Installing Joomla! on local server

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.
User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:36 am

Hi.

I want to use Joomla! 1.0.4 on a local server at work for our Intranet.
Our server has dual Intel Xeon Prcessors (2.4GHz) with 2GB of RAM and a RAID Hard Disk.
It is running on Microsoft Windows 2000 SBS (with ISS)
I also have the following programs insatlled and being used on the server:
- Microsoft Index Server
- Microsoft Office 2003 Professional
- CA AntiVirus
- CA BackUp
- GFI FaxMaker

I am aware that you need PHP and MySQL to run Joomla!
So I am wondering
what else I need?
how do I get them?
how do I install them?

I recall reading somwhere that there is a bundled system which install everything you need.
If I wasnt dreaming this, can someone please provide me with the appropriate information so I can install Joomla! and other related programs on my server at work so I can get our Intranet up and running.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Anonymous on Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JonD
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by JonD » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:13 am

I wonder if this is what you remembered for the "all in one" install.
I haven't tried it personally.

http://jsas.joomlasolutions.com/


JonD

User avatar
RobS
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1367
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:17 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by RobS » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:34 am

Go to www.php.net and download and install the windows binary package.
For mysql, go to http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/mysql/5.0.html and download and install windows binary again. 

Installation for both should be pretty straight forward, and if you get lost, both sites have very thourough documentation on how to install their products.

Good Luck!
Rob
Rob Schley - Open Source Matters
Webimagery - http://www.webimagery.net/ - Professional Consulting Services
JXtended - http://www.jxtended.com/ - Free and Commercial Joomla! Extensions

User avatar
Chris
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:58 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by Chris » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:45 am

JonD wrote: I wonder if this is what you remembered for the "all in one" install.
I haven't tried it personally.

http://jsas.joomlasolutions.com/


JonD
For easing installing, this one is very good in my opinion.
I use it for development.
There is no failure until you give up.

Chris

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 4:32 am

I think it would depend on your needs.....All suggestions are valid suggestions and solutions are corrct in my opinion. Just to share our experience with MSAS, the Mambo-version of JSAS. Good system, provides you with PHP, phpMyAdmin, Apache, MySQL and the latest version they claim (but not always realise) of Joomla. JSAS automatically checks if a new version is available and in the mean time send loads of Joomlasolution-ads to your system (but it is free so no comoplain allowed :P) and I am not aware about any privacy issues (collecting your system info etc) related to JSAS. JSAS uses though Uniform Server (old name "miniserver") as their core system. We use Uniform Server as Test-server for all our applications we develop in PHP/MySQL/Apache and also use it as our production server quite sufficiently in smaller installations. The Uniform Server is a WAMP package that allows you to run a server on any MS Windows OS based computer. It is small and mobile to download or move around and can also be used or setup as a production/live server. It also in contrary to JSAS also offers loads of plugins such as FTP-server (SlimFTPd is a small and easy to use FTP server that can be used with The Uniform Server to access your server using a FTP client) and Tomcat 5 (plugin that allows you to run a Java Servlet/Container with your installation of Apache) It does of course not automatically updates your Joomla but that should not be an issue if you follow Joomla or subscribe to messages through the forum interface. Anyhow up to your needs. If you feel comfortable to install seperate systems you can download Windows versions of MySQL/PHP/phpMyAdmin/and Apache HTTPd all individual and install and configure them seperately. However for own convenience use either of the two mentioned solutions JSAS or Uniform Server. JSAS link already provided in this thread...here is Uniform Server (the core of JSAS) http://www.uniformserver.com (we run this now for two years and it works as a charm)

Luck
Leo
Last edited by leolam on Fri Dec 09, 2005 4:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:36 am

Thanks for all the info guys.
So which is prefered JSAS or Uniform Server?
I take it from what Leo said is that Uniform Server doesnt have any adds or privacy issues and doesnt update Joomla! by itself.
Which doesnt matter as I want to do that myself manually.
Do these systems update the update the other programs like PHP, MySQL, Apache, etc automatically?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:47 am

persianari wrote: I take it from what Leo said is that Uniform Server doesnt have any adds or privacy issues and doesnt update Joomla! by itself.
Correct!
Do these systems update the update the other programs like PHP, MySQL, Apache, etc automatically?
Depends on what you see as automatically: If you subscribe to the newsinformation you get info on updates etc per mail (which works fine for me) I just download new version of it and same issue (1 click) yes running....... Workd in principle the same as an update from Joomla version 1.0.3 to v1.0.4 simple overwrite in most cases unless advised different.

