Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

A place to discuss recent announcements made by the Joomla! Core Team. Let's hear what you have to say.
User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21265
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby pe7er » Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:42 pm

Here you can discuss about the release of Joomla 3.2.0 Stable
See Announcement: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=825286
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Latest website: https://pronounce.eu/

User avatar
mirovic
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:07 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby mirovic » Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:44 pm

After upgrade from 3.1.5 to 3.2 I have this error on Administrator Control Panel page and new Post-Installation Messages component page in administration:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class JDispatcher in Unknown on line 0

How can I fix it?

hansju
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby hansju » Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:10 pm

Following upgrade from 3.1.5 using internal upgrade to 3.2.0, found that some pages did not display under Admin (Control page and Settings).
Was able to log out, but following login's gives me a blank page after succesfull login.
Have also tried to upload all new 3.2.0 files via FTP, but no change to above faillure.

The webpage itself displays as normal, this is "only" related to admin login :-[

Any idea what may be the cause?

Also found that "configuration.php" had been set to 444, while my other domain (similar and succesfull upgrade) displays 600 on file properties.
Hans Utne

clunky
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:32 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby clunky » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:11 pm

Hi I am facing a similar issue although my front end has gone, just a blank page whereas my admin seems fine.
I had a load of database errors afrer the upgrade but I clicked the fix button and then there were no errors, just no front end site.

I have checked permissions but cannot see anything obvious.

help please?

User avatar
grujamg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby grujamg » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:36 pm

In the release of Joomla 3.2.0 Stable please correct in Language Manager: Content Languages of Serbian Latin in Native Title you must tipe Srpski-latinica (not Srpski-ćirilica) becouse it is Language Tag sr-YU (not sr-RS).Thank you.

User avatar
TheWebSet
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:15 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby TheWebSet » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:53 pm

Yup, same here. Just updated from 3.1.5 to 3.2 and the front-end is now blank. It appears to be isolated to the index.html, because other page URLs manually entered work fine. Any suggestions appreciated. We just launched yesterday...what a bummer on this update.
"All government, of course, is against liberty."
H. L. Mencken

peebee10
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:09 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby peebee10 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:47 pm

Had the same issue: Blank pages on the front end after upgrade from 3.1.5 to 3.2

I've isolated my problem to JotCache. If I disable JotCache plugin, pages return and everything back to normal. Turn JotCache back on - blank pages again. Cleared the existing cache (browser & page) and purged expired cache - no difference if JotCache is enabled - blank pages. So I can say it is definitely JotCache causing the blank pages in J3.2 in my particular case. (JotCache was working just fine in 3.1.5)

NOTE: I have to confess to using not the latest version of JotCache (using V3.1.3 from March) so that is possibly my own fault for this problem. Will update to latest version of JotCache and check if problem persists.

Just thought it might help somebody in the same position as me.

*EDIT: Just updated JotCache to V3.1.5 (Compatibility J3.2) and problem persists - blank pages on front end when JotCache is enabled. To make sure, I uninstalled previous JotCache version and installed fresh JotCache 3.1.5. Still blank pages whenever enabled. Maybe my JotCache settings - maybe more to it?

ozidog
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 12:43 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby ozidog » Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:42 am

I didn't have jolCache.. But got a blank frontend. Have deleted and reinstalled 3.1 from backup

prinla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:50 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby prinla » Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:00 am

Hello,

I had a big problem after installing the auto-update to 3.2

An error message "1146 Table 'XXX_postinstall_messages' doesn't exist SQL=SHOW FULL COLUMNS FROM `joom_postinstall_messages" appeared and blocked the access to the admin control panel !!!

Another joonla user had the same problem:
viewtopic.php?f=707&t=825351

I finally resolved the problem by downloading the "3.2 Update" manually and installing it over the "Extensions-Install". I am still missing some small pics in my control panel but at least I can work again.

Even if it works for me right now, could you please check it and prevent others from having the same problem ?

Thankx

aladarius
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 2:38 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby aladarius » Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:34 am

After upgrading from 3.15 to 3.2, I'm getting:

Fatal error: Call to a member function getTag() on a non-object in /home/trendswi/public_html/libraries/cms/application/site.php on line 305"

...on all front-end pages.

HELP!

User avatar
Nick Savov
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:40 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby Nick Savov » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:30 am

For everyone that's getting a blank page on the front-end, go to:
1) Your admin area
2) System (top menu)
3) Global configuration (sub menu)
4) Server (tab)
5) Turn error reporting to maximum
6) Save
7) Check your blank page, refresh, and see if you get a detailed error message. If so, post in this forum topic.

