Tip: Setting up Eclipse and a repositry to use the Joomla! Forge

Forum rules
Please submit all new Tips and Tricks to: http://docs.joomla.org/Category:Tips_and_tricks
Locked
User avatar
MarkV
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Tip: Setting up Eclipse and a repositry to use the Joomla! Forge

Post by MarkV » Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:56 am

Q: I want to use Eclipse to develop using the Forge

A: Why do we want to use eclipse? Easy to use. Cross platform. Open Source, what more do we want. How do we do it? Well, follow these instructions ;-)

This document applies to Eclipse on a Mac, but should work for Windows and Linux too.

After downloading en installing Eclipse we have to install two extra plugins.
The first is the php plugin witch will be used to edit PHP in Eclipse.

Installing PHP Eclipse

1. We go to: Help, Softwareupdate, find and install.
2. Select: 'Search for new features to install'
3. Choose: New remote site
4. User these parameters:
Name: php elcipse
Url: http://phpeclipse.sourceforge.net/update/cvs
5. We check the checkbox and click Next.
6. A list of possibilities is presented. Select he latest PHP eclipse release and press finish.

***Note
PHP Elcipse will be installed. A reboot will be required.

Now we have to install a plugin called Subclipse. It will enable us to use the SVN used by the Joomla! Forge.

Installing Subclipse

1. Repeat the plugin install steps this time using the following parameters
Name: Subclipse
Url: http://subclipse.tigris.org/update

So all goes well. We have installed everything we need to start our project. Now lets make a SVN project in the developers zone.

Creating a SVN Repository

Follow these steps
1. Create an Repository under Source Code > Create Repository
2.  Enter Directory Name but NOTE: The directory will be created in the svn/repos folder, where all repository folders of each projects are. It could happen that your desired projectfolder is not available, bette use an prefix for your repositoryfolders. Once a folder and a Repository is created, you cannot change the foldername and you cannot delete the repository
3. Enter Repository Name
4.  Choose Server, you can choose between CVS and SVN. Use SVN.
5. Don't check Association Required on Commit. (thx to musicones for this part)

If all goes well we now created a SVN repository.

Now lets use Eclipse to connect to the repository

Connect to the repository using eclipse

1. Start eclipse
2. Go to  Window, Show View, SNV repositories (this could also be named CVS repositories)
3. On the right top of the screen you will see the text cvs repositories (or SNV repositories) followed by the >> sign (more). Select SNV repositories here.
4. On the left a SNV repository view will beopend. If not go to Window, Open perspective, Other and choose SVN repository exploring.
5.  In the SVN repository exploring you will see a DB like icon with a + and the text SNV on the right top.. Click it.
6.  Use these settings:
url: http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/your_re ... ctory_name
root url: http://scm.joomla.org/
User: developers username
Pass: Your password.

Congratulations your connected. You can start working now :-)

If anybody has any addons or comments. Please let us now. Special thanks to Jick for helping me get connected.
Last edited by mcsmom on Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Joomla insite

User avatar
bluesaze
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 750
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 6:18 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Setting up Eclipse and a repositry to use the Joomla! Forge

Post by bluesaze » Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:34 am

Another pointer I would like to add to help newbies install it Phpeclipse.
1. better download the All-in-one package from webtools http://download.eclipse.org/webtools/do ... 507290654/
it contains eclipse 3.1 sdk, emf, gef and jem. and the required Web Tools
    (other wise you will end up downloading a number of other pakages that are required for phpeclipse to run)
The problem though is I downloaded it 4 times from diffrent mirrors and while extracting some of the files were corrupt. (I still dont understand why) on the fifth download i got a perfect package.

Then follow the steps given by Mark
Last edited by bluesaze on Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
A. N. Jacob-New
The Tech & Design Blog http://www.Clazh.com

hens01
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 8:58 pm
Location: netherlands

Re: FAQ: Setting up Eclipse and a repositry to use the Joomla! Forge

Post by hens01 » Wed May 31, 2006 10:33 am

One small addition to the remark of Bluesage:

If you want to install his "total" package on a windows desktop you need to know that the installation of Eclipse is not your average Windows installer package. It is more easy than that because there is no installer  ;).
  • Just download the zip
  • Put it in c:\program files
  • Unzip to the folder Eclipse
  • Put a shortcut on your desktop to c:\program files\eclipse\eclipse
(I first downloaded the zip and unzipped it on a network drive in order to run the installer next, bummer because there was no installer en Eclipse didn't run properly from a networkdrive)

Heart
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 11:42 am
Location: near Munich

Re: FAQ: Setting up Eclipse and a repositry to use the Joomla! Forge

Post by Heart » Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:18 pm

Beside the all-in-one webtools package (bluesaze) you can also have a look at EasyEclipse for PHP which have all needed plugins onboard to develope a joomla component  8)
Regards,
Heart

divivo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:53 pm

Re: FAQ: Setting up Eclipse and a repositry to use the Joomla! Forge

Post by divivo » Tue Jun 27, 2006 10:59 pm

MarkV,

Great post! I am already setup with Eclipse and Joomla on MAC.  My question is related to the Refractor function of Eclipse.  On the windows install of Eclipse it comes automatically as a menu.  I can't find it on MAC.
There are some very useful functions with Refractor like search and replace in the entire workspace or project.  Since you use a Mac as well how do you do a find and replace on an entire project?
Thank you.
PS: I installed the EasyEclipse package.

User avatar
mjaz
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 821
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Setting up Eclipse and a repositry to use the Joomla! Forge

Post by mjaz » Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:59 am

A small tutorial I wrote on getting DOCman from SVN (works for other projects as well):
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/docman ... d+from+SVN
Better SEO & multi-lingual Joomla sites with Nooku Content
http://www.nooku.org
Nooku Framework for advanced Joomla extension development
http://www.nooku.org/framework

User avatar
Gare
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Setting up Eclipse and a repositry to use the Joomla! Forge

Post by Gare » Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:18 pm

How-to: Installing Eclipse, PHPEclipse, and Subclipse on Linux - Ubuntu 7.04 - the Feisty Fawn

1. Install Eclipse by selecting Applications > Add/Remove and choosing Eclipse.

2. Then followed MarkV's instructions to install PHPEclipse and Subclipse

3. to get PHPEclipse working on Ubuntu Feisty, used the  Ubuntu Feisty 7.04 Fix from PHPEclipse wiki:
When you try to edit a .php file using the PHPeclipse editor, you will get an error message that tells you to look in the log. This problem arises due to problem with the default JVM used in Feisty. To fix the problem:

  1. Close eclipse and at the bash prompt:
  2. sudo apt-get install sun-java6-jre
  3. sudo nano -w /etc/eclipse/java_home
  4. Insert /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun on the line above /usr/lib/jvm/java-gcj
  5. Close and save the file
Works great!
****************************************
Get Ubuntu NOW! http://www.ubuntu.com/

For Fun:  Watch Code Monkey! http://www.accessdataservices.com/blog/code-monkey


Locked

Return to “Tips & Tricks - Moving”