The Joomla! Forum ™

Forum rules

Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:32 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Hi everybody!

I searched the forums but couldn't find the answer to an installation issue i'm having with Joomla 3.03.

Even though php 5.4.12 VC9, apache 2.4.4 and mysql 5.6 are working fine, Joomla gets stuck while creating the database tables.

Is there any known solution to this problem?

Thank you,

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:09 pm 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Do the database user have permissions to create tables in the database?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:20 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

first of all, thank you for your time.

The mysql user is the root one, so i don't think there's a problem with creating tables..

consider also that even if the process gets stuck it does create some tables in the db... and then it hangs on forever.. is there a way to get some logging file of sort?? any other idea?

thank you,

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:35 am 
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Haven't used Mysql 5.6 yet, and I doubt a lot of others have. I'd probably first test to see if all tables can be created normally. You can do this by getting /installation/sql/mysql/joomla.sql. Copy it somewhere to a file called test.sql, open file, replace #__ (double underscore) with jos_, save document. Create a test database with either phpmyadmin or the mysql command prompt. Then import the file with the replaced prefix.

If you do this on the command prompt it will be:

mysql -u root -p
enter password
create database test;
exit
mysql -u root -p test < test.sql

Have fun

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:43 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling