The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 12:42 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:51 pm
Posts: 723
Location: West Kelowna, BC
Hi,

I have a site that was running Joomla 3.1.6 and just did the 1 click button upgrade to 3.2.1. The admin backend now shows the following error:

Fatal error: Class FOFModel cannot extend from interface JModel in /home/<username>/public_html/libraries/fof/model.php on line 21

I tried uploading a complete new copy of the libararies 3.2.1 source, but that didn't help.

Any ideas how to resolve this issue?

The frontend still seems to be working properly.

Note that this was originally a 2.5 site that got upgraded to 3.0

System info:
Linux 2.6.32-358.6.2.el6.x86_64 #1 SMP Thu May 16 20:59:36 UTC 2013 x86_64
Database Version 5.1.68-cll
Database Collation utf8_general_ci
PHP Version 5.3.28
Web Server Apache/2.2.26 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.26 OpenSSL/1.0.0-fips mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_fcgid/2.3.6
WebServer to PHP Interface cgi-fcgi

Thank you for any help on this.

_________________
Laurelle
Keashly.ca Consulting
http://www.keashly.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 1:37 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25002
Location: @Webdongle
Found someone with the same error message but when installing a Template http://www.arrowthemes.com/forum/legend ... -zip-files

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 4:18 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:51 pm
Posts: 723
Location: West Kelowna, BC
Hi,

Sorry, but that didn't help. It didn't have any instructions on what to do to get the backend admin back working. I followed the link to this page: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/pull/2519 but that is a fix for the upgrade/installed. I need a fix for a site that has used the upgrader and broke.

I have a about 10 sites that were all started from the site I am trying to upgrade, so I need a fix or I have a whole lot of sites that can't be upgraded.

Anyone else have this problem and know how to fix it?

Thank you.

_________________
Laurelle
Keashly.ca Consulting
http://www.keashly.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:52 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25002
Location: @Webdongle
ljk wrote:
... I need a fix for a site that has used the upgrader and broke.
...
Recover by deleting the files, dropping the database and restoring with your backup.
or
Restore your backup on a test environment

Then...
Make sure all your 3rd party extensions are up to date, set Protostar as default Template ... then try the update again.

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:16 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:51 pm
Posts: 723
Location: West Kelowna, BC
Hi,

For anyone else that has this issue, here are the instructions to get your site back working from Nicholas Dionysopoulos:

You have tried to install a very old FOF-based component which was designed for Joomla! 1.5 only. This screwed up your installation. You should be able to easily fix it by doing the following steps in the order specified:

1. Delete the libraries/fof directory from your site
2. Download FOF 2.1.1
3. Extract the ZIP file locally
4. Upload the fof directory you extracted into your site's libraries directory Assuming that the older component you installed isn't using a private copy of FOF 1.x and loading it via a plugin you should get access to your site. Otherwise you will have to determine which plugin is trying to load the very old FOF version and delete it from your site.

This worked for me.

_________________
Laurelle
Keashly.ca Consulting
http://www.keashly.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:51 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 25002
Location: @Webdongle
ljk wrote:
...
You have tried to install a very old FOF-based component which was designed for Joomla! 1.5 only. This screwed up your installation. ....

Yep part of what I said
Webdongle wrote:
Make sure all your 3rd party extensions are up to date

_________________
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'

http://weblinksonline.co.uk/joomla-faq.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:07 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 13013
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
@ Laurelle: The FOF issue is well documented on teh forums. Nicholas was so kind to write for Joomla the initial update (core) based on his Tools and he provided that fee-of-charge.

He was also the first to identify this issue and gladly you found his post to resolve your issue

Good call!

Leo 8)

_________________
--- Joomla Professional Support Services :: http://gws-desk.com ---
--- Joomla Professional and Specialized Hosting :: http://gws-host.com ---
--- Ready to Roll Joomla! Web Sites : 1 - 7 days only! :: @ gws-market.com ---


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stormit and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group