the goal is, is everything. http://www.youtukan.com http://www.neuropool.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:41 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:46 am
Posts: 12
Location: Singapore
Hi all, i would just like to share how i solved this problem. I used gantry and joomla 3.1.5 and when i ported everything to a shared server, this error kept coming up. I have built many joomla sites before so i knew it was not the configuration file issue. No back end admin login as well.. bummer! after 18 hrs of trial and error, i went back to the basics of troubleshooting and freshly copied a new gantryjoomla3 site and ran the installer, thats when i noticed the magic_quotes thingy was still on. Here was the strange part.. my hosting provider claimed it had been turned off 4 hrs ago and when i checked the phpinfo.. it showed that it was turned off! Take note that Joomla 3 cannot be installed without magic_quotes turned off. So i needed to write a php.ini file to locally turn it off (think this happens only for shared web hosting)
Anyway ,this forum entry gave me the clues to solved my problem in the end:
viewtopic.php?f=708&t=812120

fire up notepad and type:
Code:
magic_quotes_gpc = Off
magic_quotes_runtime = Off
magic_quotes_sybase = Off
extension=pdo.so
extension=pdo_mysql.so


then save it as php.ini file.
Place it at your root directory
Modify the servers .htaccess file , add this line:
Code:
SetEnv PHPRC /<pathtoyourhomedir>/public_html/php.ini

Only after i did that, then the joomla 3 installer permitted me to install a fresh copy.
The strange part was that after i confirmed that joomla 3 could run on my server, i returned back to my original copied site and it still had the same issue of "Application Instantiation Error!" even when config files of my troubleshooting site and intended joomla site were the same!!
This made me believe that it could be some cache thing with joomla3. Anyway, in the end i just copied over whatever images folder over to the test site and updated the imported my database over and viola! Got it to work!
Hope this saves time for some..
Peace out!

_________________
"Skin of the mothers, mouths of the babes.."
"..Heroes in stretches inch to the site.."
http://www.squareglobecreations.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 5:17 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 5:15 pm
Posts: 1
It is worth mentioning that typos in the dbprefix variable in the configuration file can cause this error also. Check to make sure that your prefix is correct if you have renamed tables, moved servers, or just misspelled it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 3:16 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 3:12 am
Posts: 1
alwarren wrote:
Check your database config.

thanks, I worked


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:12 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 1
me too how to fix it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 11:28 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 12:36 pm
Posts: 13
It can also be that your mysql server has crashed and/or is having errors.

If it's on in your own control, you can just restart it. But if it's on a shared host, you do not have that those privileges: you can check the status via phpmyadmin or similar, you would normally have access to that... and if it's offline you need to (a) wait until your host solves it for you, or (b) contact the sales/tech people by phone or chat or email to tell them that.

I had the error today, and it took me about 8min* longer to figure out what the problem was (and find out I have no restart-privileges on a shared host, obviously) than it took my host to detect and solve the problem!

*I do not know how long it was offline of course, I just noticed "hey no website, instatiation error" and "hey, no administrator login neither". Basically, by the time I checked the database server status, it had been restarted 8min ago, and I checked then and saw my website (and admin login) worked again. Pff.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:35 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 1
Hello, my joomla web page is working in xampp,
when I uploaded it I got message: Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation

so I chcecked
Code:
public $host = 'localhost'; ///// is this line OK, or threre are some exceptions<////   
public $user = xxx   
public $password = xxx   
public $db =xxx


maybe the problem can be also here:
Code:
public $tmp_path = '/tmp';   
public $log_path = '/logs';


in my case my tmp and logs are save in :
Code:
/www_root/tmp
/www_root/logs


Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:13 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 8:18 am
Posts: 5
Location: Melbourne
I was thinking that you all pointed out a number of things that had to do with us having to add or modify something from our website files.
Let's think a bit different now. I am having same problem. It was working perfectly locally, and also on a server that gave us a space to preview the site, online. And it was working also.
Problem started when we switch web hosting from Melbourne IT to Crazydomains. We transferred the domain but didn't change the domain name servers so it is pointing to the old one instead of the recommended by Crazydomains. Some other third party provide the service for the emails for this domain so Crazydomains have to do something at their end. A Record.
For now I am still getting the 'Displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error!'.
Hope this give you some clues.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:30 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 12:36 pm
Posts: 13
Good luck with that, Jcmos!

Your situation does differ from others' though, in causes: First you have those where your system has the wrong info because you've done something (e.g., you've locked yourself out by changing the database name in the backend, while not having a copy of the database with the new name), I mentioned a case where nothing seems to have changed and indeed nothing under your control has (just the db server/app must be restarted)... They are situations where you have seemingly no more info than "App instant err!", so that's the only search term useable.

Your case however is a problem during a (planned) migration -- so you know in what corner to look for: hosting migration checklists/troubleshooters/..., and a few good search terms for answers come readily to mind.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:26 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2
I run multiple Joomla 3.1 and 3.2 installation on my local server with Wamp server 2. Everything was find. But i upgraded Windows 8 to Windows 8.1, so i decided to upgrade to the new version of Wamp too. And as soon as the upgrades of Windows and Wamp was done, i could'nt access to the website back or front, i got this too :

" Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error"


In my case, despite this error, i can install a new fresh Joomla Installation, it works fine. But the multiple old installations got the error message after Wamp upgrade. And if i uninstall Wamp and re-install it, the brand new Joomla installation won't work anymore and i would get the error message above.

I don't understand what is going on. Configuration.php file is OK, Apache, SQL, PHP modules seems to be OK. SO to make it simple, everything was fine until the upgrade or the re-installation of WAMP.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:12 pm
Posts: 2
Hi guys,

I had the same problem and I SOLVED IT with renaming the public $dbprefix = 'XXX'; in the configuration.php file.

Hope it helps you :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:56 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:30 pm
Posts: 3
I had the same error when I tried to migrate server on a website I'm working on:

"Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error"

I tried several tutorials and none of them worked. Then, I uploaded it all again to a different folder inside the server and imported all the database again, it made the 3.2 work, but some of the modules and plugins are not working correctly.

Now I had the same "Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error" in other website and not even doing the same steps is working.

I already checked the configuration.php several times and is all correct.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group