For all those with JFTP errors

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
worcester4x4
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: Worcester, England

For all those with JFTP errors

Post by worcester4x4 » Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:01 pm

Do you have upload problems and getting errors of the type "JFTP mkdir Bad Response"?

Forum member kezako13 just provided me with his workaround which I tried on my troublesome install and it works.

In Global Config - Server set the path of the temp folder to the absolute path (in my case /home/sites/domain.co.uk/public_html/tmp but yours will be different). The standard 1.5 install sets a relative path for this folder so change it to absolute.

Turn the FTP layer off.

Upload away!  :)

Let me know if it works for you as well?

Many thanks to kezako13 for coming up with this one.

Pete
In the beginning the Universe was created. This made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.

 
basilthelizard
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:25 pm

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by basilthelizard » Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:34 pm

sweet baby jesus!

User avatar
krackerjax
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:14 am
Location: Louisiana, USA
Contact:

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by krackerjax » Thu Dec 13, 2007 4:34 am

Holy cows of Switzerland!  It worked!  I've seen tons of people posting about the FTP error and no one really seemed to respond much.  Much thanks!  I've been racking my brains thinking it might have been a permission problem as I don't like to set any files to "writable" unless it is ultimately necessary.  Then if necessary I cmod them back from writable.
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein

lukeparker
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Overland Park, KS

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by lukeparker » Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:11 pm

Not working here....

Let me get this perfectly clear: Are you saying to:

Go under global config, under the server tab, and Change my TMP path:

/var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/tmp/

To my absolute path:

/var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/

And then select "No" beside "Enable FTP?"

Because here's what happens when I did that:

First of all, I got the error: "JFTP::write: Bad response" as soon as I tried to save it there. (And apparently always get that error when saving after turning FTP off, but never back on.)

So not to be deterred, I edited configuration.php directly to change those two values and re-upload the file manually.

I then came back inside, made sure the changes took effect, and now when I go to install any component I get the error:

"Warning! - Failed to move file" -Which I think is an improvement, (no JFTP error) but still doesn't let me do anything.

And before you ask, yes, I am using J! 1.5 R4 & have Legacy enabled.

Any Ideas, anyone?

User avatar
krackerjax
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:14 am
Location: Louisiana, USA
Contact:

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by krackerjax » Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:40 pm

lukeparker wrote: Are you saying to:

Go under global config, under the server tab, and Change my TMP path:

/var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/tmp/
To my absolute path:

/var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/

From what you wrote, you didn't change the paths from relative to absolute.  There are two types of paths: absolute and relative.  A relative path is /var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/tmp/. The absolute path would be http://www.yoursite.com/tmp.&nbsp; Replace yoursite.com with whatever your domain is.
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein

lukeparker
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Overland Park, KS

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by lukeparker » Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:51 pm

Thank you for writing in... I'm desperate here!

I see your point... I guess I forgot what the word absolute meant... Not a full-time coder as you've guessed by now. :)

However, I tried it and I'm getting a different error:

"
        * JFolder::create: Path not in open_basedir paths
        * Warning! - Failed to move file

"

Not only did I change the path to temp to the Absolute:

http://www.mydomain.com

but I also tried it with the /tmp at the end:

http://www.mydomain.com/tmp

Both had the same error message. (Above.)

Those are both with Legacy turned on and JFTP turned off.

What else am I missing?

Thanks again!
Luke

User avatar
krackerjax
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:14 am
Location: Louisiana, USA
Contact:

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by krackerjax » Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:10 pm

The correct path would be http://www.yoursite.com/tmp, not just http://www.yoursite.com.

As for the additional errors, those seem to be quite rampant on the 1.5 boards as well.  First, I would try uploading the latest nightly SVN of Joomla! 1.5.  You can get the latest nightly build here (I would bookmark this URL).  Just unzip the file and upload everything except the installation folder and the configuration.php-dist file.