Either or? Up to you....  8) Ask us????  we do Uniform Server and are happy..no issues involved and no fears for any possible intrusion (without saying JSAS does..read my lips! I simply does not want any risks at all and any scripts are risks.simple as that but that is another thread  ;D

Luck
Leo
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:54 am

hey leo.
thanks for your help.
i will install Uniform Server as you recommended.
are there any things to be aware of or that you recommend before installing it?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:17 am

persianari wrote: are there any things to be aware of or that you recommend before installing it?
nope ...just hit and I start running if it goes wrong  ;)

Just Kidding...No issue at all.....Just install and follow the instructions... You do not have to change anything...just install in the drive you wanna install (example "C") ......Be aware that the system creates a virtual disk named "w" as soon as you start the server....do not delete that......that comes and goes as soon as you start and shut-down your server. Starting the server is easy. "My computer"/Drive C (in this example)/UniServer3_2a-folder/Start MS-DOS BAtch file................Allow all access if your Firewall ask permissions and the server runs and should redirect to your main admin screen (colored purple) where you have to start you MySQL....If that is done you are up and running. as easy as that. Closing is easy...shut off the browser or the program....

Hit and start running...... 8)
Leo
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:40 am

Thanks Leo.
I will make post after I have installed it and got it working.
Fingers Cross.  :-\

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:52 am

persianari wrote: Thanks Leo.
I will make post after I have installed it and got it working.
Fingers Cross.  :-\
WAAAAAAAA I start running  ;D :laugh: no deal...if you run into trouble (which i think you cannot normally) post again....I will review the post again in 3 month's from now when dust has settled  ;)

Leo
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:58 am

leolam wrote:
persianari wrote: Thanks Leo.
I will make post after I have installed it and got it working.
Fingers Cross.  :-\
WAAAAAAAA I start running  ;D :laugh: no deal...if you run into trouble (which i think you cannot normally) post again....I will review the post again in 3 month's from now when dust has settled  ;)

Leo
:P
dont do that... i might need some help...
just another question before i take the plung, will Uniform Server stuff up IIS once installed?

User avatar
Chris
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:58 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by Chris » Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:13 am

Very good, that program from uniformserver.com

It gives one the change to experiment with php 5.0 etc.
There is no failure until you give up.

Chris

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:16 am

dont do that... i might need some help...
just another question before i take the plung, will Uniform Server stuff up IIS once installed?
Good question...According to the website of Uniform YES! No experience since we stay away as far as possible from anything M'soft related on server level. however a Google showe dthat other user are experiencing no problems .....however issues have been experienced...sorry did not see the IIS part before:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg107711
http://forum.uniformserver.com/index.php?showtopic=226
http://forum.uniformserver.com/lofivers ... /t122.html

I suggest it des not bite to install it and see what happens. The worst which can happen that it does not run...that's all... And uhhhhhhh throw that ISS-server in the Persian Gulf!

Leo
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
JonD
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by JonD » Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:41 pm

Using a memory stick with Uniform Server caught my eye!

Have you tried this?

JonD

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:25 pm

JonD wrote: Using a memory stick with Uniform Server caught my eye!

Have you tried this?

JonD
sorry, got 28 topics to reply to...meaning what?? (i mean thr trial?)

Leo
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
JonD
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by JonD » Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:32 pm

Sorry... I did not state a clear question.  I wondered if you had tried using it on a portable memory stick.

I had heard that there was an issue with memory sticks in that they had a limited number of write cycles and thought this could be an issue. For demo purposes, I doubt whether it's a problem.

JonD

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:44 pm

JonD wrote: Sorry... I did not state a clear question.  I wondered if you had tried using it on a portable memory stick.

I had heard that there was an issue with memory sticks in that they had a limited number of write cycles and thought this could be an issue. For demo purposes, I doubt whether it's a problem.