As to everyone else, please create a backup and try installing the following package, as you would an extension, to reset all your core files:
http://joomlacode.org/gf/download/frsre ... ackage.zip

Kind regards,
Nick
Online Joomla Training at: http://www.ostraining.com/online/

"God is most glorified in us, when we are most satisfied in Him" - http://www.desiringgod.org/

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17981
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby infograf768 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:02 am

grujamg wrote:In the release of Joomla 3.2.0 Stable please correct in Language Manager: Content Languages of Serbian Latin in Native Title you must tipe Srpski-latinica (not Srpski-ćirilica) becouse it is Language Tag sr-YU (not sr-RS).Thank you.

Will let this know to Serbian Translation Coordinator, but the change can only be done for 3.2.1
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

voxace
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby voxace » Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:40 am

aladarius wrote:After upgrading from 3.15 to 3.2, I'm getting:

Fatal error: Call to a member function getTag() on a non-object in /home/trendswi/public_html/libraries/cms/application/site.php on line 305"

...on all front-end pages.

HELP!


I'm getting the same thing. How can we fix this?

daveburstein
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:32 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby daveburstein » Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:22 am

My Joomla update component is telling me I have the latest with 3.1.5 whether I check short or long term support. What should I check?

db

hansju
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby hansju » Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:04 am

Nick Savov wrote:As to everyone else, please create a backup and try installing the following package, as you would an extension, to reset all your core files:
http://joomlacode.org/gf/download/frsre ... ackage.zip

Nick,

Tried a re-install as suggested, but my index.php page under Administrator is still blank (backend). All other admin-pages seems to work, except I am unable to hide the Joomla Extension Directory install message :'(

Anything else you could suggest?
Hans Utne

User avatar
jomlary
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 10:32 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby jomlary » Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:37 am

hansju wrote:
Nick Savov wrote:As to everyone else, please create a backup and try installing the following package, as you would an extension, to reset all your core files:
http://joomlacode.org/gf/download/frsre ... ackage.zip

Nick,

Tried a re-install as suggested, but my index.php page under Administrator is still blank (backend). All other admin-pages seems to work, except I am unable to hide the Joomla Extension Directory install message :'(

Anything else you could suggest?


Hi, i have the same problem...

Hugg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:11 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby Hugg » Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:16 am

Sorry, but how the hell, can you release this and call it stable?

The updater stops at around 83,4% and then it redirects to:
administrator/index.php?option=com_joomlaupdate&task=update.finalise
where it's blank and nothing happens.

After that I get errors about "Wrong version table" when logging in through my host, and admin backend/login page is just blank.

How?...Why?...

mundsen
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:48 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby mundsen » Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:33 am

Hi!
Updated my site to 3.2. Stable
After the upgrade my frontpage is blank, but admin works fine
Turned Error reporting to Maximum, then i get this message on my frontpage:

Notice: Undefined property: PlgSystemJSNTPLFramework::$app in /usr/local/pem/vhosts/102638/webspace/httpdocs/multiprop/libraries/cms/plugin/plugin.php on line 102 Fatal error: Call to protected method JApplicationSite::route() from context 'PlgSystemJSNTPLFramework' in /usr/local/pem/vhosts/102638/webspace/httpdocs/multiprop/plugins/system/jsntplframework/jsntplframework.php on line 112

Can this be the problem? Anyone knows a way to fix this?

solracpt
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:19 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby solracpt » Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:46 am

Hy, I looked over Joomla release page at http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... tion=index

and for this new version J3.2.0, I only see updates or full packages.

Will be released any patch package for this version, like 3.1.x to 3.2.0?

Previous versions have for example Joomla_3.1.x_to_3.1.6 or Joomla_3.1.5_to_3.1.6, this is also a easy to see what changes and upgrades are made into Joomla files for a developer.