If that doesn't work then you might to try some of the suggestions in this post:

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... msg1097100
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein

lukeparker
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Overland Park, KS

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by lukeparker » Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:53 pm

Thanks for your help... The nightly build didn't do it either, But that thread you offered has lots to try.

Cheers,
Luke

mdaniel
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 5:25 pm

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by mdaniel » Sun Dec 23, 2007 5:45 pm

lukeparker wrote: Not working here....

Let me get this perfectly clear: Are you saying to:

Go under global config, under the server tab, and Change my TMP path:

/var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/tmp/

To my absolute path:

/var/www/vhosts/mydomain.com/httpdocs/

And then select "No" beside "Enable FTP?"

Because here's what happens when I did that:

First of all, I got the error: "JFTP::write: Bad response" as soon as I tried to save it there. (And apparently always get that error when saving after turning FTP off, but never back on.)

So not to be deterred, I edited configuration.php directly to change those two values and re-upload the file manually.

I then came back inside, made sure the changes took effect, and now when I go to install any component I get the error:

"Warning! - Failed to move file" -Which I think is an improvement, (no JFTP error) but still doesn't let me do anything.

And before you ask, yes, I am using J! 1.5 R4 & have Legacy enabled.

Any Ideas, anyone?

Hi everyone,

I have the SAME problem, with the SAME symptoms.
all the problems that you mentioned now happend to me.
if you solved the problem, or someone who knows how to solve it, please help !!!!!!!!! hurry.

I'm interested because i think that all the media manager uploading problems happens because this.
if not, I'll be happy to know.

sorry for the bad English, I'm not from Europa, so forgive me :)

hurry up, I need answers plezzzzzzzzzzzz

brewer1st
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:34 am

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by brewer1st » Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:40 am

I have been wrestling with this error for a few days.  I was about to turn it over to a code guru of mine when I tried one last configuration.  I have a Godaddy virtual server not a shared hosting account.

This is a snippet of my configuration.php

......
var $tmp_path = '/var/www/vhosts/yoursite.com/httpdocs/tmp';  // root for the godaddy virtual servers
var $offset = '-5';
var $caching = '0';
var $cachetime = '15';
var $cache_handler = 'file';
var $memcache_settings = array();
var $ftp_enable = '0';                //  This seems counter-intuitive but zero worked
var $ftp_host = 'localhost';
var $ftp_port = '21';
var $ftp_user = 'myuser';
var $ftp_pass = 'mypassword';
var $ftp_root = 'http://yoursite/tmp';    // my site dns is not resolving so I used the IP of the site
......

I have not tested all uploads as of yet, but this worked to get a template loaded after many attempts...time for a beer, cheers

rdbranson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:11 pm

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by rdbranson » Sun Feb 03, 2008 12:55 am

One thing I found it is that if you get the "Warning! - Failed to move file" it relates to having the FTP root point to the wrong directory.

Also, I believe that setting var $ftp_enable = '0'; probably is the same as disabling it in the global configuration menu.

My gues is that the is some sort of incompatibility relating to ownership and permissions which causes the JFTP errors.  The server I have is FreeBSD which generally demands greater security, causing hassles with programs where the public gets to post and write, etc.

Hopefully somebody who knows more about this can help.  This is eating up many people's time.

User avatar
jahsymon
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:23 pm
Location: Africa
Contact:

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by jahsymon » Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:23 pm

brewer1st wrote: I have been wrestling with this error for a few days.  I was about to turn it over to a code guru of mine when I tried one last configuration.  I have a Godaddy virtual server not a shared hosting account.
Hi  does it matter whether one is on shared or not. Forgive my ignorance but I thought Vhost suggests that it is a shared as opposed to dedicated server.

Anyway my point is my path looks like yours so I was wondering whether i try. I need to try one more thing before I commit suicide.Never had so much trouble with an installation before.
There is no patch for stupidity

Code: Select all

Set x = stupid, Y=< ? 