JonD
Not tried but will do next monday..people have been instructed accordingly. Interesting question and rather actual...let you know by Monday...tnx Jon
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:09 pm

hey leo.
i have installed Unifrom Server.
all seems to be going good.
how do i turn registers globals off in php settings?
Last edited by Anonymous on Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:14 pm

persianari wrote: hey leo.
i have installed Unifrom Server.
all seems to be going good.
how do i turn registers globals off in php settings?
Basket full of holy water from the Persian Gulf over your computer will do the trick! Oooooooops sorry mod :)

why would you like to do that oh you die hard working animal?  ;)

Leo
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:18 pm

persianari wrote: hey leo.
i have installed Unifrom Server.
all seems to be going good.
how do i turn registers globals off in php settings?
goto http://localhost/a/  and than goto "Uniform Server Configuration" and than...........wow their is this little field that says on or off......guess what you have to set here???  :'(  (  ;))
Leo
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:27 pm

also another question.
i have created a database called joomla thought MySQL Admin thing.
how do i create the username and password?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:30 pm

persianari wrote: also another question.
i have created a database called joomla thought MySQL Admin thing.
how do i create the username and password?
I start charging you............ ;) Don't you ever sleep??????

Goto phpMyadmin (same service screen as above) > in the purple screen choose phpMyadmin (4th link left pane) > Priveliges > Add new user > now fillout the field (do not change abything in "text fields etc") and do not generate a password...just fillout the password you want...generating the pasword generates a 16 digit or so alphanum pasword you never will remember (this is localhost for testing remember so who cares) next "check all" and "Go"

done
Luck and sleep well (its 10.36 pm here in Indonsia (where I work and live as a Dutchman)  so i will try to find that beautiful braun body of my wife since my kids will wake me up tomorrow early...... :P )

Leo
Last edited by leolam on Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:39 pm

leolam wrote:
persianari wrote: hey leo.
i have installed Unifrom Server.
all seems to be going good.
how do i turn registers globals off in php settings?
goto http://localhost/a/   and than goto "Uniform Server Configuration" and than...........wow their is this little field that says on or off......guess what you have to set here???  :'(  (  ;))
Leo
thanks leo.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:44 pm

thanks leo.
no issue...i will have a beer while waiting for your next posts otherwise i cannot sleep knowing that my persiani friend might have problems  :laugh:
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:52 pm

thank you for all your help leo.
you've been great.
i couldn't have done it without you mate.
you've been very kind and patient.
god bless you.  :D

now go on and finish your beer and go to your wife.
thanks again champ.

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Fri Dec 09, 2005 4:26 pm

everything went smoothly.
how good is this Uniform Server system!!!
i love it  ;D
i also got Joomla! to work on the server too.
everything is going great thanks to leo  :-*

one problem i ran into though was the IIS Server.  :(
in order for Uniform Server to work, you need to stop the IIS Server.
i know i said it through it away in the gulf  :P
but we need it at work for its Index Server Manager(.ASP file) and Exchange Web Mail Access.  ;)

does anyone know of any way to get these services working with Uniform Server system?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20243
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by leolam » Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:30 pm

Beer not finished due to another support request.......

I was afraid for that as mentioned in the thread above here (the one withwith the links........)If you read that thread you might want to implement some options Ken (Kenmcd) has posted in the Uniform forum. He quoted this article that describes the disabling of the socket pooling in IIS which solves issues and that should be helpful:
From O'Reilly's Windows Server Hacks, March 2004.
-----------------------------------------------------

Hack 60 - Run Other Web Servers


Here's how to run another web server, in addition to IIS, on the same machine without conflict over who gets port 80.

Ever have problems when you try to run more than web server on the same machine? Or have you run some other web-enabled software together with IIS, only to find that one or both of them break? The problem here is socket pooling, a feature of IIS 5 and later that causes IIS to bind to all IP addresses configured on the server, even on a multihomed machine with more than one network card. The funny thing is that socket pooling even binds IIS to IP addresses that aren't yet assigned to any web site on the machine even if there's no Default Web Site configured to respond to All Unassigned IP addresses by default. This behavior not only prevents other HTTP software from coexisting with IIS, but it can also cause IIS to return errors to clients. A workaround that sometimes works is to set the HTTP port number for the other software to something nonstandard, such as 8099, but that won't work in most cases unless clients using that software also use that port to connect. By default, however, IIS won't let any other application listen on port 80 (the standard HTTP port), even if it's listening on an IP address that is not used by IIS.

Disabling Socket Pooling in IIS 5

Socket pooling is enabled on IIS 5, by default, but it can be disabled to allow other HTTP-enabled third-party software to run side-by-side with IIS, each responding to requests sent to different IP addresses. There are two ways to do disable socket pooling in IIS 5. First, you can edit the metabase by using the MetaEdit utility [Hack #54]. By default, the setting for socket pooling is defined in the metabase schema, but you can use MetaEdit to create a new metabase key called DisableSocketPooling in the location /LM/W3SVC and assign it the value of true (1). In other words, the default value for DisableSocketPooling in the schema is false (0), which means it is false to say socket pooling is enabled. Don't you love those double negatives?

The other way to disable socket pooling is to use the adsutil.vbs script included in C:\Inetpub\adminscripts [Hack #59]. Type the following command:

cscript C:\Inetpub\adminscripts\adsutil.vbs set w3svc/disablesocketpooling true

You should see the response DisableSocketPooling: (BOOLEAN) True.

Now, stop IIS services by typing net stop iisadmin /y (which also stops the dependent WWW Publishing Services). Then, restart them by typing net start w3svc (which also starts the parent IIS Admin Service). Socket pooling is now disabled. If you like, you can use MetaEdit to verify that the key has been added.

Disabling Socket Pooling in IIS 6

The DisableSocketPooling metabase key is also valid in IIS 6 but, interestingly enough, changing it from 0 to 1 doesn't do anything. That's because socket-pooling functionality has been moved from the Winsock HTTP listener used in IIS 5 to the new kernel mode HTTP driver (http.sys). As a result, you have to use a nifty little utility called Httpcfg.exe to disable it.

This utility is found in the /Support/Tools folder on your Windows Server 2003 product CD, so begin by inserting this CD and double-clicking on /Support/Tools/SUPTOOLS.MSI to install these tools on your server. Next, open a command prompt and type httpcfg set iplisten -i w.x.y.z:n to add IP address w.x.y.z and port number n to the IP inclusion list for http.sys. This inclusion list specifies which IP addresses http.sys listens on and is initially empty by default, which means that IIS listens to all IP addresses (not none, as you might suspect). However, once you add an IP address and port number (i.e., a socket) to the inclusion list, http.sys will now listen only on the specified socket and ignore all others, leaving them available for other applications to listen on. You can add as many sockets to the inclusion list as you choose, and you can display a list of listening sockets at any time by typing httpcfg query iplisten at a command prompt.

Don't forget to restart IIS after modifying the list, because http.sys reads this list only on startup. You don't have to restart all IIS services, only the HTTP Service (a subcomponent of the WWW Publishing Services and a service not displayed in the Services console). To restart the HTTP Service, type net stop http /y to stop it and net start w3svc to start it. Note that if you have problems afterwards starting any web sites on your IIS machine, you probably forgot to add their IP addresses to the inclusion list.

Other Reasons to Disable Socket Pooling

If running third-party HTTP software together with IIS isn't your cup of tea, there are other reasons why you might want to disable socket pooling. The bandwidth-throttling feature of IIS that is configured through Internet Services Manager throttles bandwidth to all web sites running on IIS equally. The same is true of the performance-tuning settings configured through the GUI. If you prefer to configure these settings on a per-site basis, you have to disable socket pooling before it will work. This is not obvious from the GUI, which presents separate throttling and performance options for each site. The fact that these features don't work as advertised has been an open secret among the IIS community for a long time. They work only when socket pooling is disabled, and it's enabled by default.
Hope this helps you on..let know if yes or no......Thanks Ken!  8)
Leo
Last edited by leolam on Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
JonD
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by JonD » Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:19 pm

Just for anybody else browsing this thread...
another WAMP package can be found at
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/index.html

That's the one I've been using and it's been good for me.

JonD

User avatar
acepp
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Installing Joomla! on local server

Post by acepp » Sat Dec 10, 2005 6:39 am

hey... i got both IIS and Apache running.
it took an all nighter but its all working now.
i had to change the port that Apache host was using so IIS could just use port 80.

when in the office, eveything works fine.
when i want to access joomla it goes to localserver:81 and all other stuff uses the normal localserver (localserver:80)

but when i come to access the intranet from outside the office i only get the IIS sever.
how am i supposed to access the apache server/joomla?
i tried mail.domainname.com (which is the address to our server) and get IIS,
i tried mail.domainname.com:81 to try to access joomla but it doesnt work.

can someone help me?


Locked

Return to “General Questions - 1.0.x”