Kind regards

kat05
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:28 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby kat05 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 11:09 am

hi,

(just a note to some peeps who posted about blank pages without mentioning any specific errors)

whenever you see a blank page in joomla, make sure to go to your joomla administrator and set 'error reporting' = maximum in the 'global configuration'.

then refresh the blank page to see if any error messages show that will help us further.

if you do not have any access to your administrator, use your ftp program to access your joomla installation and open the configuration.php file in the joomla root.

there you find the line that starts with:

Code: Select all

public $error_reporting


for example it could be:

Code: Select all

public $error_reporting 'default'


simply edit that line to be:

Code: Select all

public $error_reporting 'maximum'


then save the file and refresh the blank page to get any more detailed error messages.

kat :)

Kerdionu
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 11:21 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby Kerdionu » Thu Nov 07, 2013 11:36 am

My front page is not totally blank, there's only the name of the site which is a link to index.php. The error I get is this:

Fatal error: Call to undefined method JApplicationSite::stringURLSafe() in /www/apache/domains/www.reorg.ee/htdocs/modules/mod_jxtc_hikashopwall/tmpl/default_parse.php on line 43

Any ideas?

EDIT: I disabled the mentioned items and everything works. I guess I need to find alternatives of some kind or an update for that module.

mundsen
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:48 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby mundsen » Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:33 pm

mundsen wrote:Hi!
Updated my site to 3.2. Stable
After the upgrade my frontpage is blank, but admin works fine
Turned Error reporting to Maximum, then i get this message on my frontpage:

Notice: Undefined property: PlgSystemJSNTPLFramework::$app in /usr/local/pem/vhosts/102638/webspace/httpdocs/multiprop/libraries/cms/plugin/plugin.php on line 102 Fatal error: Call to protected method JApplicationSite::route() from context 'PlgSystemJSNTPLFramework' in /usr/local/pem/vhosts/102638/webspace/httpdocs/multiprop/plugins/system/jsntplframework/jsntplframework.php on line 112

Can this be the problem? Anyone knows a way to fix this?


Found that the files was related to a template from joomlashine that I do not use (not the active template). Updated it from v1 to v2 and my site is ok :-)

Joobobber
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:19 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby Joobobber » Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:38 pm

Same problem here, a blank page on the frontend.
I have set error reporting to maximum.
This is the error I get:
"Fatal error: Call to a member function getItems() on a non-object in .../public_html/components/com_sef/joomsef.php on line 1102"

As you will understand help would be much appreciated ;-)

hansju
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby hansju » Thu Nov 07, 2013 2:08 pm

kat05 wrote:whenever you see a blank page in joomla, make sure to go to your joomla administrator and set 'error reporting' = maximum in the 'global configuration'

kat05,
Fair enough, but what I am told (a reference to /administrator/components/com_postinstall) does not solve anything 8)
Disabling this component results in a readable admin window (backend), but now with another error-message I cannot get rid of (ref to the same component, but now unable to sort a db table). For a normal user this is not helpfull :-[

And, from what I can see in this thread, there is no common issue as all seems to have different module/component faults.

So, my original problem is still unresolved.
Hans Utne

Hugg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:11 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby Hugg » Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:49 pm

Hugg wrote:Sorry, but how the hell, can you release this and call it stable?

The updater stops at around 83,4% and then it redirects to:
administrator/index.php?option=com_joomlaupdate&task=update.finalise
where it's blank and nothing happens.

After that I get errors about "Wrong version table" when logging in through my host, and admin backend/login page is just blank.

How?...Why?...


An update:
I downloaded the update package (zip) and sent everything over by FTP, which took like an hour or so, and then... nothing, same blank.
I have however enabled maximum error reporting through FTP and it gives me this now:

Code: Select all

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class JComponentHelper in /mnt/data/vhosts/*.*.net/httpdocs/libraries/legacy/component/helper.php on line 20

this is when trying to reach /administrator/ (backend) or the frontend.

If this has something to do with 3rd party component in need of an update then I don't understand why it says:
We encourage all 3.1 users to upgrade from 3.1 to 3.2 right away as 3.2 contains the security fixes and is a one-click upgrade with full backward compatibility support from 3.1.

on http://www.joomla.org/announcements/rel ... eased.html

Apparently, it's the opposite, a one-click site-breaker with no backward compatibility?
Last edited by Hugg on Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mbabker
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm
Location: White Bear Lake, MN, USA
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby mbabker » Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:53 pm

Kerdionu wrote:My front page is not totally blank, there's only the name of the site which is a link to index.php. The error I get is this:

Fatal error: Call to undefined method JApplicationSite::stringURLSafe() in /www/apache/domains/www.reorg.ee/htdocs/modules/mod_jxtc_hikashopwall/tmpl/default_parse.php on line 43

Any ideas?

EDIT: I disabled the mentioned items and everything works. I guess I need to find alternatives of some kind or an update for that module.