User avatar
jahsymon
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 4:23 pm
Location: Africa
Contact:

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by jahsymon » Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:25 pm

To thee all those whose suffer and labour
I Discovered the problem (for me)  is with the configuration.php which is in the root directory.
Specifically the path to temp

I post it here so that those of you can analyse it and hopefully ticker with yours till it works
mv configuration.php-dist configuration.php
* Windows -> rename configuration.php-dist configuration.php
*
* Now edit this file and configure the parameters for your site and
* database.
*/
class JConfig {
/**
* -------------------------------------------------------------------------
* Site configuration section
* -------------------------------------------------------------------------
*/
/* Site Settings */
var $offline = '0';
var $offline_message = 'This site is down for maintenance.
Please check back again soon.';
var $sitename = 'Joomla!'; // Name of Joomla site
var $editor = 'tinymce';
var $list_limit = '20';
var $legacy = '0';

/**
* -------------------------------------------------------------------------
* Database configuration section
* -------------------------------------------------------------------------
*/
/* Database Settings */
var $dbtype = 'mysql'; // Normally mysql
var $host = 'localhost'; // This is normally set to localhost
var $user = 'yours'; // MySQL username
var $password = 'yours'; // MySQL password
var $db = 'yours'; // MySQL database name
var $dbprefix = 'jos_'; // Do not change unless you need to!

/* Server Settings */
var $secret = 'FBujggIk5cdzEU9H'; //Change this to something more secure
var $gzip = '0';
var $error_reporting = '-1';
var $helpurl = 'http://help.joomla.org';
var $xmlrpc_server = '1';
var $ftp_host = 'localhost';
var $ftp_port = '21';
var $ftp_user = 'yours';
var $ftp_pass = 'yours';
var $ftp_root = 'http://yoursite.net/tmp';
var $ftp_enable = '0';
var $tmp_path = '/var/www/vhosts/yoursite.net/httpdocs/tmp';
var $log_path = '/var/logs';
var $offset = '0';

/* Session settings */
var $lifetime = '15'; // Session time
var $session_handler = 'database';

/* Mail Settings */
var $mailer = 'mail';
var $mailfrom = '';
var $fromname = '';
var $sendmail = '/usr/sbin/sendmail';
var $smtpauth = '0';
var $smtpuser = '';
var $smtppass = '';
var $smtphost = 'localhost';

/* Cache Settings */
var $caching = '0';
var $cachetime = '15';
var $cache_handler = 'file';

/* Debug Settings */
var $debug      = '0';
var $debug_db = '0';
var $debug_lang = '0';

/* Meta Settings */
var $MetaDesc = 'Joomla! - the dynamic portal engine and content management system';
var $MetaKeys = 'joomla, Joomla';
var $MetaTitle = '1';
var $MetaAuthor = '1';

/* SEO Settings */
var $sef = '0';
var $sef_rewrite = '0';
var $sef_suffix = '';

/* Feed Settings */
var $feed_limit  = 10;
}
?>
...
of course you change those in red. :D
am using php 5
Apache
etc
post any sucess on this post we are waiting :pop
There is no patch for stupidity

Code: Select all

Set x = stupid, Y=< ? 

User avatar
trek66
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 1:51 pm
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Contact:

Re: For all those with JFTP errors

Post by trek66 » Tue Nov 10, 2009 7:10 am

I know this is a very old thread but I recently ran into this problem. I have my own VPS and out of the blue this error started to occur.

It turns out that there was a cPanel update that made the default FTP on my server as "Pro-FTP" and all the above mentioned Joomla errors started to occur.

My hosting provider switched my server back over to "Pure-FTP" which it had been previously and all was well again. In their words, "Pure-FTP uses less memory and is generally more stable".

Apparently the only downside of Pure vs. Pro is that Pure-FTP does not log bandwidth but for me that's not a major issue as its a VPS

-- Dan
High Rock Media Web Development
http://www.highrockmedia.com

 

Locked

Return to “Administration 1.5”