Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

This forum is for reporting bugs in Joomla!. Please don't report problems with extensions in here.
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
Pomond
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by Pomond » Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:16 am

Hello:

I am trying out the latest build of RC4 (from today's -- January 12th's -- SVN site), and I have encountered a funky problem: I'm only able to upload images to the Media Manager when "Debug System" (in Global Configuration / System / Debug Settings) is set to Yes.

When I first encountered this problem, I tried the image upload functionality available when editing an article and clicking the "Image" button below the content edit area.  I was able to successfully upload an image to the correct folder using this method.  ;D  However, when I went back to the Media Manager and attempted to upload an image, the upload bar processed and returned an "Upload failed (403)" error.

I first tried changing the permissions on the images/ directory to 777, but I still encountered the same problem.  Then, I turned on the Debug Settings and attempted the same upload via the Media Manager: This time it worked fine!

Also, note that I do seem to have the FTP layer working correctly (and have been able to successfully install some extensions).

Can anyone point me in the direction of a fix for this problem?  Or perhaps this is helpful for a bug report?  I'm more than happy to provide more specific information ...


Here's some information about my Joomla 1.5 installation:

System Info:
Database Version: 4.1.22-standard
Database Collation: utf8_general_ci
PHP Version: 5.2.5
Web Server: Apache/1.3.39 (Unix) mod_deflate/1.0.21 PHP/5.2.5 mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2634a mod_ssl/2.8.30 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
Web Server to PHP interface: apache
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.0 Production/Stable [ Karibu ] 19-December-2007 19:00 GMT

PHP Settings:
Safe Mode:  Off
Open basedir: None
Display Errors: On
Short Open Tags: On
File Uploads: On
Magic Quotes: On
Register Globals: Off
Output Buffering: Off
Session Save Path: /tmp
Session Auto Start: 0
XML Enabled: Yes
Zlib Enabled: Yes
Disabled Functions: None
Mbstring Enabled: Yes
Iconv Available: Yes
WYSIWYG Editor: Editor - No Editor
"Be seeing you,"

-- Justin Kerr
Prototaph Interactive
http://prototaph.com

User avatar
Pomond
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by Pomond » Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:41 am

Some more information:

OK, I read some more forum posts, and I think the issue is that the "Flash uploader" is not working, whereas the HTML uploader does work.  (I didn't notice previously that by changing Debug System to Yes, the HTML uploader is used instead of the Flash uploader in the Media Manager.)

That being said, I also tested this in IE7 and Firefox 2, and the same problem seems to be present in the Flash uploader.

Is there some way to turn this off and just use the HTML uploader by default in the Media Manager?
"Be seeing you,"

-- Justin Kerr
Prototaph Interactive
http://prototaph.com

User avatar
mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7985
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by mcsmom » Sun Jan 13, 2008 7:37 pm

I had this problem and it was due to using too much memory as I am on 4.4.7. If you are on php 4.4.7 try increasing your memory usuing a php.ini file.

In addition, many issues in the media manager have been fixed in the last 3 days. You should make sure you are up to date in terms of what build you are using.
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.

Stasys
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1318
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:06 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by Stasys » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:48 pm

is it fixed in svn?

For Users Who Use Current PHP 5 Stable: 5.2.5 ?

if so, what permissions do you use?
Lithuanian Joomla! Community http://www.lithuanianjoomla.com
lietuviškas Joomla! puslapis, naujienos, straipsniai, forumas, vertimai
always be open source, and be free as freedom

User avatar
mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7985
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by mcsmom » Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:11 am

Your upload only works with debug on?

Can you paste a copy of your debug results below please?
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.

StarShaper
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:55 pm

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by StarShaper » Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:47 pm

mcsmom wrote: Your upload only works with debug on?

Can you paste a copy of your debug results below please?
Hi mcsmom,

I can confirm this bug! Upload is not possible when the flash uploader is online. So it only works with Debug-Mode on.

I have tested this on the host of another user. I dont have this problem.

Here are all informations about this host:

Domain (structure): http://sub.domain.com/index.php

BTW: All the PHP Informations are available too, if neceassary.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7985
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by mcsmom » Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:36 pm

Those are not your debug results. What I mean is what is at the bottom of the page when the page loads and you have debug on.

Most likely you do not have enough memory allocated.

You can fix this using a php.ini file and making sure that it is applied through all directories.
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.

StarShaper
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:55 pm

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by StarShaper » Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:53 pm

mcsmom wrote: Those are not your debug results.
I didn't say that this are the debug results.  ;)

mcsmom wrote:What I mean is what is at the bottom of the page when the page loads and you have debug on.
As I already said, its not me having this problem. I don't have access to the page of the user who has this problem.
mcsmom wrote:Most likely you do not have enough memory allocated.
I will advise the user to do so.

User avatar
Pomond
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by Pomond » Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:23 pm

Hello:

I wanted to follow up to let you know that this issue appears to have been resolved on my installation after upgrading to Joomla! 1.5 stable. 

Thank you for your responses.  ROCK ON JOOMLA
"Be seeing you,"

-- Justin Kerr
Prototaph Interactive
http://prototaph.com

StarShaper
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:55 pm

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by StarShaper » Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:00 pm

Here are the debug results.

Unfortunately the memory limit is not the reason why he cant upload media. Memory limit is set to 500 MB (Dedicated Server).

memory_limit = 500M
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by StarShaper on Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

StarShaper
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:55 pm

Re: Media Manager images only upload when "Debug System" is set to Yes

Post by StarShaper » Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:59 am

More informations about this upload problems.

Windows XP:

Internet Explorer
Version: 7.0.5730.11
  • Upload doesn't work (with and without FTP-Mode), a login screen appears in the media frame where the pictures nomally are.
Firefox
Version 2.0.0.11
  • Upload works with FTP=On, but I have to reload after each upload
  • Upload doesn't work with FTP=Off
  • Upload works with Debug-Mode=On, if Flash is Off
Linux

Firefox
2.0.0.10
  • Upload doesn't work
Konqueror
  • Upload works, because flash does not start
Opera
  • Upload crashes


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.5 Bug Reporting”