Thanks for your note. This is actually a use case that was not accounted for in refactoring some code, a patch is now proposed to fix the core code for it as other developers may have the same issue in their code.
Past: Release Lead, Security Team Member, CMS Maintainer
Present: Framework Maintainer, .org System Administrator, Bug Squad Member
Future: Going Insane

Manually updating Joomla? See https://gist.github.com/mbabker/d7bfb4e ... 3607f89281

User avatar
mbabker
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm
Location: White Bear Lake, MN, USA
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby mbabker » Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:57 pm

Hugg wrote:
Hugg wrote:Sorry, but how the hell, can you release this and call it stable?

The updater stops at around 83,4% and then it redirects to:
administrator/index.php?option=com_joomlaupdate&task=update.finalise
where it's blank and nothing happens.

After that I get errors about "Wrong version table" when logging in through my host, and admin backend/login page is just blank.

How?...Why?...


An update:
I downloaded the update package (zip) and sent everything over by FTP, which took like an hour or so, and then... nothing, same blank.
I have however enabled maximum error reporting through FTP and it gives me this now:

Code: Select all

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class JComponentHelper in /mnt/data/vhosts/*.*.net/httpdocs/libraries/legacy/component/helper.php on line 20

this is when trying to reach /administrator/ (backend) or the frontend.


Unfortunately, you have an issue where old files are not deleted. There were some files shifted around before 3.2. If you have shell access, you can run the CLI script at cli/deletefiles.php to automate this removal, otherwise you'll need to remove the files I've highlighted at https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/bl ... L651-L1012 to properly update your file structure from 3.1.5 to 3.2.0.
Past: Release Lead, Security Team Member, CMS Maintainer
Present: Framework Maintainer, .org System Administrator, Bug Squad Member
Future: Going Insane

Manually updating Joomla? See https://gist.github.com/mbabker/d7bfb4e ... 3607f89281

User avatar
TheWebSet
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:15 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby TheWebSet » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:08 pm

Update - after experiencing a blank home page after updating from v3.1.5 to v3.2.0:

Our error reports:


Stemming from the JEvents component, a module displaying upcoming calendar events:

Code: Select all

../public_html/modules/mod_jevents_latest/tmpl/default/latest.php on line 119
Disabling the JEvents module resolved the issue, but no fix as to how re-enable the module. The rest of the JEvents component seems to work as expected.

and


Stemming from Xmap, a sitemap component:

Code: Select all

Warning: require_once(../public_html/includes/application.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in ../public_html/components/com_xmap/helpers/xmap.php on line 12

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required
'../public_html/includes/application.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in
../public_html/components/com_xmap/helpers/xmap.php on line 12
Commenting out line 12 of the Xmap code resolved the issue, however, would prefer the correct fix.

Thanks for the help.
"All government, of course, is against liberty."
H. L. Mencken

User avatar
mbabker
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm
Location: White Bear Lake, MN, USA
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby mbabker » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:28 pm

XMap will need to issue their own update. The includes/application.php file is no longer present in 3.2.

Could you post a more detailed message for the JEvents message? Without having their code in front of me, it's hard to know what's wrong with just a line number.
Past: Release Lead, Security Team Member, CMS Maintainer
Present: Framework Maintainer, .org System Administrator, Bug Squad Member
Future: Going Insane

Manually updating Joomla? See https://gist.github.com/mbabker/d7bfb4e ... 3607f89281

User avatar
TheWebSet
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:15 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.2.0 Stable Released

Postby TheWebSet » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:58 pm

Could you post a more detailed message for the JEvents message? Without having their code in front of me, it's hard to know what's wrong with just a line number.

This is lines 114-124.

Code: Select all

// get params exclusive to component
      $this->com_starday = intval($jevents_config->get('com_starday', 0));
      $this->com_calUseStdTime = intval($jevents_config->get('com_calUseStdTime', 1));
      if ($this->com_calUseStdTime)
      {
         $this->defaultfFormatStr = JFactory::getApplication()->isWinOS() ? $this->_defaultfFormatStr12winos : $this->_defaultfFormatStr12;
      }
      else
      {
         $this->defaultfFormatStr = $this->_defaultfFormatStr24;
      }

Line 119 is:

Code: Select all

   $this->defaultfFormatStr = JFactory::getApplication()->isWinOS() ? $this->_defaultfFormatStr12winos : $this->_defaultfFormatStr12;


Thanks for your help.
"All government, of course, is against liberty."
H. L. Mencken


Return to “Announcements Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests